Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Newark Reviews | Glassdoor

Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Newark Reviews

Updated Aug 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Newark CEO John Westervelt
John Westervelt
2 Ratings
  1. "Transformative Immigration Services Internship Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Undergraduate Legal Intern in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Newark for less than a year

    Pros

    Incredibly supportive and unbelievably knowledgeable team of staff attorneys that lead the charge on many dynamic defenses of immigrants and detainees seeking asylum or facing deportation. Flexible work schedule for interns. Fast-paced work in a laid back environment -- especially nice were the team lunches where the attorneys discussed possible cases/defenses and humored interns for input to develop problem-solving...

    Show More

    Cons

    Tough to leverage good internship performance to into potential job offer.

    Advice to Management

    Keep fighting the good fight!

    Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Newark2014-04-29
  2. "Fulfilling place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Newark full-time

    Pros

    Felt good to help clients in need Great Coworkers

    Cons

    Office was small, location Occasional difficult client Salary

    Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Newark2019-08-07
  3. "Great work being done"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Newark full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great opportunity to help people and learn.

    Cons

    No advancement opportunities and salary increases.

    Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Newark2018-08-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Mental Health Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mental Health Worker in Newark, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Newark full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Vacation time is great, flexibility, client interaction.

    Cons

    Never give raises, very low salary, staff are not supported, appreciated or acknowledged for hard work. Low staff moral. No time to complete clinical needs after outreaches.

    Advice to Management

    Show staff appreciation, encourage employees, recommend pay annual pay raise

    Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Newark2018-03-21
  5. Helpful (1)

    "horrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Case Manager in Union City, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Newark full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    ABSOLUTELY NONE. NOTHING. NADA.

    Cons

    I worked at the union city location. They're absolutely horrible. The manager is biased, rude, and insulting. One day she'll be nice then the next she's a she-devil fidel castro reincarnate. I quit simply because of her, and HR is a joke. They basically laughed in my face with my concerns. The pay is horrible. Like the lowest they're legally allowed to pay you.

    Advice to Management

    quit

    Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Newark2018-01-10

    Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Newark Response

    February 19, 2018Marketing Associate

    I believe you have the wrong Catholic Charities agency. We are Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Galveston-Houston located in the Houston, Texas area. The agency that you're referring to is in New Jersey.

  6. "Good as a starter job but nothing else."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Newark full-time

    Pros

    Flexible with work scheduling, understanding if you are in school and/or have children, great mental health experience due to all the different roles and agencies used on a daily basis.

    Cons

    HIGHLY UNDER PAID AND UNDER APPRECIATED BY MANAGEMENT.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to value and compensate your good employees and you won'y continuously lose them.

    Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Newark2017-11-12
  7. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Lakewood, NJ
    Recommends

    I worked at Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Newark for more than a year

    Pros

    flexibility, exposed to broad range of departments/programs to work in.

    Cons

    Low pay, Lack of resources.

    Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Newark2017-10-09
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Case Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newark, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Newark full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Newark supervisor is the best.. You will learn so much from Ms. Patel.. I became a better worker and person working with her and her guidance.. She deserves better than this company.. The only pro is feeling valued but it’s only when you work in Newark with Ms. Patel and Mrs. Grimm.

    Cons

    Low salary, the assistant director devalues you as a human being.. You are just an employee not a person.. No raises they don’t know your worth but that’s catholic charities corporate.. they use you when they need you because you are just another # on their roster.. You will have to learn on your own and even that is a waist of time since doing your job is not relevant because of the lack of value from Corperate.. No...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Liz appreciate your staff, they work hard becuase they love helping people but treating them like a number will result in more employees to quit or stop caring since corporate stopped to care.. Stop being clueless and let someone else that enjoys the field work in your position.. you can tell you are burned out

    Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Newark2017-10-11
  9. "Case Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Newark full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not a bad place to work if you like helping people. But you have to be able to live off of a very small salary.

    Cons

    There are no raises, at all. I got my master's degree and they wouldn't even pay me the master's rate which is like a dollar more.

    Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Newark2017-05-13
  10. "Computer technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Technician in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Newark full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy going people. Will not bug you while working on big projects on site locations. You will gain a bunch of experience here working on all sorts of technology solutions because the team is so small you get to do a bunch of different things. You will slowly be able to see the impact of the things that you accomplish and how that helps people around the agency. Great benefits laid back atmosphere

    Cons

    No room for advancement. You are the IT person. If you don't get the job done. Upper management will know and hear about it. Small team is also a negative in that they could use more experienced people to really truly get the place into the 21st century Most users don't know anything about computers so you will get stupid silly questions daily. Really crappy internet makes things difficult to manage

    Advice to Management

    Invest in fiber and eventually cloud services

    Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Newark2016-06-28
Found 12 reviews