Catherines "credit cards" Reviews | Glassdoor

Catherines Employee Reviews about "credit cards"

Updated Jun 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
55%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Catherines CEO  David Jaffe
David Jaffe
18 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great customers and co-workers are what made the job fun(in 13 reviews)

  • "Employee Discount, Up Beat environment, friendly staff and customers, Very consider of employees health and physical well being(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "low pay, low hours, push credit cards(in 14 reviews)

  • "Little corporate direction, low pay(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "credit cards"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Need more hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Catherines part-time

    Pros

    Friendly management and customers in the store

    Cons

    Always being pushed to set up credit card accounts, no room for growth, less than 15 hours a week, little pay

    Continue reading
    Catherines2019-06-01
  2. "Low pay/hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associaate in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Catherines part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Small store, small stock, kind customers, nice team work, train you onsight

    Cons

    low pay, low hours, push credit cards

    Continue reading
    Catherines2019-03-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Struggling Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Sales Manager in Houston, TX
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Catherines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Customers are a pleasure to work with

    Cons

    High pressure to get customers to open credit cards. Very little positive feedback from management.

    Continue reading
    Catherines2018-12-22
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Only working for a discount"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part Time Sales Lead 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Catherines part-time

    Pros

    Discount can be used at Catherine's and all of the Ascena brand stores; I got to know a lot of my customers and built friendships.

    Cons

    Not enough hours, pay is terrible. Having to push credit cards and perks is just horrible when your clientele is mostly loyal and ALREADY has the perks and cards. Then you get in trouble from management for not getting enough each week. There is no decent reward system other than the points system....you have to have a certain amount of credits and perks to earn points, and points get you gifts such as gift cards, etc...which the company ends up TAXING you on at the end of the year. So, the reward is actually something you PAID for and is therefore not an incentive at all.

    Continue reading
    Catherines2018-03-16
  5. "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Catherines part-time

    Pros

    Break, time to go home, and some customers.

    Cons

    Poor management lately. First mgr was great, hrs great at first. Credit cards suck, perks ok.

    Catherines2018-02-14
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Catherines full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are very good. Vacation time is higher than most retail

    Cons

    Low end of pay scale. Pushed to get people to sign up for credit cards

    Continue reading
    Catherines2017-10-13
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Part Time Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Catherines part-time

    Pros

    Great discount! Working with customers was rewarding and kept the job interesting with all the different personalities. Other employees and immediate supervisor were great to work with. We had a reward system called Ace reward in which we received points when meeting goals. Points were exchanged for products and gift cards.

    Cons

    Terrible pay. Had credit card and Perk sales goals to meet every shift. Sometimes felt like the credit was more important than the customer. Felt underappreciated from upper management. Voice was not heard.

    Continue reading
    Catherines2017-09-27
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Formerly Employed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in San Diego, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Catherines part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours Work around your school schedule Employee Rewards Employee Discount Awesome team to work with Management and team were all professional

    Cons

    Strict on credit card sign ups when mostly everyone is a return customer and has it Not enough hours, barely (5 a week) ; understood this wasn't managements fault corporate approved hours to each store

    Continue reading
    Catherines2017-07-12
  9. "Catherine's Keyholder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Keyholder in Slidell, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Catherines for less than a year

    Pros

    Quick advancement in company, great customers, quiet environment

    Cons

    Sell credit cards, constantly worrying about numbers, not enough hours

    Continue reading
    Catherines2017-02-08
  10. "Run For Your Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Catherines part-time

    Pros

    I truly enjoyed my co-workers (most of them) and my customers.

    Cons

    Where can I begin. It was a low volume store. The manager did nothing. The assistant manager offered extra discounts to get customers to sign up for the credit cards that this company loves so much, and was rewarded for her cheating. The manager and district manager were notified. Proof was presented, and nothing happened. Both middle management and upper management turned a blind eye. The clothes are old and out dated, and not cut to flatter a plus size figure. The company is failing so badly, that they had to do a corporate wide hour cut which left alot of people really hurting. Stick to Lane Bryant. Catherines is the bottom of the barrel. I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy.

    Continue reading
    Catherines2015-06-11

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 14 reviews