Cavalry Logistics Reviews | Glassdoor

Cavalry Logistics Reviews

Updated Oct 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 38 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Cavalry Logistics CEO Bob King (no image)
Bob King
19 Ratings
  1. "Fun place to get paid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cavalry Logistics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of room for growth. You can make some serious cash here...

    Cons

    Tough industry. You will deal with unpleasant people.

    Cavalry Logistics2018-02-18
  2. "Call carriers to book freight for their businesses."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Freight Broker in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cavalry Logistics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great weekly pay with competitive commission

    Cons

    Overworked and not very much encouragement

    Cavalry Logistics2019-10-07
  3. "Left to pursue positions at two other Logistics companies, came back because they are the best. All Around Best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Broker in Antioch, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cavalry Logistics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Core Values are the foundation of the truly unique Culture. Care about People and changing lives, one load, one book, and one person at a time

    Cons

    Located in Antioch, TN Building doesn't even look like it fits in the location it is in.

    Cavalry Logistics2019-04-23
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Inconsistency in Goals/Expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cavalry Logistics full-time

    Pros

    Work atmosphere is great for the most part.

    Cons

    Politics - not all promotions or recognition are based on real results but rather how the “game” is played. Low pay, mediocre health insurance, no 401k match or direct deposit. Commissions have been reduced for some, not based on performance, but in an apparent effort to simply reduce how much is payed out. Expectations are all over the place and communication is poor across the board.

    Advice to Management

    Please have a more open form of communication company wide. Strategies seem to change almost monthly and many are left out of the loop. More effective and realistic methods of measuring employee performance should be implemented.

    Cavalry Logistics2018-06-21

    Cavalry Logistics Response

    June 25, 2018Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review and give your honest feedback regarding employment at Cavalry. We will address all of the issues you have brought forth with all levels of leadership, and once again appreciate your candor in expressing your concerns!

  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great For Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cavalry Logistics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training Commission Cool hourly employees

    Cons

    Most team leaders do not really care about you or the culture. Most team leaders have been there for 5+ years and are not the best leaders in the buildings. They have a cool concept with reading books for self empowerment but then shoot you down when you stand up for your self. They pay you the very bottom in the industry They make their biggest working population (brokers feel like nothing)

    Advice to Management

    Remember where you came from

    Cavalry Logistics2018-02-09

    Cavalry Logistics Response

    February 12, 2018Recruiter

    Thanks so much for taking the time to provide your review! We are sorry to hear that there were aspects of your experience that were negative! We take the bullet points from your experience very seriously and will address the issues you have brought up with all members of leadership. Thank you again for the review!!

    Show Less
  6. "Fun and rewarding for young professional, but you'll grow out of it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RIP Opti in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cavalry Logistics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tangible and challenging work, I was never bored there, music, the people are genuine, 3PL industry is just crazy all-around.... The camaraderie of everyone who works there is definitely special. People who don't work hard get fired, no freeloaders!

    Cons

    If you aren't interested in following the path that management wants you on, I'd suggest settling for a dead-end position or going somewhere else. But let's face it, every job has cons and Cavalry was a cool place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Ride or die

    Cavalry Logistics2018-01-19

    Cavalry Logistics Response

    January 23, 2018Recruiter

    Thank you for the feedback!

  7. "High job satisfaction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Broker in Antioch, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cavalry Logistics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture, strong leadership, great training, and a focus on personal development. This company by offers a high probability of job and career satisfaction.

    Cons

    The industry itself is not for everyone. Carriers and customers are candid and can be rude at times. As long as you are good with people, you will be fine.

    Advice to Management

    Get up the good work!

    Cavalry Logistics2017-07-22

    Cavalry Logistics Response

    January 23, 2018Recruiter

    Thank you for the feedback!

  8. "Great Company, Tough Industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Freight Broker in Antioch, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cavalry Logistics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Strong leadership, enviable and well-cultivated culture (a rare thing), strong on-the-job training and a pleasant place to come to work every day

    Cons

    The industry itself is a juggernaut of unpleasant people, strict deadlines, unforeseen issues, and unfixable problems. Not for the faint of heart

    Advice to Management

    Some of the best management I've ever seen in terms of truly putting employee growth first. Would recommend extending all job openings to employees internally; even if a more logical choice already exists, providing the forum for employees to put their name out there is important.

    Cavalry Logistics2017-07-11

    Cavalry Logistics Response

    January 23, 2018Recruiter

    We appreciate your feedback! Thanks for your suggestion! We have implemented a process in communication with the team for new opportunities. As a result we have been able to find the right fit as well as coach team members interested in different roles. Thanks again!

  9. Helpful (3)

    "Good place to start but not to stay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Freight Broker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cavalry Logistics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The training is second to none, great atmosphere and culture, fun place to work and develop friendships. Great systems, you will have the knowledge and tools to do what you need to do.

    Cons

    The pay is well below average, the benefits are also well below average. No 401k match, insurance was terrible, and no direct deposit. Great place to start but not to stay.

    Cavalry Logistics2017-05-04

    Cavalry Logistics Response

    May 22, 2017Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are committed to creating a great work environment. We value and consider all feedback and we will continue to find ways to improve but wanted to address a couple of your specific benefit concerns here. This year we have extended our health benefits network and added new plans to accommodate our employees. We hope to have retirement contribution at some point in the future, among other improvements we'd like to make.

    Show Less
  10. "Fun Environment, GREAT People, Apply Now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cavalry Logistics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Environment, people, opportunities to learn and develop business skills, lots of career advancement opportunities if you hustle

    Cons

    Base pay isn't as competitive as other similar companies (can easily be made up in commission).

    Advice to Management

    Following the process is great. Be willing to adjust the process with suggestions from employees.

    Cavalry Logistics2017-02-11

    Cavalry Logistics Response

    May 22, 2017Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback!

Found 38 reviews