KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Cars.com

Is this your company?

Cars.com

Add a Review

Cars.com Employee Reviews about "dealers"

Updated Jan 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 of over 527 reviews

4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Cars.com CEO & President Alex Vetter
Alex Vetter
257 Ratings
Pros
  • "GReat leadership, great coworkers, great work life balance(in 102 reviews)

  • "Beautiful offices and some great people(in 40 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Working with car dealers can be rough(in 20 reviews)

  • "Low pay, they want highly skilled employees but pay like they are hiring recent college grads(in 18 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Cars.com and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "dealers"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great company

      Jan 7, 2021 - Business Development Representative in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Great atmosphere. Has a real family feel to it -Lots of room to grow

      Cons

      Working with car dealers can be rough. The stereotype of the "shady used cars salesman," can be pretty true at times. Overall though, I really enjoyed my time with this company.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Great, hard working people.

      Jan 10, 2020 - Vice President of Sales in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My bosses, VP and C-suite, were great. Very passionate about the business. I learned a ton.

      Cons

      Hit declining dealer count and revenue but I believe they are now on the upswing, which is well deserved.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company, fun culture. great leadership

      Sep 3, 2014 - Digital Media Denior Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is a company that believes in your professionak and personal development. There is a lot of opportunity for growth if you are willing to move to different areas of the country. Since it is in online company there is a lot of mobility and flexibility. there is good opportunity for income but it's important to realize there are a finite number of car dealers, so some of the potential involves enhancing a dealer's product portfolio. The best way to do that is to be a consultant to the dealer and not just a salesman. That way you will be able to identify areas of need and find solutions to fill those needs.

      Cons

      if you are not self motivated or willing to move to new areas, or to develop your communication and research snd analysis skills this may not be a good place for you. those who do best here are those who don't have to be told what to do once you learn how to do it, but just get out there and get it done, regardless of what needs done. You got to run it like its your own business, because there is a lot of Independence here and if you don't get the work done then you won't get the income that follows.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Base Salary plus commission

      Mar 18, 2019 - Senior Digital Media Consultant in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good People, amazing quality of life. Good Base and commission if you are hungry to sell.

      Cons

      Old product, dealing with dealer clients. Hard to measure! Constant changes in vision and company initiatives.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Cars.com Response

      Cars Representative

      Thank you for this valuable feedback. It’s great to hear that you’re enjoying your time here. We agree, our people and our benefits and compensation packages are outstanding. Technology is a driving force at Cars.com that will continue to fuel our growth. We are currently modernizing our platform and increasing investments in a more efficient cloud-based infrastructure focused on machine learning, product innovation and growth that will help prove our value to dealers. Thank you for your feedback and for bringing your talents to Cars.com!

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Cars.com is Everything.

      Sep 29, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture, people, product and people development. The culture is everything. It's a business, but it's fun! Alex Vetter will walk around and shoot the breeze with anyone and everyone, as well as all senior management. I know that does not happen at most if not all companies. I have met some of the greatest people during my time at Cars. Some I even call lifelong friends. Across departments, it is easy and impactful to learn from all angles of the business. I have had other sales jobs where I did not believe the service I was providing would help my clients, but with Cars.com, I have witnessed it help hundreds to even thousands of dealers succeed. Last, but not least, the development I've received and gained here at Cars.com is unparalleled. It's something I will be able to use for the rest of my career and even life. If you have a positive attitude, work hard, learn as much about the company/business as possible, and do what's best for the company, you will go far. I love working for Cars.com. I am one of the lucky ones who has been promoted 3 times within my 4 years of employment.

      Cons

      At this time, I do not have any concerns for cons.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Trending down

      Aug 8, 2017 - Product Org in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of passionate smart people who really want to create the best car buying experience. Work life balance can be pretty good if you are on the tech side. Benefits are not bad, they don't quite measure up to some of the other players in the tech space though, no stipend for gym, horrible coffee etc

      Cons

      Reorg hell, they tend to mandate a reorg every year or so. Chances are good that if you got hired to work in a specific area that you wont be in that area in 6 months. I was baited and switched to work in an area I was not very enthusiastic for. Some folks get to pick where they go but if you are newer and don't have those connections expect to get dumped somewhere. A lot of your time will be focused on methodology and process and not the product you are supposed to build. They have had a few layoffs the past 6 months and many talented folks have left. The company is also hell bent on hitting dates, and estimations that come from the top that can leave teams scrambling and working backwards to hit a date which shows in the work. A lot of products are at the mercy of the dealer customer which can ultimately doom progress, traditional car dealers are the next Blockbuster Video, only a matter of time.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Fun culture, difficult customers, occasional training

      Mar 5, 2013 - Inside Sales Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, open door policy, ability to network at fun events.

      Cons

      Sales training is minimal- feel like your thrown in with the wolves- dealers are very difficult customers! I had a really hard time at first and see it with every new group of people. Although they hire salespeople with experience, they expect you to learn on your own time and on the job... When i first started, I often felt like I was practicing on my money since your territory is limited. I can only imagine how someone in the field must feel at first! No real promotion track. They want to keep you in sales - whether that’s outside (must move to other cities where no national affiliate is present) or management (which is limiting). But honestly, unless you want a big paycut, you should probably stay in some type of sales role.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      A great company with some below average middle management.

      May 7, 2017 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This company has a very good training program that continues throughout employment. Sone really good people work and have worked here. Company has fun sales conference in Chicago. Somewhat of a party culture if you are into that sort of thing. Lots of freedom to make your own schedule. Benefits were excellent. I genuinely think cars.com was a great product for automotive dealerships that could afford us.

      Cons

      Managers will play favorites and the company is very cliquey. Make sure you "play the game" with the right people. Some managers seemed to be friends with the right people rather than genuinely good at their job. However, as with any company some managers are better than others. The daily battle of showing the value of our product became tedious. Some of our competitors gave the dealers more of what they wanted (leads) while we continued to debate with them over our value.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Learning + Relationships + Innovative Product=Happy Former Employee

      Dec 6, 2017 - Sales/Account Management in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Invaluable experience and even better team mates. I started at Cars as an intern right out of college and then moved in Account Management and later Inside Sales. I made lasting relationships, honed my communication skills, learned from great leaders and sold/managed a product I really believed in. I look back fondly at my time with them and wish the team all the best successes in the future.

      Cons

      As with any inside sales organization there are challenges. Difficult customers (car dealers) and sometimes slow moving process changes (we still faxed contracts..but you have to meet you clients where they are). The salary/pay was not great, but I was young and fortunate that money was not the main factor- I wanted to learn. Some other employees were tenured and lazy, negative etc- that was sometimes hard to be around when you are young/just starting your career.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Cars.com Response

      Cars Representative

      Thank you for the great feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a fruitful experience during your tenure at Cars.com. We always encourage our employees to grow, learn and expand their skillset. It is great to see our focus on training and development paid off during your time. Our space is ever-evolving, we pride ourselves in being innovators in the space, with a strong commitment to advancing technology throughout the industry. We also participate in external meet ups and local organizations of all functions to keep abreast of what’s happening in the community and best practices to implement internally as well.

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Steady downhill decline

      Feb 24, 2016 - Digital Media Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The brand used to be something to be proud of. Now it feels more like a scam to hustle dealers to pay for immeasurable metrics.

      Cons

      Management consists mainly of old guard members who have done everything in their power to cling together and not allow for any new thoughts or ideas to infiltrate their otherwise stagnant environment. It's a top shelf of managers well past their expiration date who fail to lead or inspire from the top down.

      Continue reading
      17 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 28 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Cars.com Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Cars.com? Share Your Experiences

    or