Catalina Express Reviews | Glassdoor

Catalina Express Reviews

Updated Apr 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Greg Bombard
11 Ratings
  1. "Vessel Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vessel Engineer in San Pedro, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Catalina Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working on High Speed boats with the Best Engineers was a Great Experience and I still keep in touch with tgem!

    Cons

    I did not feel chalkenfed working there and moved on with my talents and gifts.

    Advice to Management

    The management is okay but lacks in leadership skills and hiring selection. Although my time was short it was still a good exoerience nothing I would regret!

    Catalina Express2017-07-10
  2. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Boat Crew in Long Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Catalina Express full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Good hours during peak season -Good pay with overtime opportunities -Flexibility with shifts -Great opportunity to learn on larger vessels

    Cons

    -Inconsistent scheduling due to the decrease in passengers during the winter months

    Catalina Express2019-04-19
  3. "It is a great company and everyone loves it.. But the Call Center."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Catalina Express part-time

    Pros

    Training is the best training I’ve had thus far and everyone is extremely nice and super helpful! It’s not a competition here. Everyone wants you to succeed. The hours are really good as well. For call center agents, they do not give less than 26 hours a week which is great because i’ve had places that didn’t care if you had 8 hours a week. The pay is pretty good too. At $14.25/hr, it really pays the bills.

    Cons

    *For Call Center Agents Only* They give you a lot of hours which is great but it’s not flexible AT ALL. They blame it on the system they use (which could be true but who’s to know) but say you have a second job or you can’t be out late or you have a kid to take care of with no babysitter at a certain time, “because the system” they cannot cater to your needs which, to say the least, can be extremely annoying. Especially...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If it is the system, update the system. We have lives and bills. Give us a trial with the phones. A set amount of rules and a 1-2 week trial. Let us show you we’re capable of being as amazing as we are.

    Catalina Express2018-11-16
  4. "Call center agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Call Center Agent in Long Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Catalina Express part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free trips to Catalina Island

    Cons

    Too much pressure to force people to make reservations

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on quality customer service. It was too stressful trying to force 40-60% of your calls to make reservations

    Catalina Express2018-03-07
  5. "Administration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Catalina Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Job safety is almost forever guaranteed once in

    Cons

    Can't get promoted far, only small departments

    Catalina Express2017-07-06
  6. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Catalina Express full-time

    Pros

    Nice people. Always free trips.

    Cons

    Doesn't pay enough for cost of living.

    Catalina Express2017-02-11
  7. "Good first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ticketing Agent in Long Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Catalina Express part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The jobs are very easy to handle. This is a great place to work if it's your first job. Schedules are flexible and there is a great work environment.

    Cons

    No real opportunity for advancement. The management team in large part has been here since the start of the company, or for many years at the least, so there is very very little turn over. Nepotism is also pretty rampant.

    Advice to Management

    If a low paid replaceable workforce is what you desire, then continue doing what you're doing. If want a quality team, then you need to take a look at wages.

    Catalina Express2016-09-08
  8. "Reservation Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reservation Agent in Long Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Catalina Express

    Pros

    Fun company to work for. Pleasant customers.

    Cons

    This job was just seasonal.

    Advice to Management

    none

    Catalina Express2015-08-27
  9. "steward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cabin Attendant in Long Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Catalina Express part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Best flexibility great company...lot of choices in shifts and ports

    Cons

    seniorty can take a long time to earn.

    Advice to Management

    spread the work out more evenly, otherwise great! my boss is awesome compared to all other departments

    Catalina Express2015-08-09
  10. "Cross Channel Express"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Catalina Express full-time

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule, good balance of life

    Cons

    busiest part of year is summer so very seasonal for most people

    Catalina Express2015-06-29
Found 14 reviews