Catholic Medical Mission Board Reviews | Glassdoor

Catholic Medical Mission Board Reviews

Updated Dec 21, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Bruce Wilkinson
15 Ratings
  1. "Great mission focused on maternal child health and small, family friendly workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at Catholic Medical Mission Board full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very family friendly, encourages work-life balance (their mission is maternal child health after all) with very generous time off including Catholic holidays, vacation leave, sick days, personal leave, and public holidays, not to mention option for occasional remote work for many staff. Small size allows all staff to assume different roles and new experiences if interested in doing so. Very mission-driven organization,...

    Show More

    Cons

    Wall Street location is a commuting inconvenience to some, although the Manhattan location is a pro in other ways (e.g. networking events). Some benefits If career advancement is important to you, you may find opportunities limited due to small size of org (most people here are in it for the mission).

    Advice to Management

    Staffing and change management initiatives need to be communicated and rolled out better and in a timely manner to affected staff and stakeholders.

    Catholic Medical Mission Board2018-11-01
  2. Helpful (1)

    "So much potential."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Partnerships in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Catholic Medical Mission Board full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great mission. Very ambitious and miraculously saw some good growth.

    Cons

    Managers did not know how to manage. Very disorganized and there was very little trust and communication among senior management. Very political and WAY too much turn over; almost 20 people in my short time, and since leaving there have been many others. Keep in mind there were only about 35 in our NYC headquarters. Those who have been there a long time weren't of much help.

    Advice to Management

    Recruit LEADERS into leadership. Thank your employees and create a genuine culture of caring for one another.

    Catholic Medical Mission Board2018-12-21
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Mission-driven team working towards a healthier world for women and children"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Catholic Medical Mission Board full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are driven by their desire to serve women and children living in poverty, spirit of entrepreneurship, leaders care for staff professionally and personally, , opportunities to visit programs, lean and efficient, opportunity to grow (I began my journey as an intern and have been given many opportunities to grow since then)

    Cons

    We work really hard but the work is fulfilling and the people are supportive and kind, in recruiting we need to ensure the people we are choosing are the right fit

    Advice to Management

    Continue forging new partnerships and initiatives for growth

    Catholic Medical Mission Board2018-10-22
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Very unusual place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Catholic Medical Mission Board

    Pros

    Some lovely and very friendly people.

    Cons

    Very unusual leadership style and strange dynamics. The innovation-strategy-comms team is unorganized, does not work with a plan and changes direction frequently. Very high turnover. Bloated salaries for the senior executive level. Some highly questionable relationships. Overly target oriented and seemed dishonest in fundraising approach. They were raising donations to hit the funding target for causes that are...

    Show More
    Catholic Medical Mission Board2018-10-12
  5. Helpful (7)

    "extremely high turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Catholic Medical Mission Board full-time

    Pros

    A mission that really drives the organization

    Cons

    Management doesnt trust their employees to do the job they were hired for

    Advice to Management

    status quo isn't good enough

    Catholic Medical Mission Board2018-01-03
  6. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Catholic Medical Mission Board part-time

    Pros

    My time at CMMB has been wonderful. Interns are given important tasks and their work is valued to not only your team but the organization as a whole.

    Cons

    I really cannot think of anything I would change

    Catholic Medical Mission Board2017-12-13
  7. "Strategy & Innovation Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Innovation Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Catholic Medical Mission Board part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My favorite part about being apart of CMMB is their positive, supportive environment. You will find that a majority of the employees are very down to earth, friendly and willing to help you out when needed. Your supervisors and teammates are willing to work with you to accommodate your needs, I felt appreciated knowing that my comfortability was a priority to them. Another aspect that I favored was how much room you...

    Show More

    Cons

    I can honestly say that I did not experience any downsides while working at CMMB. It was such a pleasant experience and I truly have nothing to complain about.

    Catholic Medical Mission Board2017-01-19
  8. "Highly accountable NGO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Catholic Medical Mission Board

      Pros

      Fantastic mission, highly accountable "boots on the ground" approach; great team of people working together on new initiatives. Reasonably innovative leadership willing to try new things.

      Cons

      New roles being filled take a long time and this delays progress on existing projects; some decisions take a long time. Overworked staff.

      Advice to Management

      keep the passion of your staff ignited and focused by making faster progress on smaller initiatives, even if there is delay from board members on the larger related issues.

      Catholic Medical Mission Board2017-01-18
    • "Inspiring work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Catholic Medical Mission Board full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - inspiring vision and mission - amazing work in the field - great professionals and beautiful team work

      Cons

      - not enough room to grow - great to have more diversity on the board and leadership - recruitment process needs to be improved to prevent high turnover

      Advice to Management

      - to increase the presence of executive members - increase communications between teams

      Catholic Medical Mission Board2016-12-24
    • Helpful (7)

      "A perfect case study for all things that goes wrong in an organization"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Catholic Medical Mission Board full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - The office is closed during Christmas week - Flexible working arrangement - The staff at the Long Island City warehouse are lovely and get the job done

      Cons

      A very weak and not professional leader leads to a shaky financial situation. 3 years after implementing the new program, they still can articulate and show results of the program. For an organization that claims love and respect as their values, they treat its employee very poorly. The management fired highly experienced and professional staff all the time so that their inexperienced close-knit can still have...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Board members should speak with staff so that they have a better understanding in terms of what's actually happening in the office and in the field. Replace the leader with an experienced, high performing and committed individual who can also fundraise for the organization to ensure financial stability. Replace inexperienced leaders with those who have solid skills, experience, and professionalism.

      Catholic Medical Mission Board2016-12-20
    Found 21 reviews