Caterpillar Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Caterpillar Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Caterpillar CEO Jim Umpleby (no image)
Jim Umpleby
498 Ratings
  1. "Can't say enough good things"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional EHS Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Caterpillar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Caterpillar is an amazing organization. It is beyond fulfilling to be a part of a company that has such an impact on the shape of the world as we see it - from excavation equipment, to being essential in mining operations, to the transport of commerce on the vast network of rail lines across multiple countries. They treat one another with respect and it is a truly collaborative environment.

    Cons

    Redundant positions can actually create a lack of work. For employees who are extremely motivated this can lead to boredom and a lack of fulfillment.

    Caterpillar2019-10-17
  2. "A great opportunity to build experience and network with industry leaders."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Global Manager of Recruitment Solutions in Peoria, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Caterpillar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very helpful for teaching new skills and allowing individuals to try out new challenges.

    Cons

    Very large organization makes it hard to find the appropriate contact. Onboarding was a little lax.

    Continue reading
    Caterpillar2019-09-23
  3. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Supply Chain 

    I have been working at Caterpillar full-time

    Pros

    Great working environment, perfect mentorship

    Cons

    Cant think of anything wrong

    Caterpillar2019-09-22
  4. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Six Sigma Black Belt in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Caterpillar full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    This company is an extremely employee friendly company

    Cons

    Length of time to get things changed

    Caterpillar2019-09-12
  5. "Great Company and Compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Caterpillar full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great upward mobility and compensation

    Cons

    Needs to modernize their approach to people and talent

    Caterpillar2019-08-04

    Caterpillar Response

    August 20, 2019Caterpillar

    Thank you for your continued commitment to the enterprise as a member of our team. As we continue to grow and evolve as a company our strategies to create a successful work environment driven by our people do as well. Feedback like yours, will help us as we move forward.

    Continue reading
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Analyst in Peoria, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Caterpillar full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits. Relaxed and casual work environment.

    Cons

    Male dominated industry with majority of jobs in engineering.

    Caterpillar2019-08-01
  7. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Caterpillar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company does their best to keep up with evolving work patterns like work life balances. Company provides excellent benefits and 401K. If you are willing to work hard and innovate with your own role, there will be plenty of room for advancement down the road for you.

    Cons

    Onboarding could easily last up to 6 months if you are completely new to a role [and its function within the internal and external customers

    Caterpillar2019-07-31
  8. "So far so great!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Caterpillar

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to advance Good pay Safety is #1 Associate appreciation

    Cons

    Training is a bit lacking Sometimes it's difficult to track down equipment

    Continue reading
    Caterpillar2019-07-19
  9. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Parts Records Clerk in Morton, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Caterpillar part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and insurance. Salary is better than most other companies in the surrounding Peoria area. Promotes growth of employees from within.

    Cons

    Lay-offs. When employees are up for salary review, sometimes supervisors hault an employee's ability to move up the sliding scale of their pay grade because of internal politics. They don't always value an employee's experience within the company when said former employee returns to the company and feel comfortable underpaying them and or not utilizing advancement/growth opportunities.

    Continue reading
    Caterpillar2019-07-18
  10. "Engineering Development Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Caterpillar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice meeting on the phone and asked technical questions that pertain to the position.

    Cons

    Waiting for a response for more than 2 months.

    Continue reading
    Caterpillar2019-07-16
Found 3555 reviews