KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Cavallo

Is this your company?

Cavallo

Add a Review

Cavallo Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Nov 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 of over 69 reviews

3.8
64%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Cavallo CEO   Michael Biwer
Michael Biwer
26 Ratings
Pros
  • "and you have a great place to work(in 7 reviews)

  • "Casual dress code and 4 o clock fridays(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Growing pains as a company and salaries are/were lower than industry standards(in 4 reviews)

  • "I was not a particularly huge fan of how this played out in the work environment(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Sales Engineer

    Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

    672

    214 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "work environment"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A dream workplace

      Nov 10, 2020 - Project Manager in Grand Rapids, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flex hours, full benefits, progressive values, comfortable and modern work environment, management listens to employees

      Cons

      Odd training format, socializing with others is difficult

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A Great Place To Be!

      Jul 30, 2019 - Software Support Specialist in Grand Rapids, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      SalesPad values its employees and strives to show that through constant feedback from employees and regular communication on the company's goals and what it means for every person here. The Leadership Team is made up of real people, that have been with this company since the beginning and are always available to any employee Employees are encouraged to move departments to find the place where they really love to be! Various employee events (Picnics, Community Involvement opportunities, hockey games, parties, and Fun Fridays at 4 pm every Friday)! Excellent location, easy to get to from anywhere in the area. Great benefits (PTO, Maternity leave, continued education) Great work environment, plenty of windows and natural light, updated features throughout the building

      Cons

      Continued training is still lacking (but I'm told it's being worked on)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Put in the effort

      May 4, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is a company that takes care of it's loyal and dedicated employees. If you think of SalesPad as just another place to get a paycheck, you're not going to be happy or advance in your career. Looking at the employees that have been there for a number of years, it's easy to see why they have had success. If you go above and beyond and believe in what you are doing, then you tend to feel rewarded and appreciated. This is not unique to SalesPad. Just because you work at a software/tech company doesn't mean results aren't expected. With that said, there is very little pressure, and plenty of guidance available to those that need it. All experienced employees at SalesPad are always willing to drop what they are doing and assist a coworker. I've seen that at SalesPad more than any other workplace. In summary, SalesPad is a great place to work if you're willing to put in the effort. Ownership and management are very loyal to employees that exude that same sense of loyalty and dedication to their work. You have to be willing to accept some smaller company pains if you want to receive all of the smaller company perks. The benefits far outweigh the drawbacks.

      Cons

      Not for someone who needs their hand held or can't work without someone over their shoulder. Typical small to medium sized company growing pains, but worth it for the relaxed work environment and other perks.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Just keeps getting better!

      Jun 2, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Grand Rapids, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      SalesPad has a fun and casual work environment while still striving to produce leading-edge applications. They've been working hard at promoting the organization lately and communicating their plans for the new and existing products, which really helps everyone feel like they are a part of something big. With Friday "fun hour", no real dress code, a cool new building with great furniture and technology, free soda and coffee, I think SalesPad has a lot to offer. The little things are really nice but maybe what I like best is the people I've met here. Hard-working, fun, problem-solving... I like spending my days here!

      Cons

      They have a 401k plan but don't offer a match (yet). It's been discussed and I like that we can all talk about it openly, but I still don't know if it will ever be real. They have some flexibility on hours but still like folks to come into the office regularly. I thought that would be hard but I'm finding I like the people I'm around so it's OK. Traffic on the East Beltline can be awful at rush hour.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      A Stepping Stone Company

      Oct 21, 2018 - Software Developer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Casual work environment - Great coworkers who are mostly young and easy to get along with - New, young developers will benefit greatly from the variety of work to do. Will gain a ton of experience that looks great on a resume

      Cons

      - Very poor compensation for the amount of work that developers do - Projects are not managed well, especially large ones. Typical for a dev to be running a massive project by his or herself without much help - Working on the desktop platform can feel dated at times - Tons of resources spent on products that are not profitable - Can be a very stressful environment, even though it may appear otherwise - Devs are required to do lots of quoting - Almost all projects have insufficient requirements gathered when quoted. Becomes developers job to gather actual requirements with the customer after everything has been signed and agreed to, leading to frequent scope changes and back and forth with customer - Sales and directors will often intentionally reduce hours on a project or purposely quote them low just to make a sale. Then when the developer can’t finish in the time given to them, it becomes their problem - Very immature upper management

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Intern, more than 1 year

      Great place to start

      Oct 26, 2017 - Software Developer in Grand Rapids, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people you directly work with are great. The managers and even the managers management are fair, easy going, and were overall the best management I've interacted with.

      Cons

      The two owners (not sure on titles) are polar opposites and the one that actually ends up making the decisions is very profit oriented with little to no care that everyone knows it. The other is kinda a free spirit that I got the feeling from is just there showing face so he can continue making his income. I was not a particularly huge fan of how this played out in the work environment. It forced developers to not perform up to the standards they wanted and this damaged the products stability. The general feeling I got while there was that no employee was valued as long as money kept coming in and it always felt as though things could go south really quickly if some problems cropped up as they often do when things are rushed. I also felt like I had no where to go in the company. I was an intern and if I had stayed my job would not have changed when I got hired in which for me was disappointing.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Intern, more than 1 year

      Great Starting Position

      Oct 26, 2017 - Software Developer in Grand Rapids, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people you directly work with are great. The managers and even the managers management are fair, easy going, and were overall the best management I've interacted with.

      Cons

      The two owners (not sure on titles) are polar opposites and the one that actually ends up making the decisions is very profit oriented with little to no care that everyone knows it. The other is kinda a free spirit that I got the feeling from is just there showing face so he can continue making his income. I was not a particularly huge fan of how this played out in the work environment. It forced developers to not perform up to the standards they wanted and this damaged the products stability. The general feeling I got while there was that no employee was valued as long as money kept coming in and it always felt as though things could go south really quickly if some problems cropped up as they often do when things are rushed. I also felt like I had no where to go in the company. I was an intern and if I had stayed my job would not have changed when I got hired in which for me was disappointing.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 7 of 7 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Cavallo Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Cavallo? Share Your Experiences

    or