Cato Retail Sales Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

Cato Retail Sales Associate Reviews

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
2%
Recommend to a Friend
Cato CEO John P. Derham Cato
John P. Derham Cato
0 Ratings
  1. "Great Work Environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Russellville, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cato part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I loved my coworkers and the work was fun. My boss was wonderful and supportive. She worked really well with my hectic schedule It was a great place to work!

    Cons

    The pay is very low and the work is very fast paced. The store I worked in was incredibly organised but I know some store were not and I am sure it was dreadful.

    Continue reading
    Cato2017-10-14
  2. "Just a place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Georgetown, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cato part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The best thing about working for Cato's It's Fashion Metro store was the team I worked with. I had flexible hours and a great support team. customers are great and the discount helps!

    Cons

    The pay is minimal, even for management. The weekly SUNDAY markdown process is ridiculous and always understaffed. Raises are about $.05 to $.10 a year (maybe) and split between staff members!!

    Continue reading
    Cato2019-10-18
  3. "Store Manager is awesome, but Cato as a whole does not value their employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Inverness, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cato part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Store manager at my location is amazing. She tries to work with everyone's schedules as much as possible. She leads by example. Best boss I've ever had.

    Cons

    Pay is terrible. Cato Corporation refuses to hire full-time employees unless they are management. Raises are few and far between and when they do happen, they are pitiful (insulting, actually).

    Continue reading
    Cato2017-05-02
  4. "Not worth the time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Retail Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Cato

    Pros

    Laid back work atmosphere with nice coworkers and management.

    Cons

    Hours were never consistent. Clothing wasn't very trendy, therefor harder to sell to customers. Secret shop was 'nerve wracking'.

    Cato2016-05-18
  5. "Cato"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cato part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with a good team in the store.

    Cons

    Company team members were not as "in the loop" as the current employees. There was a major disconnect between company and store workers

    Continue reading
    Cato2015-09-18
  6. "I believe the job is more suited as a first time job or for a high school student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Albemarle, NC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cato part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It works around my college schedule and the other associates are nice.

    Cons

    I'm not working enough hours to pay for my bills.

    Continue reading
    Cato2015-07-06
  7. "Easy but sad due to how middle-age to older women dislike their body now a days."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cato part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This job is really simple and does not require much thinking. Plus if you are a shopper you get to see the latest styles. You really feel like part of a family.

    Cons

    Clearance and a lot of thieving. Moving up is nearly impossible and may even take years. Not a very popular for the younger generations so not much traffic so you will have very dry spells.

    Continue reading
    Cato2015-05-01
Found 7 reviews