Catapult Systems Reviews

Updated Apr 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
83%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Catapult Systems President and CEO Terri Burmeister
Terri Burmeister
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "Remote work policy allows excellent work / life balance(in 26 reviews)

  • "Great people to work with, remote worker opportunities(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The 401K match could definitely be better(in 8 reviews)

  • "Bonus structure needs to be evaluated(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Catapult is by far my favorite place to work

      Apr 19, 2021 - Senior Account Executive in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people at Catapult are so friendly and they truly create a fantastic culture

      Cons

      No downsides in my opinion

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Catapult is a Chinese Company

      Apr 19, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This company is part of a $1B Chinese firm! That creates a lot of potential. There are still some good people here. Many are trying pretty hard.

      Cons

      Unfortunately, this place is slowly circling the drain. Right now, any number of companies could be a better experience. Take a look at where the ex-CEO went for example. That company is growing like crazy, providing huge opportunity. Catapult is by comparison, has become a simple grind. Quarter over quarter flatness. And that grind is rolling up to a billion dollar Chinese company who's fortunes are tied inextricably to Huawei. They are not good guys. Read the news. Make the connections. I am not sure why customers in the US in particular would engage with Catapult. I am a proud American. I think many employees at Catapult, including the Executive team are as well. So, I am not sure why so many employees of this Texas based company still work there. Especially over the last few years as the Chinese direction of operations has grown.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Catapult Systems Response

      Chief People Officer

      For the past few days, it’s been difficult determining how we should respond to this type of feedback. It’s disappointing that anyone would have this perception of Catapult, and it’s counter to what we strive to be and the hard work that our employees put in every day. While I personally disagree with most of what was written, there are points here that deserve a conversation if even one person feels this way. Unfortunately, anything productive that could be gleaned from this feedback is overshadowed by the unnecessary geopolitical, xenophobic tone presented. Our employees and customers know who we are, and we are transparent in that – as we’ve always been. We stand by our reputation of the past 28 years, and it’s futile to engage in a debate about something that, in my opinion, is a misinformed representation of Catapult and our parent company, Chinasoft. I welcome an open dialogue with the provider of this feedback or any of our employees that may have questions or personal perspectives on these topics. My direct line is 512.225.6910. -Liam Collopy Chief People Officer, Proud American, and U.S. Marine

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Catapult + Culture - 100%

      Apr 14, 2021 - Senior Account Executive in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Catapult has a wonderful culture!

      Cons

      Not many growth opportunities within.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Very poor management, bad executive decisions

      Dec 19, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Remote work is good Benefits are acceptable

      Cons

      Management is either nonexistent or micromanaging. No in-between. Lots of political BS. Some managers think they are more important than they are. Bonus structure encourages poor life/work balance Executives make horrible decisions like cutting everyone's pay when there are cash reserves available and sufficient to get through economic difficulties. This was made worse when the company quarterly report showed near 7 figure *profits* for the quarter.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Catapult Systems Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience while at Catapult. There's certainly a lot to digest here, but we are always open to candid dialogue on how we can improve employee and client experience. As an executive of this company, I can assure you that no financial or organizational decisions are made without considering the impact it will have on our employees, and there are always many factors to consider when making these decisions. 2020 has been an unprecedented year, and while we did institute a reduction in pay to help us manage uncertainty through the summer months of this pandemic, we were able to reinstate 100% of those pay reductions within 3 ½ months. It was an amazing team effort that demonstrated the character of our employees and provided us the confidence we needed to keep our teams and the level of service that our customers are accustomed to intact during this crisis. Regarding your feedback on our org structure, management and executive leadership, I’m happy to discuss your perceptions and any ideas that you may have. You can reach me at 512.225.6910. -Liam Collopy

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good Company, Great People

      Mar 17, 2021 - Managing Consultant in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Almost everyone is extremely proficient and helpful Management really cares about employees

      Cons

      Growth (employee count and profitability) has been stagnant for many years

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Diversity and Inclusion are a big issue in the Managed Services Dept

      Mar 5, 2021 - Senior Consultant in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The other departments are great

      Cons

      I didn’t write this review for quite some time in fear of retaliation, but since so many of the key players are still at the company, I feel the need to share my experience at Catapult Systems so any BIPOCs will take my experience into consideration, and so the company will consider making changes. I worked in the managed services department for a couple of years. To be fair, the other departments always seemed great, but my experience was quite different. As one of a very few women on the managed services team, I asked the head of people how we could focus on diversifying the team, and he told me there was nothing he could do. During my 1:1 with the head of the department, he was more concerned with my marital status than my career aspirations and insisted several times that I add my significant other to my emergency contact list. He asked if we were ever going to get married since we had a child. It was incredibly awkward and none of his business. While searching to add another team member, my team lead told me that she did not need another black assertive woman on the team, therefore a black female candidate would not be considered. I had proof in writing, and they did not fire her. The head of the department also told everyone involved to never speak of the incident or they would be fired. There were many occasions when hiring managers would not consider candidates because they didn’t “seem like a good culture fit.” Interestingly enough, these candidates were usually women and/or people of color. I was told that I could not be considered for a promotion and/or the annual raise because I was not back from my maternity leave for long enough, even though I had proven myself to the company many times. I was also told that there was a policy against being promoted more than once in a year, even though I saw male colleagues make their way up the rank. To be clear, this company is not all bad. They do have some really good qualities, and I truly hope things are better, but they are in DESPERATE need of a diversity and inclusion officer. Some of the male managers have no clue how to interact with women. The managed services team needs D&I training up and down the chain and needs to be held accountable.

      4 people found this review helpful

      Catapult Systems Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for taking the time to provide this valuable feedback regarding your experience during your time here at Catapult. While our leadership team attempts to always be fair, thorough and objective in assessing and coaching employee relationships when challenging situations arise, there is always room for us to learn and be better. Catapult has always taken pride in our hiring practices and being a diverse organization. We hire and promote people from all walks of life, social and economic backgrounds, and ethnicities – and women make up a considerable percentage of our leadership and functional teams across the company. We realize that we still have work to do, but through our Diversity and Inclusion Committee and required employee diversity/sensitivity training, we keep that concept of a diverse and balanced workforce at the forefront of our daily operations. I’d welcome a conversation with you should you have ideas on how we could be doing things differently, especially since each individual’s perceptions of our company is their own reality. My direct line is 512.225.6910. Liam Collopy Chief People Officer

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Exciting times

      Mar 9, 2021 - Vice President in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Retained everyone during the tough Covid pandemic times, when other companies were cutting back.

      Cons

      nothing I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      They claim to care about their employees, but sadly no.

      Apr 13, 2021 - Software Architect in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They seem like a friendly environment and care for you as a person.

      Cons

      Never felt like I belong there.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Catapult Systems Response

      Chief People Officer

      I'm sorry to hear that this was your experience while at Catapult. Our culture is built on being a place of inclusion - where people feel that they belong and are part of the team. It appears that we may have missed the mark in your situation. I would appreciate any feedback or suggestions you may have on how we can be better. You can reach me directly at 512.225.6910. -Liam Collopy

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Flexibility

      Mar 17, 2021 - Senior Project Manager in Laguna Niguel, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great flexibility and work/life balance

      Cons

      They don't have much of a training budget for employees; it's become a blame game environment

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Culture

      Jan 20, 2021 - Managing Consultant in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Smart, energized and collaborative work force

      Cons

      Small company feel (could be a plus or minus depending on preference)

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 164 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Catapult Systems Job Seekers

    Senior Infrastructure Specialist
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Catapult Systems? Share Your Experiences

    Catapult Systems logo
    or