CastleBranch Reviews | Glassdoor

CastleBranch Reviews

Updated April 12, 2017
94 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.2
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Brett Martin
48 Ratings

94 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Also, there's a game room with ping pong, skeeball, etc (in 17 reviews)

  • Gym, break room, food truck are all beneficial (in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • Most employees are very unhappy to be there due to low pay and the way they are treated (in 6 reviews)

  • They only hire you to slave you through peak season then let you go (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Collaborative Work Space"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great work culture- such a collaborative place. Gym, break room, food truck are all beneficial. CastleBranch has helped me build my career and have provided me with many opportunities to grow and learn.

    Cons

    Benefits are expensive for spouse and families. Communication is lacking but is getting better.

    Advice to Management

    Keep improving! CastleBranch has some great products coming together and I can't wait to be apart of it!

    CastleBranch Response

    Nov 14, 2016 – Director of HR

    Thanks for your feedback. I agree we still have room for improvement with communication. We are working diligently daily to improve our communication to all staff members. Please share your career ... More


  2. Helpful (5)

    "A Name, not a Number"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CastleBranch full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible schedule
    Great management
    Great benefits
    Pleasant environment

    I've read all of the reviews on glassdoor, and it seems like a lot of disgruntled employees complaining about things that are true of EVERY workplace. I have criticisms of my workplace, but overall they are a great place to work.
    There are a lot of employees here with disabilities, recovering addicts, and those who have had a lot of problems in their personal lives, that CB has gone above and beyond to accomodate in the workplace, help with their personal lives. Management goes out of their way to check on their employees who are dealing with difficult situations. They care about their employees as people, and that's rare.

    Cons

    Low pay for a high stress environment.
    Management is bad about contradicting themselves and each other, or making rules that they don't force everyone to follow. They engage in a lot of cliques.

    Advice to Management

    You really need to raise your pay. You have employees working full time or more who are living in poverty. At least 2 I know of are living in shelters, I can list a dozen who are coming to work hungry and not eating lunch when they are here because they don't have $2 to their names. I don't know if you realize but the average cost of rent and utilities in Wilmington is well over $1000, and your entry level employees are only making about $1400. I don't know how you expect them to pay for gas or childcare or groceries on so little.

    CB asks a LOT of the employees and its a very stressful environment with high requirements for workload. Most employees are too busy for breaks and have very little downtime. Employees have no motivation to meet the challenges they are given when the pay is so little. Plus, it's hard to focus on work when you haven't eaten all day. Not to mention the effect on one's health from the stress of it all.

    CastleBranch Response

    Apr 13, 2017 – Director of HR

    Thank you for the positive and also constructive feedback. We do take all feedback to heart and then look to see what and where we can make additional improvements. We are currently working on a ... More


  3. Helpful (13)

    "An Exemplary Tribute to Incompetence and Corporate Corruption"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CastleBranch full-time

    Pros

    Live at the beach! (Their main selling point to unsuspecting potential candidates)

    Cons

    - Involved in money laundering, offshore pornography
    - A facade for their real business, stealing tax money to launder through other ventures
    - Dysfunctional as an organization

    Advice to Management

    Go to jail.

    CastleBranch Response

    Mar 20, 2017 – Director of HR

    These accusations are false and clearly intended to cause harm to Castle Branch. Castle Branch is addressing this issue directly with GlassDoor. We have formally requested that GlassDoor remove ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Solid job, especially if you have no degree."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Experience Specialist in Wilmington, NC
    Current Employee - Student Experience Specialist in Wilmington, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CastleBranch full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great People
    Good management support
    Flexible hours
    CLOSED ON SATURDAYS!
    Extensive on the job training

    Cons

    Pay is low, but reasonable for experience required.

    As with all customer service, you occasionally get yelled at for circumstances outside of your control.

    CastleBranch Response

    Mar 16, 2017 – Director of HR

    Thank you for your review. Your feedback is very valuable. Training has been a major focus for us so that you are better equipped to handle the sometimes not so nice calls that come your way.


  6. Helpful (5)

    "Hmmm"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Wilmington, NC
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Wilmington, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CastleBranch full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fun Fast Pace Good People Games Food Music Festivities

    Cons

    Follow Through Communication Compensation Management Career Opportunities

    Advice to Management

    Follow you're own instructions that are provided

    CastleBranch Response

    Mar 20, 2017 – Director of HR

    Hello - I hope you can see through the new leadership the positive changes we are making by way of communication. As you have probably heard we are also working on a tiered approach to manage the ... More


  7. Helpful (3)

    "Love my job"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wilmington, NC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wilmington, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CastleBranch full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Benefits are great if it's just for yourself (medical,dental,vision, 401k)Sick time,PTO and paid holidays. Food trucks, gym, volunteer opportunites to help the community. I love how we are in "the loop" about where the company is going in the future, a lot of places do not do this and it makes you feel appreciated. My stress level has greatly reduced since I have started here! Even though I have money in the con section, overtime is offered during peak season and they really care that you make your 40 hours at least. I've never worked for a company that wanted you to hit that 40 hour mark (usually you got sent home before you came close).

    Cons

    Of course pay, but you are going to have that at any job. Money makes the world go around and we will never have enough money in life. It gets rough when you're not in peak season and start getting asked to leave early or stay at home the next day.

    Advice to Management

    I think you are doing great ! There will always be some negative people and things that can be improved, but it's all in how you approach your work.

    CastleBranch Response

    Mar 20, 2017 – Director of HR

    Thank you for your comments. Improving communication has been a goal over the past year - glad to see that you feel that you are "in the loop".


  8. Helpful (5)

    "Record Review Specialist"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Overworked with little pay and benefits

    CastleBranch Response

    Dec 8, 2016 – Director of HR

    I am very sorry you feel this way especially at this time of year. We are no longer in the midst of our peak season and in most areas of the business we are able to take a breath. This year we have ... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "A fun place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at CastleBranch full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits from health insurance and 401k to sponsored food days and paid sick time. Supportive coworkers, rotating food trucks, lots of volunteer opportunities and a modern work environment. Overall, a fun place to grow your career and you definitely get out of it, what you put into it.

    Cons

    As with any company experiencing growth like CB is, there are growing pains. Communication between teams especially in different buildings can be tough. There are long days during peak season.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the front line employees who have suggestions for improvement and follow through with commitments! Keep the momentum.

    CastleBranch Response

    Nov 3, 2016 – Director of HR

    Thanks for your feedback. Glad you are still enjoying our world after five years. We are excited about the growth even through the growing pains. With our new COO in place he will quickly tackle ... More


  10. "Progressive Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CastleBranch full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good Company to work for, workplace benefits are good, gym is free to employees with a variety of classes including yoga, TRX, barre. Recreation center includes ping pong, air hockey, foosball, and bean bag chairs. There is a variety of benefits to choose from after 90 days, including Health, Dental, 401K, STD, LTD, Life insurance. Culture is good, company and the employees give back to the community through many efforts, summers include surf and paddleboard outings. Many other benefits, including brewery, TED Talk Tuesdays.

    Cons

    Benefits are good but not great, could be better, 401K matching would be nice. Health insurance is expensive if you have to carry your spouse, children, or whole family.

    Advice to Management

    Just keep doing what you are doing, have an open door policy to all employees.

    CastleBranch Response

    Nov 3, 2016 – Director of HR

    We appreciate your comments. Glad you are enjoying the full benefit package that we offer. We do look at the match portion of 401(k) each and every year and evaluate if we will increase what we ... More


  11. Helpful (2)

    "Getting Better Everyday"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CastleBranch full-time

    Pros

    Culture is the big thing here. Co-workers are, for the most part, amazing. You get out of it what you put into it. If you are friendly and actually get to know the folks that work here, you will be pleasantly surprised.

    There's a gym on site and employees can utilize it at no cost. Also, there's a game room with ping pong, skeeball, etc. Very hip if you are into that kind of thing. Food trucks also show up on a regular basis. There was one based here, Vittles, but they vanished.

    Most of management is flexible with your work hours or situations going on in your life. They are typically willing to work with you should the need arise. Work/Life balance is an important thing here.

    The company's future roadmap has basically just been shown to the staff. For a long time, the base staff had no clue where we were headed; heck, some of the management team didn't know where we were headed. There have been some very positive changes in leadership lately and I think the high level execs are coming to their senses. More info and more plans are being shared with the troops. In the past it was all very secretive, but now they are opening up. Not sure what prompted it, but it is welcome change.

    CB supports the community thought various volunteer and charity organizations. We work with the Brigade Boys and Girls Club, WARM, SHARE, and so on. Just recently, there was a huge outpouring of food and clothing to flood victims in here in Eastern NC. Every year, we do a 'stuff the backpack' campaign to provide needy kids with school supplies. I love the help and support we provide as a company to our community.

    Paid maternity/paternity leave. That's right...paid...for mothers AND fathers. Crazy right? It's so European and progressive. So unlike North Carolina. Major bright spot here.

    On a political note, CB took a public stance against HB2. If you are not familiar, HB2 is a NC state law that is basically government sanctioned bigotry. NC is so homophobic it's scary. So homophobic they passed a law marginalizing the LGBT community. CB did the right thing and stood up against it.

    Very friendly workplace for any culture. There are all types of folks here; LGBT, all kinds of religions and views, you name it. Racially, everyone is cool, too. In all my years here, I have only heard of one incident involving race and it was handled very well. Not really going to see any sexism as well. Very open and friendly for all race, genders, viewpoints, etc.

    Overall, the company is headed in a good direction.

    Cons

    Communication is still an issue here. I mentioned above that it is getting better. It has a long way to go. I am a huge advocate for transparency, especially in business. Free flow of information is key in our business. We struggle with that.

    The CEO, Brett Martin, is a bit of bag of hot air. Just earlier this year, he gave a speech at an event where he stressed that higher paying jobs are needed in the area. Yet, his company starts folks out at $10 while they serve beer to everyone for free on the top floor (called Tek Mountain). I know for a fact that there are many employees working here who get aide from the state. Don't get me wrong. I respect the fact that he started this company (which he did not do alone, he had a lot of help.) However, he is completely out of touch with what is really going on. But, hey, he's rich so that's all that matters.

    Speaking of Tek Mountain: It's a great idea, but I think overall it diverts attention away from CastleBranch's core business. If you are not familiar, Tek Mountain is an incubator accelerator for start-ups. It's the trendiest, hippest thing since peanut butter. I don't have many positive things to say about it, because no one knows what is being produced there. Kind of goes back to the communication thing. Those of us that work in CB proper only know what we hear from others third hand. Tek Mountain occupies the third floor of the main building. It has come to symbolize elitism and socio-economic disparity within our organization. I'm not sure that the company's top leadership realize just how much the base staff resents it and how much they look down on the top floor. Just because you read about something in a trendy tech mag doesn't mean that you can yourself pull off such a venture.

    The pay. Just going to be real with you. It's not the greatest and they refuse to budge. I already mentioned the embarrassing speech given by the CEO regarding pay. Not much more to say about it. It needs to change. Period.

    Advice to Management

    Changes in leadership have been welcome. Some hard decisions were made this year and you stuck by them. Most of it has paid off. Keep going. I have worked here for some time now and I see a light that wasn't always there. Keep sharing your vision with the staff. We all matter and we all want to contribute. You are wrong if you think we don't care; we do. We want to see you win.

    Tek Mountain has got to be de-mystified. I get it, it might be a different separate company all together but it's part of the CB campus (like it or not) and it will always be as long as it shares property. What's more important? The new trendy start-up stealer or the core business that got you where you are today? Make the call. That's all I'm saying.

    CastleBranch Response

    Nov 2, 2016 – Director of HR

    Thank you for submitting a review. Your comments are encouraging and show where we have room for continued growth. We are working incredibly hard on transparency - thank you for recognizing the ... More


Showing 94 of 94 reviews
Reset Filters