Cato Corporate Reviews | Glassdoor

Cato Corporate Reviews

Updated Jun 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

1.8
1%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Cato CEO John P. Derham Cato
John P. Derham Cato
4 Ratings
  1. "fashion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Corporate Travel Agent in Bastrop, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cato part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You learn more as u work there

    Cons

    You dont experience as much as u would in a star fashion store

    Advice to Management

    I can be very good helpful nd very hard workin

    Cato2015-05-17
  2. "Could be a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cato full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Discount, benefits, co-workers, stability, free parking

    Cons

    CEO micromanages, salary is not competitive, no flexibility in hours, no working from home, moral bad.

    Cato2019-06-24
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Can 0 Stars Be An Option?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cato full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There’s some great people that will live in hell with you working here

    Cons

    If they did a study, I bet this company would rank as one of the worst companies to work for in Charlotte. Cato is sinking and the CEO is too stubborn to do anything about it. Stores are closing left and right and the turnover is unlike anything I’ve seen before. The company also just recently had a huge lawsuit filed against them for discrimination and for some bizarre reason they STILL haven’t learned their lesson.... I experienced discrimination first hand here and know women who have lists written out of all of the inappropriate things that have been said to them over their course of working for Cato. HR is useless and only cares about upper management. Prepare to spend 40+ hours a week in absolute misery. And if you’re on the lower end of the totem pole, be prepared to take the blame for everything, including decisions that were made in your department before you even started with the company. It’s an insult how little you are paid for the amount of work asked if you. And for some crazy reason upper management wonders why SO many people leave to work for Belk. They’re so bitter about it that they escort you out it you give your notice and say you’re going to work for them. If my review didn’t make it clear enough already, my advice to whoever is reading this... RUN. Run as fast as your legs will let you. I sure wish I had.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    95% of upper management needs to be fired. If there’s a chance in hell of this joke of a company making it, they need to clean house... starting with the CEO himself.

    Cato2019-06-06
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Cato Corporation Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Corporate Associate in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cato for less than a year

    Pros

    good as a entry level job

    Cons

    Upper Management does not value associates, slow to promote qualified associates and amount of work load given is not reflected in pay, high turnover rate.

    Advice to Management

    Value associates at all levels, increase pay and equally distribute work among associates.

    Cato2016-08-25
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Terrible job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cato full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone leaves at 5 PM. Mass exodus that is almost comical.

    Cons

    Horrible upper management, old school, no innovation. Very clustered groups of upper management who play favorites. Gossip is encouraged. Random vacation days when the CEO is on safari or whatever. I suspected they were not documented but could never say anything.

    Advice to Management

    Impossible when the top guy is the problem.

    Cato2015-12-01
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Run. Fast. Horribly toxic and gossip ridden environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cato full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay was good.That's it.

    Cons

    Full of back stabbing, lazy upper management vying for the CEO's favor-at anything and anyone's cost. The most useless admin staff I have ever seen just collecting a check and gossiping. You can expect to see the entire first floor dressed like hookers in the companies clothing line and 5-6 inch heels-Yuck!

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the entire counter productive upper management team. Read Malcolm Gladwell's book "Blink", the chapter about Warren Harding and catch a freaking clue! He's there-reincarnated!

    Cato2014-08-12
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Most unhappy place I've ever worked..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Management in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cato full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are very few, other than the fact that most people made a beeline for the door at 4:59.

    Cons

    Horrible corporate morale than starts at the top and works its way down. Backstabbing, no room for growth, low pay and pitiful PTO.

    Advice to Management

    Management is living in the dark ages. Laying off or demoting employees because of the constant backstabbing is horrific at best. I would never recommend anyone join this company. HR is a joke.

    Cato2012-12-28
Found 7 reviews