Carta Reviews | Glassdoor

Carta Reviews

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
77%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Carta CEO Henry Ward (no image)
Henry Ward
48 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "High growth Fintech Startup - we're treated great as employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been at Carta since February of 2018. This is my favorite company that I've worked for -- to summarize: 1. The company's ethos is to "Create more Owners" -- as employees our benefits, pay, commission, equity, flexibility in working schedules, are all on par or better than the startups that everyone knows. 2. Catered lunch everyday - salad bar, different vendors, full kitchen with drinks/fresh fruit/snacks,... etc. 3. Every employee receives equity 4. Work from home flexibility 5. Realistic challenge in job function -- on the sales team we're held to a high standard, but quotas are realistic and commission plans are very fair 6. Good culture - the company promotes 1:1's (I just took a walk with an executive all I had to do was throw time on his calendar), team lunches that are paid for, team events, etc. 7. High growth - the future is bright for Carta for a number of different reasons: well capitalized, big plans, great market share and continuing to grow, Marc Andreessen (one of the most renowned VC's and former founder of Netscape) is on our board, CEO Henry is one of the most thoughtful visionaries in the tech space, the list goes on

    Show More

    Cons

    1. Communication: at a high growth company, processes will always need to play catch up with the trajectory the company is on. Communication between departments has historically been clunky, but has undoubtedly improved in 2019. 2. Unique market = the equity/VC space wasn't something I was familiar with before starting. Being on the sales side and talking to experienced operators, lawyers, and heads of finance can... be tricky if you don't understand the landscape/industry. I had to study/read/collaborate for a couple of months when I started to get a grasp on the space.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep focusing on the products that we currently offer as we develop the new products that will change the landscape of employee ownership - cap table management, security issuance, reporting, boardroom product/resolutions/consents - that's what got us to where we are. Being a software company, let's make sure we continue to put out the best quality software and not spread ourselves too thin on different initatives.

    Carta2019-06-17
  2. "Amazing growing company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, pay and benefits. Excellent equity awards

    Cons

    Normal startup growing pains, though they are starting to figure things out.

    Advice to Management

    Keep working to improve communication.

    Carta2019-06-18
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Fast growing company with strong engineering culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    New engineering leadership since last year and new initiatives are helping Carta grow from a startup into an enterprise company. As the company is growing the company the work life is more flexible than before -- working from home occasionally is okay, my daily standup is at 9:30am instead of 8:30am, there is no more required commute once a week to the other office (e.g. SF to Palo Alto). The company is growing and... hiring quickly and we have a lot of interesting projects going on. We had have quarterly hackathons to work on new ideas and projects, and regular show and tells meetings to present new projects to the whole company. Growth is encouraged with mentorship, and engineering leadership has presented career paths.

    Show More

    Cons

    Offices can get crowded at times with meeting rooms constantly booked. However the SF office is moving to a new location which should fix it. As a startup it's hard for the compensation to match a larger company, though the upside potential of equity is appealing.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the transparency and keep communicating the goals of the company.

    Carta2019-06-11
  4. Helpful (5)

    "One of the best companies I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities: Carta provides employees with opportunities that are normally hard to come across in your professional career. Directors and management are always willing to help place people in the roles they want to be in and encourage upward mobility. People: Great coworkers and colleagues. The talent bar has increased exponentially in the last year and it's made a big difference on the... culture Flexibility: Flexible working hours and WFH options. Many companies still quietly value face time, but Carta is a place that emphasizes doing what works best for the team and individual. Speed: Everything gets done so quickly here. It's amazing to see everyone come together on projects and have quick turnaround times. Benefits: Carta provides employees with generous benefits. It's something that is becoming more rare these days, but taking care of health Transparency: CEO is extremely transparent which trickles down in the org. It's nice to not have a blackbox in the org

    Show More

    Cons

    Some people are hired with no real role here, which leads others wondering what they contribute. There are a few employees here that sit around and are distractions. We've seen a lot of them exit in the last year, but still some that are lingering here while other teams are short on bandwidth. Space in offices is getting tight. Understandable, given the growth we have had in the last year. Flexible WFH policy... makes it easier to navigate.

    Show More
    Carta2019-04-24
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Continued hyper-growth - Helpful, transparent, fair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carta full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Continued hyper-growth year over year, strong product market fit in multiple businesses/products - Nearly everyone is fantastic and tries to live by the code of "always be helpful" - More transparent than any company I've been at - Management has the best intentions for the employees

    Cons

    - Continued hyper-growth has created a shortage of experienced leadership across different levels as hiring and development did not keep up with the accelerated growth and needs of the company

    Advice to Management

    - Fewer but better town halls would be more effective - Continue to invest in development - Make explicit the culture and values and reiterate them constantly

    Carta2019-04-09
  6. Helpful (5)

    "A startup that has grown up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, Salary, Location, People, Atmosphere, Autonomy, Culture

    Cons

    Growing pains (still developing structures) and a lack of diversity in Salt Lake.

    Advice to Management

    Engage current employees by showing career trajectory + options from any role. More diversity in hiring.

    Carta2019-04-16
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Great opportunities to contribute to a company at hyperscale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to work on projects / problems that don't exist in the same way at larger, more established companies Leadership is continually getting better, especially at the executive level Company ethos that is easy to get behind Visionary CEO Great compensation / perks Great people to work with

    Cons

    As with any rapidly growing company, there are some clear growing pains, but I'm confident in the work leadership is putting in to work through these

    Carta2019-04-08
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Great opportunity for growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Carta has been an amazing company to work at. I have learned a ton within my short time at Carta so far and I hope to be at carta for years to come. My colleagues are incredible and I can’t wait to see how much Carta grows.

    Cons

    Bring cold brew on tap back to SLC!

    Carta2019-04-08
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Best Company, Manager, Team and Product (and pay) I've ever worked with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    When I evaluate a company I am always looking for a great culture, a driven team, a manager I can count on and a product I have conviction about. Carta has offered me all these things. When I had an issue with the culture I was able to have my voice heard by the Head of People and the HR business partner and things changed within a month or so. Not many companies can offer that. The Sales team I work with is... resilient and continues to push to hit our goals each month. The Senior Management and Ops team that's been put in place has made massive strides that everyone is benefitting from in a short amount of time, which is hard to do with how fast the company is growing. My manager for the past 6 months has been the best manager I've ever had and helped set me up for a promotion within 6 months. Last but certainly not least every sales person needs to have strong product conviction. Carta makes this simple. The platform truly is helping our clients and the companies they've created. My favorite part of the job is by far knowing we are providing a needed solution while getting to meet the founders who are changing the economy with their innovative businesses.

    Show More

    Cons

    Growth comes with growing pains. Processes are constantly changing and it can be tough always being flexible. In SLC I personally wish we had more women on the Sales team. We also are working toward a better way to recognize sales people - this is something that's required some patience.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to try and make your employees feel valued.Invest in learning and development so we can continue to develop our careers. With such hyper growth this can be difficult as people come and go, but is necessary to keep great employees around.

    Carta2019-04-02
  10. "Best Place I've Worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    *Radical transparency *A CEO and Exec team that cares about people *Our business is incredible and one of the fastest growing of all time

    Cons

    *Hypergrowth creates growing pains. We were late to instituting G&A functions (Finance, Legal and HR), but it's happening now and I love the people we've brought in.

    Advice to Management

    *Keep going on the path you're on. The future at Carta is bright.

    Carta2019-04-12
Found 73 reviews