Cartier Reviews | Glassdoor

Cartier Reviews

Updated Jan 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
71%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Cartier CEO Cyrille Vigneron
Cyrille Vigneron
48 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Commission is poor, cut throat atmosphere, long hours, no two days off in a row"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in New York, NY

    I worked at Cartier

    Pros

    can't think of any at all except clients were complaining, but okay. I was there before 2012, but not a choice under last year at employer

    Cons

    the "manager" of dept. always tried to steal my phone calls, saying I was gone. Commission is poor, cut throat atmosphere, no two days off in a row, LONG hours, did I say long hours! After work special events. Not a friendly place to work -for pittances.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of cut throat manager in stationery or other

    Cartier2016-04-29
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cartier full-time

    Pros

    If people with jewelry experience knew how amazing this company is to work for, no one would be working anywhere else! The benefits are amazing, they even do your dry cleaning for you!

    Cons

    Be prepared to work at a pace that you didn't think was possible. It is busier than you would imagine and there is no, none, never any down time.

    Cartier2015-12-23
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (16)

    "Horrible clients, depressing environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cartier full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice co-workers, good benefits, good time off.

    Cons

    Despite the beautiful jewelry, it is a rather depressing environment. I would go into work every day feeling like my insides were going to explode. The clients were the most terrible people I've ever met in my life. They were constantly screaming at us, swearing, and putting us down in terms I can't even write on here. The management would never stick up for their co-workers. The blame was always placed on what we did wrong even when the client was completely unreasonable and offensive. I'm pretty sure the 5 star reviews on here were written by management. It is a very fake facade that these people hide behind. There are so many wonderful people that work there, but they are never given the opportunity to advance even when they want it. There are very limited opportunities for career advancement.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give your employees the option to grow with the company if they show interest and enthusiasm. Be there for your employees as mentors and friends instead of creating this imaginary wall where they can't come talk to you about anything.

    Cartier2016-01-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Public Relations Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cartier full-time

    Pros

    The staff is very professional, but there is definitely an attitude at the office. There is an extreme dress code in the boutique.

    Cons

    Some of the staff is disorganized and rely too heavily on assistants to process their work for them.

    Advice to Management

    Allow internships to be for students while in school, not just full time after they have graduated.

    Cartier2015-12-01
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Varies by department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Cartier

    Pros

    Prestige of a luxury brand Inconsistencies between departments makes it difficult to comment.

    Cons

    Inconsistencies between departments makes it difficult to comment.

    Cartier2015-12-03
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great company/history, poor management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Services Coordinator in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cartier full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, demanding, meet lots of people. Jewelry is a work of art. Stable company lots of commission based incentives, and lots of ways to increase industry knowledge.

    Cons

    Management is prone to the good 'ol boy system. No advancements to corporate unless you are french. High demand to make quota EVERYTHING must be perfect.. no exceptions

    Advice to Management

    Do not use annual reviews as way way to keep employee salary down. Promote from within instead of having good people train ignorant management.

    Cartier2015-09-11
  8. "Wonderful company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Macomb, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cartier full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Excellent pay and benefits. Unmatched history.

    Cons

    Long hours - but that's retail.

    Cartier2015-08-28
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Cartier was one of the most exciting and challenging positions where I learned amazing customer care techniques ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AFTER SALES CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cartier full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent compensation for your efforts Wonderful discounts on their stunning merchandise.

    Cons

    It was challenging to provide the customer service, under some of the time constraints .

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the employees ideas, they are interfacing with all of the clients all of the time.

    Cartier2015-08-14
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Incredible jewelry maison"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cartier for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cartier has an inspiring history and the artisans who make the watches, jewelry and accessories are incredibly talented. The creations are works of art.

    Cons

    Working in the north american office, you are completely micro managed by head quarters in Paris. They control and limit initiatives which is extremely discouraging. We do not get all national holidays however the French offices have a surplus of holidays and vacation which is extremely discouraging. There is an unrealistic expectation for perfection.

    Advice to Management

    Give employees national holidays. Prioritize key projects instead of saying yes to everything and expecting perfection for employees. We are human.

    Cartier2015-06-26
  11. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cartier in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cartier full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Give a lot of responsibilities

    Cons

    The international mobility is not well implemented

    Advice to Management

    more trainings

    Cartier2015-06-05
Found 176 reviews