KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Cars.com

Is this your company?

Cars.com

Add a Review

Cars.com Software Developer Reviews

Updated Sep 28, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 of over 532 reviews

4.5
93%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Cars.com CEO & President Alex Vetter
Alex Vetter
10 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Cars.com and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great Company

    Sep 28, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people are great and we endorse work from home.

    Cons

    Nothing to really state for cons because it's a great place to work.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Apr 7, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Kind folks, high energy environment in all areas of the company

    Cons

    Typically large corporation issues, siloing, bureaucracy. Not the worst in any category by a long shot but recognize what your choosing if you're coming from startup land

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Rating

    Jul 8, 2021 - Software Developer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good place to work ,helpful management and seniors good place to learn

    Cons

    No cons as such but work life balance is a issue

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Change is constant. Great culture.

    May 26, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work culture is great. Technology is keeping up with the industry.

    Cons

    Managment is not best in helping with career growth.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Learned a lot, had fun, nice while it lasted

    Aug 31, 2020 - Software Engineer III in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Good mix of a traditional company and a startup environment - Easygoing workplace, everybody's willing to have a good time - Management tries to show they care about employees' needs - Frequently introducing new technologies, bringing opportunities to learn

    Cons

    - Every few months it felt like some management shakeup rearranged everything - Hurry up and wait for details on the company's umpteenth new direction - Leadership sets a deadline, then eats up time waffling on key decisions - Which means it's up to devs to crunch to make up for lost time

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    awesome place

    Dec 28, 2020 - Senior IT Developer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    yes its a freakin great job!!!!

    Cons

    no cons what so ever !

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Pretty good company to work for

    Sep 28, 2020 - Applications Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good health and retirement benefits

    Cons

    Projects change too quickly sometimes

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Not a Good Place For Long Time Career

    Feb 13, 2020 - Developer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Other co-workers are great and fun to work with

    Cons

    Senior management has no clue only focused on outward facing. Devs are looked at as resources only. It took them 2-3 years to come up with Roles for developers. People got promoted randomly to higher levels. Then those went away and took 2 years to change. They are not interested in keeping top talent just what looks good on the books. New ideas get squashed only ads matter. Its a sinking ship get out while you can and work for a company that cares about its developers.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful

    Cars.com Response

    Cars Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we hear you. Our industry is changing at a fast rate, which requires us as a business to not just keep up, but to continue to be leaders through innovation. That's why we appreciate our employees and the flexibility they offer to help meet those needs. We know we have some of the smartest and most talented employees in our industry and need to be better at demonstrating that.

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Excellent company to work

    Sep 14, 2015 - Applications Developer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work life Balance is excellent. Encourages healthy lifestyle (Gym discounts in same building, free breakfast bars, outings, Free drinks etc..) Pay is TopClass, (cars.com pays top $ if they really like the candidate.) Awesome Bonus! Work done is directly reflected on Glass - you can see your work out in Production without enterprise deployment hassles. You get to work among TopClass developers and Architects. If you have Zeal you will get to work on all technology stack - web, integration, service, data, intellegence, Apps, mobile, portals, Content Mgmt systems, security.(i have touched every stack except Apps in last 4 years.). Every stream of development has Community Of Practice(CoP), and management pays close attention to CoP, to make enterprise changes. You get to choose books you love, and read, and rotate. attend conference of your choice. Director of Development/Architecture, Sr.Managers are very approachable(i often play with them), and any concern is closely monitored and they take action, i have seen this happened multiple times. Developers are valued a lot. Technical Managers we currently have are best in the industry providing excellent guidance.

    Cons

    Technical titles are managed poorly. Too often management changes, every six months you see a change. cars.com need to get into Research, right now the Research is limited, and if I wanted to publish a paper or work on a patent, i have no guidance.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Plagued by Bad Upper Management Decisions

    Dec 4, 2017 - Developer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are still a lot of smart, talented tech people who care about Cars.com. The work-life balance and benefits are great.

    Cons

    Upper management is stubbornly blind and is driving out promising tech leaders. I personally don't trust HR to pass on or act on any constructive feedback or raised issues - it's now a black hole.

    Continue reading
    28 people found this review helpful

    Cars.com Response

    Cars Representative

    Thanks for your feedback. We’re proud to have built an organization where our work life balance is above average, and people feel empowered and appreciated based on their ability to deliver outcomes. We recognize that having a strong, supportive workplace leads to happier, healthier and more productive employees. We are sorry to hear that your experience at Cars.com was not the experience we intended. Improving communication and transparency from HR is a priority we know we need to address. Sometimes, we’re so focused and driven to innovate, meet demands and deliver results, we miss opportunities to communicate effectively. We’re working very hard to change that. We experienced a lot of change in our Product and Tech organization in the recent past and that brings challenges with setting priorities. By the nature of our industry, we like new ideas … which can also make it difficult to set priorities. As an independent public company, we know this is a muscle we need to strengthen. We are focused on doing a better job at relying on our strategic plan to guide our decision-making. We also recognize the desire for career paths and structures; everyone wants to know what they need to do to move up and feel accomplished. We have room to improve on those structures and coaching our people on how to navigate them. We will continue to consider this feedback and push forward on these improvements to making Cars.com a great place to work.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 25 Reviews

Popular Careers with Cars.com Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Cars.com? Share Your Experiences

or