CashStar Reviews | Glassdoor

CashStar Reviews

Updated Mar 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Ben Kaplan
4 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at CashStar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great environment, great flexibility, parking subsidies

    Cons

    Undergoing changes due to acquisition

    CashStar2019-03-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Best company in Portland, Maine to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering in Portland, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CashStar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great people -Great culture -Tons of opportunity to take on new challenges -Modern agile style -Small super nimble teams -Performance and scale like no one around

    Cons

    -Will need more space soon as hiring continues (good problem to have)

    Advice to Management

    -Continue to be transparent

    CashStar2017-06-26
  3. "Great, Fair Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CashStar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Competitive salary, with merit-based raises 'out of the blue' -Wonderful colleagues -Access to senior leadership -Work-life balance, flexibility -Beautiful office

    Cons

    -Not easy to unplug after hours -Not a lot of room for professional development on certain teams

    Advice to Management

    -Keep on keeping on! -Provide opportunities for personal professional growth in areas other than engineering

    CashStar2017-03-01
  4. Helpful (4)

    "A Wonderful Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Portland, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CashStar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cashstar employees get to work in a spacious, modern environment in a phenomenal location with lots of natural light and great views alongside some of the best people you're likely to meet. It's the kind of work experience that will inform your perspective and decision making for years to come. The management team has worked very hard to make sure that people have what they need to be at their best. The office is...

    Show More

    Cons

    #1 - Work load: Being an agile shop in a fast-moving market in a fast-moving industry, we do move fast, the work is hard and sometimes intense, and a lot is expected of you. Because of Cashstar's culture of "if you can do stuff, then do it", you might find your work/life balance get, well, out of balance as you accrue roles and responsibilities. It's really your responsibility to define where that line is, recharge when...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great communication and culture! Resist the impulse to become overly traditional, corporate and top-down and instead, work on becoming more data-driven, leveraging lean and agile startup methods, and continuing to give great people the capacity to innovate.

    CashStar2016-08-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Best tech company in Portland"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CashStar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Sales growth, product and tech stack, real agile, engineering talent, compensation and benefits, culture, leadership

    Cons

    Typical crap - probably less than most places.

    Advice to Management

    Stay focused. Keep hiring good people. Get rid of slackers.

    CashStar2016-06-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Portland, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CashStar

    Pros

    Teams are small and engineers are empowered. There is very little overhead and a flat structure so teams can work quickly. Modern technology, progressive team, fun people, and in a great location.

    Cons

    I have no major concerns.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work building a great culture.

    CashStar2016-06-22
  7. "Seasonal Customer Care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at CashStar part-time

    Pros

    I loved the positive work environment. Workers are treated like adults. I was happy to go to work there. Feels like a company run with integrity.

    Cons

    I wish I could have worked there all year, not just seasonally.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing, you guys deserve success.

    CashStar2015-04-21
  8. "Fantastic growth opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CashStar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, top to bottom - everyone is extremely committed. Outstanding benefits and competitive compensation package. I started at CashStar with a wide variety of responsibilities, it being a start-up, but as we grew I moved into a position that I am truly passionate about. I was provided the opportunity to shape my own role at CashStar, and have a lot of room to grow.

    Cons

    Very few. Long hours, but when you're passionate about what you do, it's not a problem. Very flexible schedule - as long as you get your work done. We're outgrowing the office space, but have plans to move in the next several months. Growing pains, but we're slowly and effectively working through them.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. Hire great people, be transparent about the company, and continue to push us to do amazing, innovative things.

    CashStar2014-04-10
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, awesome people, innovative products!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CashStar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The rest of the engineering staff and myself are constantly facing technical challenges that push us to learn more about our field than ever envisioned. Having been here for 2 years, everyone feels like family, and that makes coming into work so much more fun. I work closely with some of the smartest people that I've met, which helps drive intelligent and productive conversations and product development. Everyone here...

    Show More

    Cons

    Small teams can sometimes be difficult for timely project success. Though tightly-knit and very productive, some projects teams constantly face large innovative work loads that are more appropriate for teams twice the size.

    CashStar2014-04-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company/team/market/location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CashStar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    CashStar is so obviously on the right side of a trend. Winning awards, setting revenue records and being named to Forbes, Inc. 500 and Best Places to Work lists keeps morale high. There is latitude internally to find and work on a project that really gets you excited. Bonuses/benefits are extremely generous. The office is fun and full of young go-getters (well-stocked kitchen and ping-pong table included). Clearly there...

    Show More

    Cons

    CashStar probably isn't growing the team as quickly as the work demands, and as a result some opportunity is being left on the table. That can be frustrating.

    Advice to Management

    Continue investing in product - as the market grows the field will probably be more competitive. Continue communicating well and being accessible for chats with all levels of employees.

    CashStar2014-04-02
Found 28 reviews