Cato Assistant Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Cato Assistant Manager Reviews

Updated 22 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
55%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Cato CEO John P. Derham Cato
John P. Derham Cato
31 Ratings
  1. "Positive, uplifting, inspiring! Helped me grow as a person in and out of work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Hammond, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cato part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast-paced, positive, Cato family, helps you build yourself and sets you in the right direction.

    Cons

    Time consuming considering a lot of the employees tend to be college students, so always having to fill in for others.

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring college students unless it's obvious they want to work.

    Cato2019-08-28
  2. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager in Snellville, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cato part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice and clam job... Love the atmosphere

    Cons

    No benefits unless full time

    Cato2019-10-23
  3. "Perfect for starting out managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Vincennes, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cato full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy job with ample training

    Cons

    Hourly pay wasnt the best

    Advice to Management

    None

    Cato2019-10-07
  4. "It’s alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 

    I have been working at Cato part-time

    Pros

    Friends and opportunity in advancement

    Cons

    Corporate and rude customers often

    Cato2019-09-19
  5. "Watch your manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - First Assistant Manager in Fremont, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cato part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The customers are the best

    Cons

    Upper management needs more training

    Advice to Management

    Talk to your employees before you fire them and let them know what is going on, and help with the problem instead of firing them and trying to forcing them to sign a resignation letter.

    Cato2019-10-04
  6. "potential to move up with hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - First Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cato full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I love my coworkers like family. It helps to have a really supportive team.

    Cons

    Working a lot of weekends.

    Cato2019-08-16
  7. "Great time if working with people you like."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - First Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cato full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Full time, benefits, community within your store and stores around you. Lot of return customers that you can create relationships with.

    Cons

    Can be overwhelming because a lot of the store are understaffed and managers are left to do everything. The higher ups in the company can be two faced but a lot are very nice and whiling to help. Systems are old and outdated, takes up alot of time doing excess end of the day and monthly paper work which modern company do not have to deal with. Which is another thing that managers have to take time to do.

    Advice to Management

    Update the computer systems so it can be online, like all modern business. I have never worked at a place where they where still using the same operating systems from early 2000s

    Cato2019-08-14
  8. "Assistant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Montgomery, AL
    Recommends

    I have been working at Cato full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Meeting new people and marking their experience an experience you never forget

    Cons

    I do not have any cons

    Cato2019-07-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Environment, Poor Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - First Assistant Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cato full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment to work in. Lovely customers (most of the time), steady pace, easy but stimulating tasks, fun people to work with, decent upper management.

    Cons

    Very poor pay. Benefits do not kick in until you meet the company “age minimum”. Most benefits have been taken from all part timers. Bonuses are not frequent or consistent. Employee discount is unimpressive.

    Advice to Management

    Consider how to retain the talent that comes into your work place and what you can do to benefit them and encourage them to stay. The rollover in your company is entirely too high, even for retail.

    Cato2019-07-30
  10. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Second Assistant Manager in Pontotoc, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cato part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Love the environment Easy to excel in the business

    Cons

    There are no cons working here

    Cato2019-07-07
Found 120 reviews