Cassels Brock & Blackwell Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Cassels Brock & Blackwell Reviews

Updated Aug 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Reputable Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Law Clerk in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Cassels Brock & Blackwell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Reputable law firm, opportunity for professional development, great people

    Cons

    Old technology, dated work environment, lacks leadership/mentorship by management

    Advice to Management

    Improvement leadership styles

    Cassels Brock & Blackwell2019-08-09
  2. "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Summer Student 

    I worked at Cassels Brock & Blackwell for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great team, great leadership, really takes care of the students

    Cons

    - None that I can think of.

    Cassels Brock & Blackwell2019-05-31
  3. "Great Office Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Legal Administrative Assistant in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cassels Brock & Blackwell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are the best part about this place. The office is run so well by management and they are always open to feedback or ways of making things better.

    Cons

    There isn't much emphasis on professional or personal growth and education.

    Cassels Brock & Blackwell2019-04-30
  4. "Partner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Cassels Brock & Blackwell full-time

    Pros

    Challenging work in a fast paced environment

    Cons

    Eat what you kill environment

    Advice to Management

    Be less short sighted and invest in talented people.

    Cassels Brock & Blackwell2019-04-14
  5. Helpful (3)

    "A toxic place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Cassels Brock & Blackwell full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some of the staff are great; a lot aren't.

    Cons

    HR is terrible. COO has an agenda of his own. Overall, a very unhappy and unhealthy place to work.

    Cassels Brock & Blackwell2018-03-28
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Typical law firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Cassels Brock & Blackwell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None, the work environment is so bad no amount of money or perks can counter it

    Cons

    Bad management, back stabbing, old timers have management year and they make life of new starts very difficult

    Advice to Management

    Do not listen to only one side of story, give people chance and time, ask straight up honest questions, do not beat around the bush

    Cassels Brock & Blackwell2018-03-06
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Replacement in Scarborough, ON

    I have been working at Cassels Brock & Blackwell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been at Cassels for over 3 months and find it a good place to work at. People are friendly and helpful.

    Cons

    Benefit plan can be more competitive.

    Cassels Brock & Blackwell2017-02-08
  8. "Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cassels Brock & Blackwell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    All pros, great place to work

    Cons

    Wish the space was a little more updated

    Cassels Brock & Blackwell2016-06-27
  9. "Associate lawyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I have been working at Cassels Brock & Blackwell

    Pros

    Friendly people, tons of support, great environment

    Cons

    Demanding clients, work on evenings and weekends

    Advice to Management

    You're doing a great job

    Cassels Brock & Blackwell2015-11-20
  10. "Associare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Cassels Brock & Blackwell full-time

    Pros

    Collegial, high-quality clients, entrepreneurial, supportive

    Cons

    Can be political at times

    Cassels Brock & Blackwell2015-08-10
Found 11 reviews