Castle Inspection Service Reviews | Glassdoor

Castle Inspection Service Reviews

Updated Nov 28, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
37%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Castle Inspection Service President Jeffrey Haniewich (no image)
Jeffrey Haniewich
7 Ratings
  1. "High value appraiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Anonymous Freelancer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Castle Inspection Service

    Pros

    Great company. They care about and completely back all of their sub contractors.

    Cons

    Unreliable steady income. However, you can make as much or as little as you would like.

    Continue reading
    Castle Inspection Service2018-11-29
  2. Helpful (2)

    "High Value Appraiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Castle Inspection Service

    Pros

    Make your own schedule, work for competitors.

    Cons

    Terrible business practices, low pay, same pay structure for nearly a decade. Not sure how it's legal about how they treat the contractors as though they're employees, without the benefits. Employment Development Department should be contacted to investigate this company, as they helped appraisers in CA obtain employee status and the company had to pay taxes on their services. That's exactly what is going on here.

    Continue reading
    Castle Inspection Service2017-10-24
  3. "High Value Appraiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Castle Inspection Service for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Make own schedule. Work independently.

    Cons

    Little to no management contact. Lack of communication. Low pay.

    Continue reading
    Castle Inspection Service2017-08-30
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Residential High Value Inspector"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Inspector in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Castle Inspection Service for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They Pay On Time. Helpful Supervisor

    Cons

    There was once a time when 95% of the work orders paid an average of $100 and the average report time was 1.5 hours including the field inspection and write up. Currently, and for the last several years, they've added a significant amount of "exterior only" inspections that pay an average of $35 and take the same amount of time of as a High Value/Interior Inspection. Several companies they've brought on require an enormous amount of demand, information, and questions geared toward liability aspects rather than Cost replacement, which is what the company was built on, rather than the tedious nature of liability concerns and a Ship load of questions. Knowing what the questions are to ask is another matter we wont express here(not good) Often, the reports take well over two hours to write up, sometimes 4-6, with no additional compensation. The $100 dollar inspections now consist of maybe 50% of the work load, while the others pay $65 and often as low as $35. Companies tend to want to change the form types just when you finally get used to the last one, and the new form type is always more time consuming and no compensation to learn it and difficult to fit into a routine. When you've worked all day filling out reports and in many cases still trying to figure out the latest change, who wants to read 75 pages at the end of the day on how to fill out the newest form? It use to be a fair work filled work week to make a $1000 per week. Now, to make a $1000 per week you will need to work at least 30% more, as long as work is available, they make sure and hire several others in your work area, just to make sure they meet client turnaround, which is understandable. They Never ask the inspectors, who are really the life blood of the company, how would we be happier with our jobs or what we think of this or that type of report. They treat us like robots and computers, really, as if there is no such thing as burn out and we are willing take on any task, no matter how it affects our compensation and livelihood.

    Continue reading
    Castle Inspection Service2017-09-11
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Castle is quickly falling to the bottom"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Field Inspector 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Castle Inspection Service for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Scheduling appointments on your schedule. Meeting nice people during inspections

    Cons

    Castle was recently purchased and the incoming company made no effort to notify the contractors that this was occurring. Immediately you saw a reduction in your pay, despite contracts that were signed giving you minimum amounts. They eliminated residential inspections even though they paid poor, you could fill in the gaps with those inspections. They claimed they were transitioning to an app on your phone, however nothing ever happened and those inspections and the supervisors that were over that were laid off. In the 10 plus years that I was with the company this last year has shown that the leadership does not care about those who are in the field and have first hand contact with the clients and insured. Without that help and positive reinforcement your client base will decrease and I am sure that you already have seen this. 10 years ago I could log in and have a large sum of local inspections both residential and commercial. Now I log in and 80% are out of the area and it is no longer feisible to travel the great lengths that they want for such small reimbursement. I did a check with some of the companies that I conduct business with to determine the difference in pay rates. Castle is between 25 and 32% less pay than the competition. As many have said the computer system is outdated and very slow. You constantly run into issues that are not requested on work sheets, but after you have already sent in the report a supervisor then comes back and asked you for additional information that was never requested because some underwriter did not put it in the worksheet. Currently they have requested more and more data on the diagrams that other companies do not require. Your paperwork has seen a great increase of time, but no reimbursement. Castle had been one of the more pleasant companies to work with in the past. When I compare 1 report versus 3 reports with the competition and factor in the cost difference it is very apparent that Castle is no longer profitable to continue to do work with this company. Also consider that you will never hear that you are doing a good job or hear anything positive from this company. Depending on your manager, you might be lucky to get a Christmas card once a year, nothing else.

    Continue reading
    Castle Inspection Service2017-08-16
  6. Helpful (3)

    "It was a great company to work for 10 years ago."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - High Value Insurance Appraiser in Midwest, WY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Castle Inspection Service for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Set your own schedule and work from home. They pay on time. Nothing else good about the company. I'm still there but only on a part time basis.

    Cons

    10 years ago this company was making some serious $$. I was averaging about 6k per month. Currently I am making about $800 per month. They continuously lose contracts. They need a new business model. They need a new sales team.

    Continue reading
    Castle Inspection Service2017-04-20
  7. Helpful (2)

    "It all depends on your manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Inspector in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Castle Inspection Service for more than a year

    Pros

    You have a lot of flexibility, can se some cool houses and your not stuck to a desk all day.

    Cons

    The compensation is pretty minimal and your experience will all depend on the manager your assigned.

    Castle Inspection Service2016-11-24
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Too Much Work Too Little Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - High Value Appraiser in Los Angeles, CA
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Castle Inspection Service for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Somewhat Flexible to set your own hours. But this point is null due to the time you must put in to make a decent income.

    Cons

    Wear and tear on your personal vehicle. Continuous Changes/Updates every week. I've been with company several Years. No raises in over 7 Years. However, work load requirements have literally increased an average of 25 to 30 percent for 90% of Insurance companies. One company in particular requires the time needed, and quite often more(no exaggeration), to do a full high value inspection, although it's an Exterior inspection only(no entry into the home) and requires 60% more details to gather, but pays less than 50% of what a high value inspection pays. Bottom line is over the years the work load has (no exaggeration) increased 25-30% essentially equaling to a 20%+ decrease in pay. Company never, ever asks our opinion about anything. Disrespectful of our time and need to make a decent living. The fun of the job is Gone. Insurance company desires are always 1st, regardless of how it affects contractors. Contractors Job satisfaction is absolutely of No Concern to Upper management. Absolutely No benefits. High mileage on Vehicle. The company website work platform is pathetic. Changes over the years has added on significant time to report writing; for example, what took one click, now can take 2-3 clicks, cant enlarge pictures within core anymore(unless you're using chrome), cant have several pages open at one time to double check information and consistency, etc.

    Continue reading
    Castle Inspection Service2016-05-07
  9. Helpful (3)

    "High Value Inspection"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    High Value Insurance Appraiser in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Castle Inspection Service for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I've been with this company for over 10 years and it used to be great. Flexible schedule, can be a fun job, and they pay on time. I don't know what else good to say.

    Cons

    Coasting on their past reputation while the company gets further behind. The direct management is supportive but upper management is clueless. The systems are 15 years old and inefficient. They are always asking for more but there has not been a pay increase in at least 5 years. This is a dead end job and a dead end company.

    Continue reading
    Castle Inspection Service2016-03-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "High Management Turn over"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Contract Inspector in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Castle Inspection Service

    Pros

    Very Little. They do pay on time.

    Cons

    I've had 5 managers in the last 3 years. QC needs to get their act together. I can send the same report into 3 different QC people and they all judge it differently. They try to override what you've seen.

    Continue reading
    Castle Inspection Service2016-01-30

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 20 reviews