Catholic Health Services of Long Island Reviews | Glassdoor

Catholic Health Services of Long Island Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 156 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Alan D. Guerci, MD
29 Ratings
  1. "Worst Job ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in West Islip, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Catholic Health Services of Long Island full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Benefits as long as you use Catholic Health Service entities.

    Cons

    Stressful, management didn't have a clue what goes on in their own department. Good sick pay but penalized for using it.

    Advice to Management

    pay attention to what's going on in department. Learn what the people under you actually do.

    Catholic Health Services of Long Island2018-03-29
  2. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Catholic Health Services of Long Island full-time

      Pros

      The staff is nice to work with.

      Cons

      Inadequate resources in terms of staff, space, and technology

      Catholic Health Services of Long Island2018-03-08
    • "Mixed Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Catholic Health Services of Long Island part-time

      Pros

      Definitely great co-workers, good team to work together with.

      Cons

      Management seemed out of touch and behind on the times. Much of the equipment and systems in place were far outdated, inefficient, and wasted employees' time and energy.

      Catholic Health Services of Long Island2017-12-22
    • "Clerk"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Data Entry Clerk in Smithtown, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Catholic Health Services of Long Island full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Welcoming caring helpfull accomidating imformation

      Cons

      Short staff short staff short staffshort staff short staff

      Advice to Management

      Love the hospital but need to hire more reliable workers more staff avaiable for every shift axillary staff helps

      Catholic Health Services of Long Island2017-11-15
    • "rn"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Staff RN 

      I have been working at Catholic Health Services of Long Island full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      in general the people are nice

      Cons

      in general i didnt find bad things

      Catholic Health Services of Long Island2017-11-07
    • "Good Samaritan Hospital"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Catholic Health Services of Long Island full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      I enjoy the work I perform.

      Cons

      A lot of employees are very clicky and not very friendly to other employees.

      Advice to Management

      Do your job better.

      Catholic Health Services of Long Island2017-11-13
    • Helpful (1)

      "Administration"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Catholic Health Services of Long Island full-time

      Pros

      Good health benefits & vacation time

      Cons

      Processes are antiquated. New ideas are essentially forbidden. Non executives are treated like children

      Advice to Management

      Advance processes for greater efficiency. Stop playing power games among each other and put the business first

      Catholic Health Services of Long Island2017-10-16
    • "Busy hospital"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Catholic Health Services of Long Island part-time

      Pros

      Friendly staff, easy parking, convenient location

      Cons

      Needs to work on efficiency, closing gaps in patient care delivery

      Advice to Management

      Become more organizes

      Catholic Health Services of Long Island2017-10-15
    • "Social worker"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Port Jefferson, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Catholic Health Services of Long Island full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Good staff, close net hospital , good location , small Population, good team , increasing population of diverse patients, good coworkers , good food

      Cons

      Poor management , hostile work environment, poor moral, poor compensation , micro management, no room for advancement , poor understanding and workings of departments

      Advice to Management

      Needs professional supervisors , that understand and advocate for there staff that are honest. Better compensation and appreciation for workers and staff

      Catholic Health Services of Long Island2017-10-13
    • Helpful (8)

      "don't stay too long"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Clerical Support in Roslyn, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Catholic Health Services of Long Island full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Team work environment, nice coworkers (usually), Good Health Insurance Benefits, Dental, Vacation Days, Sick Pay, Some holidays off. Tuition reimbursement is up to $7,000 per year, for non managers. Owe 12 months after date of last class.

      Cons

      People worship bureaucracy, the lowest person on the "Totem pole", or office pecking order is usually a scapegoat. Human Resources is given no power to help employees who are being harassed by their bosses. People can be forced out rather quickly if someone wants. They are understaffed, underpaid, and minimum salaries are not discussed. I called H.R. to ask a question once and I was screamed at? I stated I didn't' want...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      LISTEN to your employees! Don't just have a meeting, then say "OK, we heard you", and then do the same thing over again. Meaningful change takes time, and a team effort. PLEASE, give new managers professional training on HOW to BE a manger: not just following or "shadowing" someone who has been given those classes. Invest in your people, and you may be able to retain them. Thank you.

      Catholic Health Services of Long Island2017-08-29
    Found 156 reviews