Casey's General Stores Reviews | Glassdoor

Casey's General Stores Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 587 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Terry Handley
121 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible hours, on the job training, decent pay(in 20 reviews)

  • "Full Time Benefits, Fun environment, Opportunities to help our communities by fundraising(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low staff hard to get full time(in 25 reviews)

  • "Double standards and silent alliances among upper management and select tenured lower management(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Corporate company with a family feel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Casey's General Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great team members who are helpful and willing to collaborate - Leadership cares for their employees

    Cons

    - Typical issues in retail industry

    Casey's General Stores2019-04-25
  2. "Good part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Donnellson, IA
    Recommends

    I worked at Casey's General Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and good part time job

    Cons

    Low pay and not much room for Advancement

    Advice to Management

    Management was good

    Casey's General Stores2019-05-15
  3. "Pays well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Server in Bellevue, IA

    I have been working at Casey's General Stores part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Good pay and good town

    Cons

    People calling off and never get the shift you hired for

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate

    Casey's General Stores2019-05-13
  4. "Fun and challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Staff in Berryville, AR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Casey's General Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with.

    Cons

    Occasionally Works alone in area of position.

    Casey's General Stores2019-05-06
  5. "Fss pizza"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Service Worker in Fargo, ND
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Casey's General Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice company to work for great pay nice environment

    Cons

    Workers are unreliable and need to pick up the slack

    Casey's General Stores2019-05-05
  6. "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 

    I worked at Casey's General Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Quick hire. Training provided when starting.

    Cons

    Have to work holidays. Schedule is not set. Rest of staff is not reliable, have to work their shift when they call in

    Casey's General Stores2019-05-01
  7. "I was the delivery driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Casey's General Stores

      Pros

      I was a hard worker delivered the pizzas on time

      Cons

      Learning the environment and the streets and addresses

      Advice to Management

      It was a fun job good environment

      Casey's General Stores2019-04-24
    • "good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Lexington, NE

      I worked at Casey's General Stores full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      manger is very good at teaching work with lots of friendly people

      Cons

      team members called in a lot

      Casey's General Stores2019-04-24
    • "If you have the right crew, the job rocks, if you dont nightmare"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Kitchen Crew-overnights in Des Moines, IA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Casey's General Stores part-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      -Normally pretty flexible hours (with the right managers) -Fast paced -Always something to do>stocking cooler, stocking freezer, cleaning the parking lot. If you like to keep busy it's a great job. -although you have to remain professional, it us a very laid back atmosphere, you get to know regulars and joke around with them. -it can be a very fun working environment with the right crew.

      Cons

      - I work full time hours with none of the benefits - "that's not my job", hear that phrase way to much. YOUR JOB IS TO KEEP THE CUSTOMERS HAPPY!!!!!!!!! So that mean if your a register person and are able to help the kitchen you do. If you work in the kitchen and are slow, go stock the cooler, cups, anything to help out front who can always get away from the register. -lack of teamwork is God awful. You work at a convenience...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      *Don't talk about other employees to other employees, your their boss not friend. *Listen to employees that complain about the same coworker (even if they've worked there for 5+ years) the new staff might not be the issue *Be firm but don't degrade or yell at your employees, they won't respect you that way. *keep being fun! It's a convenient store, its aloud and customers love it. *by that I mean get into...

      Show More
      Casey's General Stores2019-04-20
    • "Excellent Boss, Poor Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Cashier in Evansdale, IA
      Doesn't Recommend

      I have been working at Casey's General Stores part-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      My boss was a manager at Kwik trip. When his store was bought by Casey's he started working there. He was fantastic to all of his employees, and was great to work with around a school schedule.

      Cons

      Upper management and the company in general are not great and they fire all of the best managers. I spent time in other stores and the managers there were so un-professional it was scary. I know from talking to my boss that working for them was a significant hit to benefits and life satisfaction. He was fired shortly after I found a new job.

      Casey's General Stores2019-05-03
    Found 587 reviews