KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Carta

Engaged Employer

Carta

Add a Review

Carta Reviews

Updated Jun 23, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 208 of over 247 reviews

4.1
77%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Carta CEO Henry Ward (no image)
Henry Ward
141 Ratings

What people are saying about Carta

Join the conversation on

Big Law

6m

an 

Associate

What are we spending our bonuses on? I’m conflicted cuz I wanna be financially responsible blah blah blah and pay off loans but I also want a 3 carat diamond ring

342

97 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Carta and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good company - good leadership

    Jun 23, 2022 - Associate Fund Controller in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company to work at. Especially in the Fund Admin world.

    Cons

    No cons really. Pretty happy

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Overworked Fund Administration

    May 19, 2022 - Associate Fund Controller in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decently High salary for fund admin, good perks, equity grant

    Cons

    As an associate fund controller I was the primary point of contact for 15+ (Smaller) clients which lead to an unsustainable workload. They are hiring so quickly to keep up with growth but don’t invest in proper training, leaving those of us who prove ourselves competent to pick up the slack. This also led to high turnover. I was at Carta for under a year and know many others who left before a year as well. I felt that many of the fund controllers who I worked with that were senior to me were lacking technical knowledge and I didn’t have much oversight. My team emphasized work/life balance which is nice in theory, but I found whenever I took time off I would come back to a mountain of work and unanswered emails.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A fantastic place to be!

    Jun 12, 2022 - Senior Customer Success Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The approach they have on how every individual is a contributor, a valued owner who can speak up in a safe space is incredible.

    Cons

    A lot of slack and way too many tools to get job done efficiently.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Culture is great!

    Jun 14, 2022 - Project Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The team has great culture and leadership is always supportive.

    Cons

    It was hard to voice clients' concerns most of the times because the features requested isn't aligned with the business plan that the leadership has.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Do Not Work Here !

    Apr 22, 2022 - Support Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None I can think of - stay away

    Cons

    - Management sets no clear expectations. There is no clear communication between teams. There is constant change that is not being communicated correctly and therefore the change reduces productivity - Executives do not care about their employees. CEO is hell-bent on returning to office despite facing major backlash from employees - There is no salary negotiation and no upward mobility. The only reward for doing a good job? You get to do other people's jobs too - There is no type of flexibility. They give you a schedule with timed bathroom breaks and lunches. Ridiculous. Oh, and you can't take PTO if anyone else is out that day. Reminds me a lot of high school - They expect you to arrive 20 minutes before your shift everyday for a customer service role. What a joke. Not to mention the compensation and recognition is subpar. They think occasionally throwing $25 in Doordash credit will fix the issue - They expect you to give them all of your time - blatant disrespect for lack of work-life balance and when you try to stand up for yourself, they guilt trip you into being complacent

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Open and autonomous leadership

    May 1, 2022 - Engineering Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Leadership are open in discussing state of the company. People are helpful and nice. Trying really hard to establish the culture.

    Cons

    Reorg are often and sometimes plans are not properly established. Technical team is quite young.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Kindness, transparency and ownership

    Mar 11, 2022 - Technical Sourcer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The emphasis on kindness, transparency, ownership are values that attracted me to Carta in the first place. I've found that the company works to re-enforce these values from the top down. My voice has been dismissed in previous roles, or others have taken credit for my work, but at Carta, I see my teammates giving credit where it is due, celebrating each other, listening, and taking action on feedback. Henry Ward is open, honest, and does their best to improve and grow while balancing the needs of the employees and the needs of the business. I do not always agree with the decisions of Henry or leadership, but I appreciate that they keep us informed and hear us out. The private equity space is an exciting and interesting domain.

    Cons

    As with other fast growing companies, there's a lot of changes and ambiguity to navigate

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Best Job I ever had

    Jun 1, 2022 - Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Love the culture. My favorite place to date

    Cons

    needs more career development in. my opinion.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Bad Experience

    Jun 20, 2022 - Manager, Marketing 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of smart people and $800M war chest

    Cons

    Daily chaos, poor management, rotten culture

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Nice company

    Jun 3, 2022 - Support Analyst in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits, work environment and growth

    Cons

    I don't see any cons right now

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 208 Reviews

Carta Reviews FAQs

Carta has an overall rating of 4.1 out of 5, based on over 247 reviews left anonymously by employees. 77% of employees would recommend working at Carta to a friend and 80% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Carta employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.3 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Carta. This rating has improved by 4% over the last 12 months.

77% of Carta employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Carta 3.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.2 for culture and values and 4.1 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Carta to be career development, culture, benefits and the cons to be work life balance, management, senior leadership.

Popular Careers with Carta Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Carta? Share Your Experiences

or

Carta Photos

+ Add Photo
Carta photo of: Camping Trip 2017
Carta photo of: Exercising Options - Carta Halloween
Carta photo of: Carta Speaker Series
Carta photo of: Carta Company Day
Carta photo of: New York Office at One World Trade!
Carta photo of: San Francisco Offsite - Fleet Week Hornblower Cruise
Carta photo of: Carta Canada!
See All Photos