Cato Research Reviews | Glassdoor

Cato Research Reviews

Updated Sep 14, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Cato Research CEO Allen Cato (no image)
Allen Cato
7 Ratings
  1. "Great Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cato Research full-time

    Pros

    Very much enjoyed supporting both the CEO and President. They were a joy to work with.

    Cons

    Seemed to be some employees that gossip, I don't care for that.

    Advice to Management

    Replace employees that like to cause drama.

    Cato Research2018-09-14
  2. "Project Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cato Research full-time

    Pros

    Excellent training opportunities. Great place to jumpstart a career in clinical research.

    Cons

    The pay is way below market.

    Cato Research2018-08-24
  3. "Collegial atmosphere, disjointed management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cato Research full-time

    Pros

    Highly collaborative and supportive coworkers Compassionate leadership that cares about employees

    Cons

    Management too involved with projects to effectively manage Disfunctional, outdated systems

    Advice to Management

    Leave the projects to project teams.

    Cato Research2018-05-12
  4. "Regulatory Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cato Research full-time

    Pros

    Ideal place to get a strong foundation in regulatory affairs or other areas dealing with drug submissions.

    Cons

    Pay is too low and very little room for career expansion unless willing to stay for 5 years or more.

    Advice to Management

    Management is very good (very smart), but the low pay is demoralizing.

    Cato Research2017-02-28
  5. "Project Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cato Research full-time

    Pros

    Great place to learn about the industry Team members are wonderful individuals Each person, no matter their title, treats you like a valued member of the company

    Cons

    Essentially, one of the only things lacking about this company is the lack of funds (or will?) to offer a competitive salary A lot of grumbling when an employee leaves (for a higher salary) - should learn from this in order to maintain retention

    Cato Research2016-10-25
  6. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cato Research

    Pros

    Excellent benefits for Cato employees

    Cons

    Great opportunities, tends to have more employees that are earlier in their career

    Cato Research2016-08-09
  7. "Fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Cato Research full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance at times. Great education. Cato values each employee. Upper management is some of the best.

    Cons

    Salary even for a fellowship was very low. Retirement contribution is not always given. Computers are old.

    Advice to Management

    Up the salary and vacation so that there will be higher morale. Great company with a few tweaks.

    Cato Research2015-05-27
  8. "Employee retention"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cato Research

    Pros

    Work-life balance, still many wonderful employees who are a pleasure to work with.

    Cons

    Salaries are way under industry standards. Training used to be good, but training is now sparse and it is now more difficult to get external training opportunities approved. Software is outdated. Lots of employee turnover.

    Advice to Management

    Employee retention should be more of a focus.

    Cato Research2015-01-20
  9. Helpful (4)

    "It was ok...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Durham, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cato Research full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    When I worked at Cato, it was my first professional job. Everyone had their own office and the schedule was flexible.

    Cons

    The pay was horrible! At one point they even cut our salaries and asked people to work less hours. Promotions were only given to the "favorites". My department in particular was small and it was hard to get along with a certain someone who had basically been there since the beginning and always got their way. There weren't any bonuses and the training could use an overhaul.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more $$$ to retain your employees. Allow for more training opportunities. We are not in the 90s anymore. Upgrade your systems!

    Cato Research2014-05-31
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Very friendly and positive work environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cato Research full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team-oriented. Friendly and intelligent peolple to work with. Flexible hours and schedule sto accomodate a good work/life balance.

    Cons

    The biggest negative to Cato Research is their extremely low pay for this market. They attempt to offset this by allowing for quicker advancement and more broad opportunities; however, the pay gap is way too large to compensate for these incentives.

    Advice to Management

    Setting below market salaries to compensate for greater flexibility/experience is okay; but not at the drastic degree Cato has chosen.

    Cato Research2014-01-17
Found 17 reviews