Cash America Reviews | Glassdoor

Cash America Reviews

Updated Oct 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Cash America CEO Dan Feehan
Dan Feehan
221 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits (Medical/Dental/Vision/401k matching/Sick Time / Vacation)(in 14 reviews)

  • "Learning the value of jewelry,guns and electronics(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work hours and upper management doesn’t know how day to day operations work(in 43 reviews)

  • "pawn brokers are NEVER recognized for the good jobs they do(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good work with costumers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pawnbroker in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cash America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good friendly place to work at

    Cons

    Takes patience with people in general

    Cash America2019-07-09
  2. "It’s ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 

    I have been working at Cash America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Commission Secure job Benefits Good training Always learning

    Cons

    No raises Have to do it all pawnbroker and operational duties Commission is good only if everyone is doing good Only move up if someone quits or is fired

    Advice to Management

    Should go back to bonuses

    Cash America2019-10-09
  3. "Overall a good place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pawnbroker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cash America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful team and management that was always happy and ready to work.

    Cons

    Typical days consist of dealing with very difficult customers.

    Cash America2019-10-01
  4. "Loved It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pawnbrokers in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cash America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I loved this Job! It was never boring and my Coworkers were great.

    Cons

    If I would have made more money, I would have stayed

    Advice to Management

    I was the Top three salesperson in the City, but still only grossed about twelve dollars per hour with bonuses

    Cash America2019-09-30
  5. "Great company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cash America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Talented staff. Great pay and benefits. It never gets dull.

    Cons

    Working with the public is both fun and tiring.

    Cash America2019-09-26
  6. "Interesting place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pawnbroker 

    I worked at Cash America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The staff and my store managers were awesome and fun to work with. Discount on inventory is so good that it feels like a con when it's payday. Opportunity to move up depends on availability.

    Cons

    Some customers get mad due to expectations they have on those items. If you don't get along with your coworkers, it can be really rough on hectic days.

    Cash America2019-09-14
  7. "The job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cash America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cool people and made a lot of friends

    Cons

    Lanie is gone so sad

    Cash America2019-09-09
  8. "Decent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pawnbroker in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cash America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Constantly busy Commission Constant learning Growth Better than McDonald's

    Cons

    Time off Sick days Health insurance Time off hard to ask for

    Cash America2019-09-09
  9. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pawnbroker 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cash America part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good for the students and for someone who wants to improve communication skills.

    Cons

    Not a competitive paid. Heavy load works.

    Cash America2019-09-08
  10. "Never consistent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cash America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Every day something new so never really the same

    Cons

    Pay is terrible with all the demands you’re asked to do Advanced positions from more outer sources than within

    Cash America2019-09-20
Found 430 reviews