KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Cars.com

Is this your company?

Cars.com

Add a Review

Cars.com Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Jan 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 of over 527 reviews

4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Cars.com CEO & President Alex Vetter
Alex Vetter
257 Ratings
Pros
  • "GReat leadership, great coworkers, great work life balance(in 102 reviews)

  • "Beautiful offices and some great people(in 40 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Working with car dealers can be rough(in 20 reviews)

  • "Low pay, they want highly skilled employees but pay like they are hiring recent college grads(in 18 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Cars.com and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "great people"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Can't say enough good things

      Jan 14, 2021 - Senior Operations Analyst in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people Opportunity to learn alot of tools Fantastic CEO Really cares about their employees

      Cons

      Work can be really siloed

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      No org is perfect, but Cars.com is pretty great.

      Aug 14, 2020 - Senior Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked at Cars.com for 6 years and held four different roles. Some of the biggest positives were: 1) Great people. People really care about you, about your family, and about your well-being. I'm so grateful for the relationships I built and for the caring people I got to work with for so long. 2) Opportunities to learn. Working at Cars.com accelerated my career significantly. If you're hungry to learn and can work well with others, the ceiling is high. 3) Clearer strategy. Early on, strategy wasn't clear. In the last year or two, Cars.com became much clearer on their end goal to be a solutions provider for automotive dealerships.

      Cons

      Cars.com went through several ownership changes and went public during my tenure. This meant lots of executive leadership changes and lots of strategy changes. I personally feel like the company is in a much better place now, but that constant change can be hard for people. Another challenge is unclear integration with the two companies Cars.com acquired during my time. It's been several years now, but there still isn't much clarity or progress around how these companies should integrate and how to best deliver for our customers.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      This Car Needs a New Driver

      Oct 15, 2020 - Graphic Designer in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Beautiful offices and some great people.

      Cons

      Communication is poor between departments. People are promoted to various positions oftens times because they've been there the longest or are the only ones left and not because they have the necessary skillset.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Cars.com will break your heart

      Jun 5, 2020 - Account Executive in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work environment, great benefits, decent work life balance. Great people to work with.

      Cons

      Inconsistency with managers, sneaky behaviors from management.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Do Not Recommend

      Jul 10, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - great people -flexible work from home

      Cons

      Cars.com has severely declined and people are steadily leaving the company. It used to be a great place to work but there have been so many changes and no clear company direction leaving many employees frustrated and looking for new career opportunities. The pay is extremely low and not up to market averages and growth opportunities are non-existent. The Salesforce Cars.com has is extremely outdated and the company felt like a sinking ship.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      This is no family

      May 21, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I met some great people here, they are all gone now.

      Cons

      This company does nothing to reward hard work. There are no career paths and you will not be rewarded for doing things outside of your job description even if you have been doing it for years. The amount of office politics that goes on in this office disheartening. Your can feel that based on no one wanting to be there and everyone feeling sad at work.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good company, great people

      Sep 16, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are some great people here, interested in and passionate about what they do, including executives interested in having a great workplace. The company is all about a web site with a lot of traffic - and there are all kinds of technologies around making it happen. There is some flavor (sometimes multiple flavors) of client side, back end, web services, big data, data warehousing, user experience design, advertising creation, sales, or whatever work to be done, often using cutting edge tools. The workplace is generally sane, with a predictable development process and reasonable expectations of work hours. The business side of the company has some great on-boarding processes, making sure everyone knows what the business is all about. There is a real commitment to ongoing training for everyone that wants it.

      Cons

      As a big web site that's been around a while, there are a lot of outdated technologies still in use, and things that work by magic as the people that made them moved on. Migration to a common current platform has been started multiple times, leaving a mismatched set of technologies that need care and feeding to keep things running. The company wants to transition to Agile processes, but actually understanding what Agile means hasn't happened everywhere yet. Technology is agile within a product management waterfall.

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Cars has gone downhill

      Jan 13, 2019 - Digital Manager Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The sales reps are great people

      Cons

      Cut employees pay structure in half. Doesn’t appreciate their employees. Lots of favoritism when it comes to career advancement. Cars went downhill quick and you know there’s a problem when upper management starts leaving and you can’t hold on to tenured employees.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Cars.com Response

      Cars Representative

      Your feedback is appreciated. Our employees are the heart and soul of our business; therefore, we offer a very competitive compensation and benefits package that’s in line with industry expectations. Based on these generous benefits and compensation packages, we were named #23 on Built In Chicago’s 2019 Best Places to Work list. We’re proud that the industry is recognizing how well we take care of our employees and sorry to hear that you do not feel the same. Thank you for sharing your feedback and advice.

    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Used to be a great place...

      Nov 8, 2017 - Tech in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great people - Great work/life balance - Good benefits - Casual environment

      Cons

      - The Executive Level ignores staffing exodus and employee engagement issues. Many MANY people have left cars due to lack of upper-level leadership and direction. Some executives even blame direct line leaders for the exodus and moral issues but have been repeatedly told by staff and manager where the issues start. - Lost almost all devops skills at this company and they have no idea how to get it back to where it needs to be. - HR "rebranded" themselves so they don't have to engage with employees AT ALL. - Recruiting is failing miserably at bringing in new tech talent. - No strategy/direction for technology. - Even with everything below, still a good place to work but the devopsy shop is gone.

      Continue reading
      27 people found this review helpful

      Cars.com Response

      Cars Representative

      Thank you for your feedback. Glassdoor provides a unique and transparent opportunity for current and former employees to share insight into the inner workings of our organization. One challenge we find with GD is the inability for the reviewer to provide a larger context around the big issues we tackle as an organization experiencing an extremely dynamic, ever shifting technology and automotive landscape. One point of pride that we see in many of our positive and more constructive GD reviews are comments like, “Great People and great culture”! Walking the halls here, people greet you with a smile when you pass them or jump at the chance to help you solve a problem as complicated as launching a new product or trivial as where to find the 9th floor agile rooms. Being a tech company celebrating its twentieth year in Chicago means we’ve overcome a number of dramatic organizational and market challenges. In 2017 alone, Cars.com has separated from our parent company, moved to a new HQ and went public. These changes have provided us with unique learning opportunities as an organization. Last year we “rebranded” our HR team to the People Xperience Team or PXT to focus on creating positive experiences for our employees and their families. We see the role of HR evolving beyond a more traditional administrative and reactive corporate function to a more dynamic and proactive business and people collaborator. The rebrand is an evolving initiative that is being executed in tandem with our ever changing industry and business. Striving for perfection when working with people can be a moving target. In the past six months the PXT has invested heavily in additional communication initiatives and manager development programs. We are a work in progress with one singular goal, to create positive work experiences for our employees and families, which in turn will impact our users and customers. The People Xperience Team would happy to connect with you via phone or email directly to discuss in more depth.

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Balancing Employee Needs vs. Investor Needs

      Jul 30, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great people to work with (smart and caring) great new office space opportunities to learn

      Cons

      overextended / do more with less favoritism forced reductions in staff / restricted abilities to hire

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Cars.com Response

      Director of Social

      Thanks. We like us too and think cultural fit is very important. That is why we intentionally consider fit in our interview and selection process. We also want to recognize that we have experienced a lot of change in the recent past and that this has brought challenges with setting priorities, our company won’t change overnight; it must have support from the entire business, leaning in and making change happen. We will continue to grow, get better and learn.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 40 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Cars.com Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Cars.com? Share Your Experiences

    or