KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Cars.com

Is this your company?

Cars.com

Add a Review

Cars.com Opérateur Reviews

Updated Mar 4, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 532 reviews

3.9
98%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Cars.com CEO & President Alex Vetter
Alex Vetter
3 Ratings

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Cars.com and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Can't say enough good things

    Jan 14, 2021 - Senior Operations Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people Opportunity to learn alot of tools Fantastic CEO Really cares about their employees

    Cons

    Work can be really siloed

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Non Competitive Pay

    Mar 4, 2021 - Operations 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly office atmosphere (when we were in the office).

    Cons

    The pay is lower than other companies offering the same job

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Used to be great

    Jan 12, 2018 - Ad Operations in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Mostly nice people, products are decent, office is in a good location for commuters, solid place to start a career out of school

    Cons

    Low pay, new office is awful/ugly and always felt empty, seemed upper management had no idea what they are doing, ignores trends of people leaving, high turnover, feels like they are trying too hard to be cool, lots of unannounced layoffs, kept changing the company direction what seemed like every 6 months, got cheap for company parties/events

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful

    Cars.com Response

    Cars Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are sorry that your experience at Cars.com did not match our intention of being the best place you have ever worked. You probably already know that the tech space is a very competitive field right now and good talent is in high demand. We’re working to make sure our compensation packages are competitive and are in-line with the Chicago market where our employees live and work. We have experienced a lot of change recently and that brings challenges with setting our priorities. By nature of our industry, we like new ideas, which can also make it difficult to set priorities. As an independent public company, we know this is a muscle we need to strengthen and will do a better job at relying on our strategic plan to guide our decision-making. Thank you again for your feedback as it helps us make Cars.com a better place to work.

  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to start a new career

    Sep 22, 2017 - Somewhere In Operations in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work-life balance is pretty solid. Rarely expected to work late, and when you are, you will typically know ahead of time. Get to work from home often. The flow of work can be pretty inconsistent, so you can get some solid downtime during the day to enjoy the gameroom or work on your own projects. Kegerator for your convenience Great views from the new office. Pretty easy to move laterally in the company. Really great place to learn a new skill and start a new career (assuming you are doing a good job in your current role).

    Cons

    Pay is on the low side. They try to make you look past this with company parties and other perks. The mass firings heading into the IPO are definitely not a pro.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    Cars.com Response

    Director of Social

    Thank you for your feedback. Our new office was designed to encourage collaboration, agile innovation and transparency. It can accommodate a variety of work styles with everything from comfy huddle spaces to quiet corners, standing desks and everything in between. Additionally, you probably already know that the tech space is a very competitive field right now and good talent is in high demand. We’re working to make sure our compensation packages are competitive and are in-line with the local market where our employees live and work, particularly for those roles that are most critical to the business.

  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Do NOT work here.

    Jan 17, 2017 - Operations in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company matches charitable donations up to $50 and gives a yearly volunteer day.

    Cons

    Since going public, the company has lost its youthful culture. Budget cuts, layoffs, and hiring freezes have left most staff miserable. Very low pay compared to industry averages. No diversity. Management is all straight, white people.

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great people, VERY low pay

    Mar 5, 2015 - Operations in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great culture, decent benefits.

    Cons

    Suuuper low pay, almost insulting. #1 reason why I left.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Sincerely a great company to work for

    Aug 1, 2014 - Operations in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They know how to show their appreciation for their employees, and do their best to try to give access to great opportunities. Great place for career development. Really fun, and young culture.

    Cons

    Department standards aren't always held equally amongst the various teams; The pay could be a little more competitive.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Ad Production Coordinator

    Sep 17, 2013 - Operations in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cars.com was a great company to work for. They really treat their employees well, and have special events to show their appreciation for their hard work. The one thing that I liked the best is that they focus on employee development and they do promote from within.

    Cons

    Aside from being a great place to work, the culture has changed a bit since when I first started. When I was first hired, I was told that the work environment in operations had the vibe of an internet company. That changed over time as management instituted new metrics and quotas that needed to be met, which changed the focus from employee happiness and customer satisfaction to being a numbers driven department.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great place to kick off your career and get a lot of exposure. Fun, young place.

    Feb 4, 2013 - Sales Operations in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Exposure. Open door policy is great.

    Cons

    Salary is not very competitive.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews

Popular Careers with Cars.com Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Cars.com? Share Your Experiences

or