Cato Institute Reviews | Glassdoor

Cato Institute Reviews

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 59 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
John A. Allison
20 Ratings
Pros
  • "There were daily opportunities to learn from expert scholars and to get to know incredibly talented coworkers; the work was interesting(in 15 reviews)

  • "If you lean libertarian in your politics, this is the place to be(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Your workload is heavily dependent on your scholar(in 5 reviews)

  • "I have no cons related to working for Cato(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work in DC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Intern in Washington, DC

    I worked at Cato Institute for less than a year

    Pros

    Great learning opportunities Opportunity to do hands on work Great staff

    Cons

    The dress code was very formal

    Cato Institute2019-08-22
  2. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Intern 

    I have been working at Cato Institute for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Work environment and flexible

    Cons

    Great Internship program, no cons

    Cato Institute2019-08-03
  3. "Great Summer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Research Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cato Institute for less than a year

    Pros

    -Work with top policy experts -Great benefits for a DC internship

    Cons

    -For interns, there are none that I can think of

    Cato Institute2019-04-30
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing nonprofit to kickstart your policy career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Research Assistant 
    Recommends

    I worked at Cato Institute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Prestigious institution with many connections, relaxed working hours and a fun office environment.

    Cons

    The pay, being a nonprofit, and there is not much upward mobility if you do not have a graduate degree.

    Cato Institute2019-02-27
  5. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Intern 

    I worked at Cato Institute for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff, company has great impact, amazing culture, incredible benefits and perks for employees

    Cons

    Very few, hard to find large drawbacks

    Cato Institute2019-02-16
  6. "Great atmosphere/limited growth potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cato Institute full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, flexible hours, nice offices

    Cons

    Low pay, limited growth potential, some manager micromanage too much

    Advice to Management

    Invest more in your full-time non policy staff.

    Cato Institute2018-11-07
  7. "Part Time Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Cato Institute

    Pros

    Paid Internship cushy office with a gym and coffee

    Cons

    Annoying tasks that interns have to do

    Cato Institute2018-10-25
  8. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cato Institute

    Pros

    Strong sense of community! Cato wants everyone in the organization to grow and succeed.

    Cons

    Depending on the department you're in, interns can easily be forgotten about. You just have to keep asking for work.

    Cato Institute2018-10-10
  9. "Trade Policy Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trade Policy 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cato Institute for less than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers Amazing office Good location Fantastic learning opportunity

    Cons

    Little Flexibility in terms of work hours Stipend is only 1000 a month Can feel occasionally stifling if you aren't a dedicated libertarian

    Cato Institute2018-10-14
  10. "Fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cato Institute for less than a year

    Pros

    Tons of work (in a good way) and fantastic experience.

    Cons

    DC parking is awful but it's metro accessible.

    Cato Institute2018-08-28
Found 59 reviews