Cavalier Distributing Company Reviews | Glassdoor

Cavalier Distributing Company Reviews

Updated Jan 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 reviews

2.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
28%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
George Fisher
11 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cavalier Distributing Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Growing quickly. Opportunity for professional advancement. Company is a trusted resource by retailers when it comes to craft beer. Culture and attitude towards employees is exceptional.

    Cons

    Growth equals change. If you're not OK with adapting, it may not be a fit.

    Cavalier Distributing Company2018-04-03
  2. "Not the best. Not the worst."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Cavalier Distributing Company full-time

    Pros

    Fast paced. Brewery swag. Nice people.

    Cons

    Not going to make much money. No paid holidays. High turnover rate. Management does not seem to care about doing what is needed to keep good workers there.

    Cavalier Distributing Company2019-01-08
  3. "Zero Loyalty to Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cavalier Distributing Company part-time

    Pros

    Weekends off. Low hours can be a plus if you're not looking for a real job.

    Cons

    Zero loyalty to employees, low pay, lower hours (about 20 weekly.)

    Advice to Management

    lol

    Cavalier Distributing Company2018-12-18
  4. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cavalier Distributing Company full-time

    Pros

    Worked with awesome people on a daily basis. Lots of fun meetings with beer tastings. Work on your own out of an office. Business casual dress and work on your own schedule.

    Cons

    Poor commissions for the hours put in. No opportunity to get higher commissions. Managers took sales bonuses from supplies even though sales people were doing the work. Weird structuring of sales routes.

    Cavalier Distributing Company2018-11-01
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Don’t work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Lakeland, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cavalier Distributing Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Relaxed environment, no dress code

    Cons

    Worked my butt off for them and only got more work thrown on me as a thank you. Took over double work and begged for a raise and never got it, only empty promises. After 3 years, was open about looking for another job, they thanked me for my years of service by not letting me finish my two week notice and screwing me out of pay. So classy. Owner George Fisher comes off as a nice guy but he’s not. Zero work life balance....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take care of the employees that work hard for you, instead of rewarding crap employees by taking their work and giving it to the competent ones.

    Cavalier Distributing Company2018-11-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with a low salary and long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cavalier Distributing Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I got to manage my own territory and sell some of my favorite craft breweries with more freedom to manage it how I wanted than any other distributor.

    Cons

    Significantly lower pay than other distributors, very long hours

    Cavalier Distributing Company2018-09-25
  7. Helpful (2)

    "STAY AWAY- find a better company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Route Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cavalier Distributing Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The only thing good about Cavalier is the beer.

    Cons

    This company truly doesn't value it's workers. Once you prove that you are a good worker, instead of rewarding you they throw more on you. This would be fine if there was a pay increase but good luck ever seeing that. They expect one person to do the job of three. There's no paid holidays, insurance is terrible, communication is severely lacking and did I mention over worked and underpaid. With this company you are just...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Care about the workers that keep the wheels rolling. Give incentives for good work. How can you expect to keep good workers when they aren't rewarded for doing a good job.

    Cavalier Distributing Company2018-08-26
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Cavalier does not value their employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Blue Ash, OH

      I worked at Cavalier Distributing Company full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Occasional beer samples. You can wear jeans every day. Co-workers were fun.

      Cons

      0 paid holidays. Closed for 3 holidays a year, but those 3 days are unpaid, so you have to use PTO. Terrible communication. Terrible pay. The company has grown a lot in the last 5 years, but they still act like a company of 100 people. Upper management is clueless. The job is fine if you are in your 20’s, but if you have a family to support, you don’t want to work here. Any really good employee has left and found much...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Start listening to your employees and treat them like they are valuable. Your turnover rate is high because no one worthwhile is going to stick it out longer than they have to.

      Cavalier Distributing Company2018-07-29
    • Helpful (1)

      "Don’t waste ya time here"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Warehouse Worker in Lakeland, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Cavalier Distributing Company full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Nothing. Nothing. Oh wait.. i almost forgot Oh yeah that’s right nothing. You fail as a company

      Cons

      Horrible management. Play favorites. Nothing but drama. You’d think it being grown men working in a warehouse they wouldn’t act like little kids all the time. But well.. they do. No raises... ever. Always excuses. Overall terrible company to work for.

      Advice to Management

      Honestly don’t know how you call yourselves managers.

      Cavalier Distributing Company2018-07-11
    • Helpful (1)

      "so many people come and go"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Warehouse Associate in Lakeland, FL
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Cavalier Distributing Company full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        cant think of any, beards are ok

        Cons

        low pay, bad insurance, management make bad decisions , don't care about what employees think, no raises

        Advice to Management

        care about your employees, what makes work better for them, get rid of current management its corrupt

        Cavalier Distributing Company2018-07-05
      Found 24 reviews