Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare Reviews | Glassdoor

Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 88 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Derald Walker
48 Ratings
Pros
  • "The clients are great to work with(in 9 reviews)

  • "Cascadia also has an extra employee assistance thing that will give you FREE mental health counseling for when you're stressed out(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay, lack of infrastructure, and lack of cultural competency(in 10 reviews)

  • "Pay is low, as with any community mental health agency(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Skills Trainer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Skills Trainer in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Management cares and works with you, from corporate on down. They are inclusive and strive hard to make this a non-discriminating organization. The pay is good, the clients are amazing and the job is fun. I'm given a lot of autonomy, and I feel like I'm making a difference.

    Cons

    Some of the trainings have felt less than wonderful. There's just not enough time in the day to do everything you want to.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on keeping on.

    Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare2018-09-18
  2. "Poor Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Skills Trainer in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Independent work place, Many locations

    Cons

    No real support from supervisors Poor communication

    Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare2019-03-17
  3. "Great PTO, bad mid-management and pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Residential Counselor 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The PTO can not be beat. It is the best around. The head office is nice and helpful.

    Cons

    Overstating in the wrong areas. Lacks proper pay. Hires worst candidates of sites. Lots of turnovers.

    Advice to Management

    To keep better management you need to pay the right people. Stop lowballing.

    Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare2019-02-19
  4. "Good work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Caregiver in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Always looked forward to my shifts, enjoyed the ability to work at various locations with different clients

    Cons

    Mandatory staff meetings could be organized better

    Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare2019-02-07
  5. "Bad Middle and Upper Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Skills Trainer in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    The clients are great. Supervisor is nice to work with.

    Cons

    The program managers and middle managers are not experienced or trained. They have zero accountability. A young inexperienced supervisor was hired and two months later promoted to manager. No management skills or experience. Pretty face, tons of makeup and inappropriately short skirts got her the promotion.

    Advice to Management

    Hold managers accountable for their actions. Don't promote women who dress like prostitutes. They do not fit into a professional treatment environment and could send the wrong message to vulnerable mental health clients.

    Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare2019-03-06
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Constant staffing crises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Big organization offers the ability to move around and gain experience.

    Cons

    Supervisors and managers are rarely permitted to terminate unperforming / policy violating staff. This leads to low morale and most quality staff leaving. Constant staffing crises are stressful for staff and lead to burnout.

    Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare2019-02-06
  7. "Company aiming for greatness"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Work Culture, benefits, serving community

    Cons

    Heavy work load. No merits increases.

    Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare2018-10-12
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Unhappy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Billing in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Great co-workers, love working for an organization that does so much good in providing community mental health services and providing housing to those in need.

    Cons

    Our upper manager is the CFO. At our meetings, she talks in run on sentences without a break, sometimes for half hour at a time. Using abbreviations and terminology we don't understand half the time. She keeps telling us she'd like to give us a raise but the company just can't afford it yet and she'd hate to give us a raise, and not be able to support it later and then have to have lay offs. She also said most of...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please bring in some competent people to fix the EHR.

    Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare2018-08-17
  9. "Decent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare full-time

      Pros

      Lots of paid time off Great co-workers

      Cons

      Many locations shutting own, lots of turnover

      Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare2018-07-19
    • "interview"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare full-time

      Pros

      good PTO, good benefits. people are great.

      Cons

      all hands on deck. youll be expected to go outside of your job description.

      Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare2018-07-11
    Found 88 reviews