Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare Reviews | Glassdoor

Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 90 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Dr. Derald Walker
48 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Former for a reason"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A foot in the door A way to get experience Training hours Rewarding work

    Cons

    Unhealthy work environment Severely underpaid Horrible direction Quick to shift blame to deny culpability

    Advice to Management

    Respect your employees time. Give them more support. If you can't pay a working wage, expect exhausted workers.

    Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare2017-04-28
  2. "One of the better agencies in Portland"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare full-time

      Pros

      Cascadia is certainly trying get to the top of the market rate in terms of salaries.

      Cons

      Pay is low, as with any community mental health agency.

      Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare2017-02-01
    • Helpful (2)

      "Former counselor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Social Worker in Newberg, OR
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare

      Pros

      Caring co workers, supportive management, interesting work, rewarding, benefit package ok, paid mileage if using own car, good stepping stone in my career. Clients were great

      Cons

      Low pay, wish the benefits were a bit better, really only got COLA raises, not for merit. Not their fault it's community mental health so minimal funds.

      Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare2017-01-18
    • "Training Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Instructional Design Specialist in Portland, OR
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare for more than a year

      Pros

      Great, well-intentioned, management staff. Excellent cause pursued with the best intentions. My manager's boss knew what was going on and allowed me exposure to his level of the organization, so I got some recognition.

      Cons

      Had to make my manager look good without any hope that I might be promoted.

      Advice to Management

      Just because someone has subject matter expertise doesn't mean they'll be able to do a good job developing or administering training.

      Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare2016-11-30
    • "The best company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare full-time

      Pros

      This company cares about their employees, they understand life challenge's. If I ever move back to Oregon I will apply again. Thank you for all your support.

      Cons

      None, company is great and always take in your referrals

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the good work Val

      Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare2016-11-06
    • Helpful (3)

      "Laughable"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Quality Mental Health Associate (QMHA) 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The clients are the only thing that make working at Cascadia worth it. This is a good stepping stone job; good for the resume, that's about it.

      Cons

      The frequency in which full time staff call out is to the point where all you can do is laugh in disbelief. There are literally moments where I wonder if Ashton Kutcher himself will jump out and tell me I'm being Punk'd, or maybe someone will pinch me and tell me that the company of Cascadia is actually just a nightmare & not reality. But then again, maybe I shouldn't have such high expectations of people when the...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Take care of those who actually show up to work and strive to make a difference in the lives of those they work with. Actually do something to get rid of the people who take advantage of the company; something that negatively impacts not only the team morale, but is extremely detrimental to the clients as well.

      Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare2016-12-04
    • "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare

      Pros

      Good pto, wonderful benefits

      Cons

      Pay is low, the amount of work expected for the pay is high.

      Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare2016-10-10
    • "CBHC"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare

      Pros

      Great benefits packages, lots of opportunity for growth, plenty of chances for hours. Most coworkers are right on the same page as you are and care about the residents that you work with.

      Cons

      Fairly understaffed, lots of time it's agency workers who have to fill in shifts. Management is slow to fill positions.

      Advice to Management

      More involvement with staff development and creating a really solid 'team' feeling.

      Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare2016-09-26
    • Helpful (2)

      "Cascade"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare part-time

      Pros

      Cascade does have great pay and friendly coworkers. Most members of management are also friendly . Seiu is present.

      Cons

      Cascade does not offer enough training for this very specialized area of care, there is no security staff, staff are not well supported when injured by patients, many staff do not speak proficient English making communication very difficult at times. Very high staff turnover

      Advice to Management

      Implement a proper training and orientation. Provide security personnel

      Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare2016-09-27
    • Helpful (4)

      "unhealthy place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - LPC in Portland, OR
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      I don't have many pros about Cascadia. Sometimes through the really bad services they provide people might get help. I worked in two of their programs and it was doubtful what mental health was provided. One pro is that from time to time they hire really great people who have a lot of talent and compassion in them. Sadly those people get burned out or realize they are not going to be allowed to provide competent services...

      Show More

      Cons

      So many cons. As an employee offering mental health services, there is such a lack of oversight and real mental health happening. Employees are required to work long hours and have case loads that are honestly impossible to handle. When employees try to push back or get support they are often ridiculed or written up for their failures. Salary is also a joke. They messed with my salary so many times asking me each time...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Actually show that you care about your employees. Stick up for them when you know too much is too much. Advocate for them. Also management needs to remember we are all a team. Mostly though they think they are higher up and act that way. Very superior and condescending.

      Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare2016-10-12
    Found 90 reviews