Cartier Employee Reviews about "french"

Updated Jun 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 of over 375 reviews

4.1
84%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Cartier CEO Cyrille Vigneron
Cyrille Vigneron
133 Ratings
Pros
  • "Lots of overtime and worked with some of the most amazing works of jewelry in the world(in 12 reviews)

  • "Good environment, fancy evening events and high end employee gathering dinner, free uniforms and dry wash(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Management keeps changing, bias towards French(in 15 reviews)

  • "High pressure, long hours, bad management, no upward mobility, no retirement plan,(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "french"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Bureaucracy + Politics = High School Popularity Contest

      Nov 16, 2016 - Corporate Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Beautiful and respectable brand. You can stand by the product because you know that Cartier is one of the world's leading luxury jewelry and watch brands. Many of the employees are a pleasure to work with. If you are independently wealthy you will be able to buy the products with the small employee price adjustment, however not just on the salary Cartier pays.

      Cons

      To get ahead here you need to be pushy, aggressive and know how to play the corporate game. You need to strategically befriend certain executives if you ever want to be given more opportunities and career growth. Its a popularity contest and if you are will to be inauthentic and learn how to manipulate your superiors, you will do well here. Major lack of transparency among leaders and many inefficient and even harmful HR policies. It helps to be French here - helps even more if you are a French man. They seem to be the only ones who have rapid career growth and who are given the opportunities to hold various roles within the company.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Intern, more than 1 year

      Great Company Creatively, Low Pay

      Mar 10, 2016 - Intern - Hourly in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cartier is much smaller a company than one would think, which provides great opportunities for those who are entrepreneurial and enjoy wearing many different hats. The cache of the brand Cartier rings as substantiated by the creation of a truly superior product.

      Cons

      The HR department through Richemont is horrendous. Many of the salaries and benefits offered to non-executive employees were shockingly low. If you don't speak French, you may have difficulty forging work relationships with colleagues, or even participating in work meetings / conference calls

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Incredible jewelry maison

      Jun 26, 2015 -  in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cartier has an inspiring history and the artisans who make the watches, jewelry and accessories are incredibly talented. The creations are works of art.

      Cons

      Working in the north american office, you are completely micro managed by head quarters in Paris. They control and limit initiatives which is extremely discouraging. We do not get all national holidays however the French offices have a surplus of holidays and vacation which is extremely discouraging. There is an unrealistic expectation for perfection.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great company/history, poor management.

      Sep 10, 2015 - Services Coordinator in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, demanding, meet lots of people. Jewelry is a work of art. Stable company lots of commission based incentives, and lots of ways to increase industry knowledge.

      Cons

      Management is prone to the good 'ol boy system. No advancements to corporate unless you are french. High demand to make quota EVERYTHING must be perfect.. no exceptions

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place if you speak french

      Mar 11, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great starting pay Great benefits Full suit uniforms with access to free dry cleaning Great hours with good mix of work/life balance

      Cons

      Lack of Training, everything was trial by fire Not much growth unless you spoke french Associates were very cliquey Need to streamline customer service protocols better

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great brand with poor management

      Jun 4, 2020 - Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fabulous heritage and staff discounts

      Cons

      Low salaries, very French led, no growth potential

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Cartier Response

      Cartier

      Thank you for your review. It is never our intention to make our people feel less than our highest priority. We are committed to the development and growth of all our people and we strive to compensate our employees fairly and competitively. We are sorry to hear that you are not happy with your overall experience. The vast majority of our positions are posted internally, unless they are confidential. We are taking actions to increase the diversity of our workforce. We have started to diversify our leadership team in the UK market for example. Should you need support and advice to continue your growth within our Maison, we encourage you to reach out to your manager and local HR. Thanks again for your review.

    7. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Comfortable But Too French

      Jun 9, 2020 - Communications Manager in Hong Kong
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Large Company Slow paced Environment Good Salary Package

      Cons

      Not Strategic No training & career development resources Too French-oriented culture

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Cartier Response

      Cartier

      Thank you for taking the time to leave us review. It is good to hear that you are satisfied with the work environment and your compensation. However, we are sorry to hear that you are not happy with your overall experience working at Cartier in the Hong Kong offices. We respect our French heritage, but today our Maison is present in more than 60 countries and our 7.500+ employees represent more than 90 nationalities. Our goal is to develop all employees through learning on the job and by offering access to different and new learning programs. We promote internal career development within our Maison and the Richemont Group and if you have been in your role for minimum two years and showing strong performance, you can apply for another position. Should you need support and advice to continue your growth within our Maison, we encourage you to reach out to your manager and local HR. Thanks again for your review.

    8. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Management style

      Jan 8, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company with good products

      Cons

      Management keeps changing, bias towards French

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Cartier Response

      Cartier

      Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. With more than 7,500 employees from more than 90 nationalities – Cartier is proud to offer an international environment. At the same time, we strive to be locally relevant in all of our markets.

    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      High workload, but great ambitious and international atmosphere

      Jun 5, 2015 - CRM 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Dynamic and ambitious environment - Company benefits ( staff discounts, bonus etc ) - Many opportunities to grow within the brand

      Cons

      - Salary is low, and yearly salary increases are very low as well - High work load & pressure. They expect you to work very hard and work many extra hours without getting recognition/credits for it..because working overtime is the most normal thing in the world and should be done - Definitely a very French company culture - Few opportunities to improve yourself (trainings etc. )

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great products and brand but little progression.

      Oct 24, 2015 - Sales Administrator in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Prestige of brand is good for cv. Luxury products are a pleasure to work with and you benefit from 40% discount.

      Cons

      Progression is difficult due to the lack of professional training. The best positions are given directly to French business school graduates from head office and not advertised internally . Poor communication - seems as though people have a 'knowledge is power' attitude and are reluctant to share important knowledge or updates on developments.

      14 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Cartier Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Cartier? Share Your Experiences

    Cartier logo
    or