Catalyst Paper Reviews | Glassdoor

Catalyst Paper Reviews

Updated October 19, 2016
25 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.4
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Catalyst Paper President and CEO Joe Nemeth
Joe Nemeth
8 Ratings

25 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

  1. Featured Review

    "Innovation, environmental sustainability, customer service"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, BC (Canada)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, BC (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Excellent customer service and order management teams, dedicated to long term customer partnerships. Very strong leadership team, driving operational excellence and increased productivity with a focus on safety and the environment. Lots of opportunity to be innovative - and in fact rewarded for innovation and creativity. Not afraid to evolve - change is a positive experience, always opportunities to get involved in making improvements.

    Cons

    Nothing major that I can think of, other than lack of cafes, restaurants in the Richmond HQ area

    Catalyst Paper Response

    Mar 29, 2016 – Director, Talent

    Thanks for the great feedback!


  2. "Lots of interesting challenges."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Supervisor in Powell River, BC (Canada)
    Former Employee - Maintenance Supervisor in Powell River, BC (Canada)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Catalyst Paper (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Busy place with many challenges and opportunities for improvement. A great place to build your experiences. Has been a great place to work in prior years.

    Cons

    High expectations and minimal resources. Limited advancement. Cost cutting that is not sustainable resulting in poor equipment maintenance practices. Short term thinking characterizes many decisions.

    Advice to Management

    Take steps to cut politics at middle management levels and improve resource allocation around a balanced score driven criteria rather than permitting islanded mentalities amongst stakeholders. Allow star players to develop by mentoring others and reward good track records with advancement and opportunities to develop.

    Catalyst Paper Response

    Oct 24, 2016 – Director, Talent

    Thanks for taking the time to review your experience working at Catalyst, your comments help us to build a better future for our company.


  3. "Catalyst Paper Corp"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    The people who work there are great. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. The compensation is generally more than at other companies for the same role.

    Cons

    Since they laid off a lot of people a few years ago, the workloads of the remaining employees has increased and everyone seems overworked. The company moral also seems to be low since the downsizing

    Catalyst Paper Response

    Oct 24, 2016 – Director, Talent

    Thanks for the review... We really do appreciate your comments - and yes, I agree, we have the best people working here!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Challenging industry"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Crofton, BC (Canada)
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Crofton, BC (Canada)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Catalyst Paper full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Lots of work variety and opportunity to learn and grow

    Cons

    Poor overall morale since 2012 negotiations
    Uncertain future with financial challenges

    Advice to Management

    Value your people so they get engaged


  6. "Exceed your expectations"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, BC (Canada)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, BC (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Catalyst Paper full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Entrepreneurial, innovative, good people who care about making the company better, flat hierarchy, a sustainability leader, great leadership. North American presence (Can & US operations) with interesting internal and external organizational relationships.

    Cons

    Some growth pains (and also opportunities) from recent doubling in size. Bit of a hike to coffee/food, and traffic can be challenging. Challenging sector.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on listening to employees with experience, especially those with "soft" skills.


  7. "Exceed your expectations"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, BC (Canada)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, BC (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Catalyst Paper full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Entrepreneurial, innovative, great people without big egos who care about improving, sustainability leader, flat hierarchy, lots of learning opportunities at a growing company.

    Cons

    Recent doubling in size means some growth pains (but also some opportunities). Challenging sector and market turbulence.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on listening to experienced employees, including the ones with the "soft" skills.


  8. "Catalyst Opportunities"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Catalyst Paper full-time

    Pros

    Catalyst fully supports employee development and career growth and provides many methods and opportunities to challenge us in our future.

    Cons

    There are many changes and initiates before us which are all very positive steps in the right direction. With this comes very dedicated focus and time to ensure successful implementations.

    Advice to Management

    If you are a strong leader who is open to growth and challenges, you would be a great member for our team.

    Catalyst Paper Response

    Apr 7, 2016 – Director, Talent

    Grateful for the feedback - thank you!


  9. "Operations Management"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Management in Biron, WI
    Current Employee - Operations Management in Biron, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Catalyst Paper full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Catalyst is a progressive company that strikes a solid balance between managing the daily operations and exploring new opportunities to ensure the success of our business over the long-term.

    Cons

    The markets Catalyst currently serves are very challenging due to the declining demand for our products. Change is necessary for the business to survive. This has created an environment that is very dynamic. For folks seeking stability in their day-to-day activities, find another option.

    Advice to Management

    You have the opportunity to be part of building a future for your community, spread the word!

    Catalyst Paper Response

    Apr 7, 2016 – Director, Talent

    Thanks for the positive feedback!


  10. "Good, forward-thinking management"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Catalyst Paper full-time

    Pros

    The management is great and forward thinking. They're on the right track to diversify products and remain relevant. Competitive pay and benefits. Good opportunity for advancement.

    Cons

    Occasionally, there can be conflicting priorities between departments that can slow the growth of progress. But those are usually resolved in a timely fashion.

    Catalyst Paper Response

    Apr 6, 2016 – Director, Talent

    Thanks for the feedback!


  11. "It's been a great career"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior V/P Sales & Marketing in Richmond, BC (Canada)
    Current Employee - Senior V/P Sales & Marketing in Richmond, BC (Canada)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Catalyst Paper full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Catalyst and its predecessor companies always gave me a chance to prove myself, excel and advance within the organization.
    I was always given the latitude to make decisions appropriate for my position and while I made some mistakes along the way, none were tragic and the company has always supported me.

    Cons

    No cons for the company as we have an energetic yet seasoned leadership team. The only downside is that most segments of our paper business are in a state of steady decline, primarily due to migration to the digital world. However this can be an exciting challenge as well since the company is actively looking to stem these declines by moving into alternative streams of revenue using our existing assets. This is very exciting and we have a core group of employees dedicated to this New Product Development ( NPD)endeavor.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course. We are on the right track.

    Catalyst Paper Response

    Mar 29, 2016 – Director, Talent

    Appreciate the feedback - yes, lots of innovation in new product development, exciting times!



Showing 25 of 25 reviews
Reset Filters