KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Catholic Medical Mission Board

Is this your company?

Catholic Medical Mission Board

Add a Review

Catholic Medical Mission Board Reviews

Updated Sep 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 of over 34 reviews

3.6
65%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Catholic Medical Mission Board President and CEO Mary Beth Powers (no image)
Mary Beth Powers
1 Rating
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    intern

    Jan 13, 2021 - Intern 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, good working environment

    Cons

    no real cons, good place

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great Place to Work

    Sep 7, 2021 - Major Gifts Officer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    4-Star Charity Navigator Engaged staff Life-saving mission

    Cons

    Staff turnover is periodically high Not well known despite being more than 100 years old

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Questionable ethics and grossly overpaid, ineffective CEO

    Dec 5, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Potential to do much good through the faith-based health systems in countries where they work, if there were a strong vision and will to add value.

    Cons

    The CEO doesn't care--and hired a group of unqualified personal friends or people with whom he has previous relationships to leadership roles for which they are totally not fit. He fires people left and right if they disagree or dare to strive for actual accountability or impact or vision. Sickening to see the total lack of commitment and work ethic from the leader--and the nepotism, backstabbing, dirty politics in what is supposed to be an NGO built on Catholic values. Self serving CEO gathering a wildly over-inflated salary while barely working.

    5 people found this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    So much potential.

    Dec 21, 2018 - Partnerships in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great mission. Very ambitious and miraculously saw some good growth.

    Cons

    Managers did not know how to manage. Very disorganized and there was very little trust and communication among senior management. Very political and WAY too much turn over; almost 20 people in my short time, and since leaving there have been many others. Keep in mind there were only about 35 in our NYC headquarters. Those who have been there a long time weren't of much help.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great mission focused on maternal child health and small, family friendly workplace

    Nov 1, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very family friendly, encourages work-life balance (their mission is maternal child health after all) with very generous time off including Catholic holidays, vacation leave, sick days, personal leave, and public holidays, not to mention option for occasional remote work for many staff. Small size allows all staff to assume different roles and new experiences if interested in doing so. Very mission-driven organization, which permeates throughout departments and locations, moreso than most in this sector in my opinion. Although a Catholic FBO, it has a very diverse workforce including many women and minorities in top leadership positions and is data-driven (it was founded by a New York doctor a century ago who lost his wife and child to disease).

    Cons

    Wall Street location is a commuting inconvenience to some, although the Manhattan location is a pro in other ways (e.g. networking events). Some benefits If career advancement is important to you, you may find opportunities limited due to small size of org (most people here are in it for the mission).

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Mission-driven team working towards a healthier world for women and children

    Oct 22, 2018 - Specialist in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People are driven by their desire to serve women and children living in poverty, spirit of entrepreneurship, leaders care for staff professionally and personally, , opportunities to visit programs, lean and efficient, opportunity to grow (I began my journey as an intern and have been given many opportunities to grow since then)

    Cons

    We work really hard but the work is fulfilling and the people are supportive and kind, in recruiting we need to ensure the people we are choosing are the right fit

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Very unusual place to work

    Oct 12, 2018 -  in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some lovely and very friendly people.

    Cons

    Very unusual leadership style and strange dynamics. The innovation-strategy-comms team is unorganized, does not work with a plan and changes direction frequently. Very high turnover. Bloated salaries for the senior executive level. Some highly questionable relationships. Overly target oriented and seemed dishonest in fundraising approach. They were raising donations to hit the funding target for causes that are not part of the mandate. Also not honest about the job requirements and later disclosed parts of the job that changed the role drastically.

    7 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee

    extremely high turnover

    Jan 2, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A mission that really drives the organization

    Cons

    Management doesnt trust their employees to do the job they were hired for

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Intern

    Dec 13, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My time at CMMB has been wonderful. Interns are given important tasks and their work is valued to not only your team but the organization as a whole.

    Cons

    I really cannot think of anything I would change

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Strategy & Innovation Team

    Jan 19, 2017 - Innovation Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My favorite part about being apart of CMMB is their positive, supportive environment. You will find that a majority of the employees are very down to earth, friendly and willing to help you out when needed. Your supervisors and teammates are willing to work with you to accommodate your needs, I felt appreciated knowing that my comfortability was a priority to them. Another aspect that I favored was how much room you have to grow. You're given enough freedom to express your creativity within your assigned projects. Also, the office has such a great location in the financial district. It's close to plenty of public transportation and great places to eat. It was a joy to come to work everyday. You will feel cared for and there's plenty of opportunities to showcase your abilities that you have to offer the organization. It was a pleasure to be apart of CMMB, they are really working hard to improve the lives of those in poverty.

    Cons

    I can honestly say that I did not experience any downsides while working at CMMB. It was such a pleasant experience and I truly have nothing to complain about.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 24 Reviews

Work at Catholic Medical Mission Board? Share Your Experiences

Catholic Medical Mission Board logo
or