Cato Sales Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

Cato Sales Associate Reviews

Updated 6 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
9%
Recommend to a Friend
9%
Approve of CEO
Cato CEO John P. Derham Cato
John P. Derham Cato
30 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Greenville, SC

    I worked at Cato full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People and Management are great.

    Cons

    I can't really cite one.

    Cato2019-10-30
  2. "Just a place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Georgetown, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cato part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The best thing about working for Cato's It's Fashion Metro store was the team I worked with. I had flexible hours and a great support team. customers are great and the discount helps!

    Cons

    The pay is minimal, even for management. The weekly SUNDAY markdown process is ridiculous and always understaffed. Raises are about $.05 to $.10 a year (maybe) and split between staff members!!

    Continue reading
    Cato2019-10-18
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "cato"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Chillicothe, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cato part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great work environment! management is fantastic.

    Cons

    not that many hours, that’s the only downfall.

    Cato2019-10-10
  5. "Unprofessional mannerisms"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Cato part-time

    Pros

    Get the latest fashion trends. Discounts.

    Cons

    Management of particular location was very unprofessional, bringing personal life to work.

    Continue reading
    Cato2019-10-24
  6. "Horrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cato part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Just love working with customers there.

    Cons

    low pay, management disrespectful, horrible schedule no family life.

    Cato2019-11-07
  7. "simple workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Cato part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    enjoyed coworkers, slow paced job

    Cons

    pay was poor and couldn't get desired hours

    Cato2019-09-26
  8. "Difficulty in keeping staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Lake Charles, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Cato full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great customers and good quality clothes.

    Cons

    Many rules and poor pay. Difficult to keep good staff. Constant turn over.

    Continue reading
    Cato2019-09-16
  9. "They weren’t fair at all."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Wilson, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cato part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Customers were mostly very generous and nice.

    Cons

    Hard to get off for important things, very unfair

    Continue reading
    Cato2019-07-08
  10. "Major Regret"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Greeley, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cato part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy. Simple. Basic retail. Some customers are nice and genuinely want your help or fashion advice. As an associate, the discount was nice. Hours of the store were reasonable. Being able to wear leggings to a job was nice. Dress code was manageable. Shipment was easy to put away and sort. Slow days for sure. Mark downs weren't as bad, just tedious and very time consuming. And Savanna W. Without her, I would have quit a lot sooner.

    Cons

    It's just not worth it. I had originally responded to an Indeed opening stating they were looking for a manager. Not anything specific but I was interested because I was looking for something long term, resume worthy, and getting managerial training would be well for me. After I got hired, I wasn't even considered for 3rd Assistant Manager, the manager that hired me QUIT, and I was stuck being a sales associate. Completley blindsided by the fact that the person who trained me, who was supposed to give me managerial training, put her 2 weeks in when I officially got hired. I put it aside because at least I still had a job and the company made it seem like moving up wouldn't be an issue. The district manager was acting store manager, and while she did give me hours (averaging 22 hrs a week) she completely overlooked me and did 2 new hires looking to fill the 2nd and 3rd Assistant Manager position. She knew I had interest but didnt take it further than that. I still stayed because we all have bills to pay. But my final straw was when we got an official store manager again. My first official day was April 2nd. I had already requested time off for a vacation I was planning sense January. After my vacation, my hours were cut down to 9 hours a week. Who can pay their bills with only a 9 hour week? Outrageous and infuriating. I had communicated that 9hrs isnt fair, I cant live like that, I need more hours. I got an excuse saying that Corporate had manipulated hours and the only people who were able to get more than 20hrs a week were the manager of the store, and 1st and 2nd Assistant Managers. If I knew I was going to get majorly screwed over after a month or two, I would have never accepted this position. They treat every employee like a thief and they set up their policy to make sure someone is always watching you. I understand their are those people who steal and make situations difficult. But treating every employee like an inmate isnt the correct response either. It was just a major disappointment because I genuinely like retail and fashion. Once I got scheduled again for 9hrs, two weeks in a row, I communicated to the 1st Assistant Manager that this was an insult and I will no longer be returning to my position. I am in my 4th year of college, I have pets and a house I need to take care of, being scheduled for 9hrs knowing I have more availability is an insult. No one can actually live off that. This company can take care of you, if you have a managerial title. Just a complete waste of time.

    Cato2019-07-01
  11. "Not worth my time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Schertz, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cato part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get experience for a resume.

    Cons

    You’re not paid enough, there wasn’t much of an incentive to work, they raised my sales goal but they didn’t raise my salary.

    Cato2019-04-07
Found 116 reviews