Catalent Pharma "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Catalent Pharma Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Oct 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
52%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Catalent Pharma CEO John R. Chiminski
John R. Chiminski
328 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Excellent Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Somerset, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Catalent Pharma full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Good Work Life Balance -Flexible work location - Management is easily accessible - good internal opportunities to diversify career goals

    Cons

    -still a current employee - so none that stands out

    Catalent Pharma2017-12-28
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Fast paced work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Scientist 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Catalent Pharma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced and never a dull moment. One can gain vast experience in various fields.

    Cons

    Work life balance need improvement. Opportunity for management to encourage the culture of respecting and training workforce.

    Advice to Management

    Management should pay more attention to in-depth planning; pay attention to employees viewpoint as well

    Catalent Pharma2019-10-20
  3. "Took Good Care of Me After Injury"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Control Associate in Bloomington, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Catalent Pharma full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    After I sustained an injury that left me unable to work for months, they did everything they could to help me.

    Cons

    Communication between departments is often lacking, and work-life balance is often sub par.

    Advice to Management

    Realize that happy employees means happy clients.

    Catalent Pharma2019-06-25
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Revenue driven"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Catalent Pharma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    19 days of sick leave/vacation time

    Cons

    They pretend to care about work/life balance and then pressure you into working long hours and coming in every weekend

    Advice to Management

    Your employees have personal lives that do not involve the work place. Be more respectful of their time.

    Catalent Pharma2019-02-18
  5. Helpful (2)

    "No Worklife Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Proposal Lead in Phila, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Catalent Pharma full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nothing good from this company!

    Cons

    The worse work life balance. They want you to work like a dog constant OT because they don’t know how to manager their workload and projects. Working from home is frowned upon. They don’t care about you or you’re safety when they make you stay during inclement weather. Very micromanaged like you are a child in school. Not a team atmosphere. Worse thing I did was leave JNJ where the culture is so ideal to this small... close minded company. If you have a wife and kids please consider another company. Benefits are not great and neither is the salary. I’m some cases you don’t even get a bonus.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Provide better culture and work and family balance. Or hire more people. Your employees should not have to work 60 hrs a week on a salary. People don’t work well when stress. Take a look at how other companies prove work life balance. This change needs to come from the top. Give your company a new definition of work life balance.

    Catalent Pharma2019-02-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Mgr."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bloomington, IN
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Catalent Pharma full-time

    Pros

    Smart team that will go the extra mile.

    Cons

    Work life balance. Benefits are not good compared to biopharm. Operations not supported enough.

    Advice to Management

    Need to spend more on salaries to keep top talent. Need more groups on 24 x 7.

    Catalent Pharma2019-01-09
  7. Helpful (2)

    "No Time For Personal Life (this is for Bloomington location, Inspection, 2nd Shift)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Secondary Manufacturing Inspection in Bloomington, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Catalent Pharma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of work hours Overtime pay

    Cons

    There is no work life balance. Overtime all the time. The Overtime schedule is constantly changed. Management doesn't give a reasonable heads up to over time or over time schedule which will mess with your sleep cycle (making focus much harder.) as well as personal life. There's a lot of things going on behind closed doors in terms of changes and management. Management plays heavy favoritism and likes to push blame... on others. Entire company has poor communication skills

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop keeping things a secret, be up front with your employees, actually listen to your employees, stop changing schedules last minute, and have better communication between different departments as well as with the employees.

    Catalent Pharma2019-01-06
  8. Helpful (10)

    "I regret working there and trusting them. Long hours!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance in Bloomington, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Catalent Pharma full-time

    Pros

    Mostly good people trying to make a difference. There are a lot of opportunities to improve the business

    Cons

    I found there to be little to no work life balance. A normal week for me was over 60 hours. Accounting close / forecast week was well in excess of 80 hours for me. Some days the team was required to work 16 hours or more. I worked almost every weekend. I felt like it was always the company first. I felt like employees were expendable resources to meet short term goals.

    Advice to Management

    I recommend doing whatever it takes to allow employees to have a moderate work life balance. I recommend extending the accounting close and forecast timelines to allow more time for thorough analysis and work. This will also reduce the number of hours that is required during close week. I recommend setting limits on how long employees are required to work. No one should be required to consistently work well... past midnight during close week.

    Show More
    Catalent Pharma2018-12-28
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Not a great work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Biomanufacturing Associate in Madison, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Catalent Pharma for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent benefits, career development opportunities

    Cons

    Bad work/life balance (overtime culture), reminded me of high school, little recognition

    Advice to Management

    Slow down and promote a culture of friendliness and sanity, not stress, overtime and unrealistic goals

    Catalent Pharma2018-12-05
  10. "Needs Improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Manager in Morrisville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Catalent Pharma for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to learn a ton of stuff since they are so understaffed most of the time, everyone has to do everything.

    Cons

    Extremely poor work/life balance. Subpar pay and benefits.

    Advice to Management

    Need complete management overhaul to improve culture and engagement.

    Catalent Pharma2018-08-23
Found 54 reviews