Cayuga Medical Center Reviews | Glassdoor

Cayuga Medical Center Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 35 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
Cayuga Medical Center CEO Martin Stallone, MD (no image)
Martin Stallone, MD
0 Ratings
  1. "Phlebotomist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cayuga Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    Helpful staff and management Great food

    Cons

    Distance from my home. Staffing shortages

    Cayuga Medical Center2018-08-27
  2. "It's okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Cayuga Medical Center part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    theres always work to be done

    Cons

    Overworked underpayed, there's to much to be done and not enough people

    Cayuga Medical Center2019-06-21
  3. "Department Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cayuga Medical Center full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for overall. Friendly and kind coworkers. Great cafeteria with good employee discounts. Fun environment to work at.

    Cons

    Very small raises which were only given yearly. Not alot of personal goal achievement recognition from any bosses. Can be very stressful job.

    Cayuga Medical Center2019-01-05
  4. "Changing Times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Registered Nurse in Ithaca, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cayuga Medical Center for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay promised was reasonable.

    Cons

    No options to reevaluate the situation of employment.

    Advice to Management

    If you are going to hire someone and it doesn't work out for whatever reason, there should be options to review with the employee why the position is not working for the hiring department. And then evaluate if being in another department will be more beneficial to the employee and the hospital. You have oriented and started the training.. don't lose a viable employee without evaluation of the situation.

    Cayuga Medical Center2019-01-07
  5. "Love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Interlaken, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cayuga Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Who doesn’t want to help deliver babies and assist new parents learn how to hold a fragile infant

    Cons

    Politics, holding on to the old and not wanting to implement new ideas.

    Cayuga Medical Center2018-09-26
  6. "Can be good if you're friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Housekeeper 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cayuga Medical Center part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    401k plan, insurance, holiday bonus.

    Cons

    Atmosphere, not a very competitive wage.

    Advice to Management

    Fix the atmosphere of talking behind everyone's backs being okay.

    Cayuga Medical Center2018-06-15
  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cayuga Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really stable work environment with a lot of great people to work with, opportunities to grow if you look for them.

    Cons

    Obviously the shortage of nurses in the area takes a toll on everyone, but we still buckle down and get the job done at the end of the day

    Advice to Management

    Keep appreciating your staff as much as possible

    Cayuga Medical Center2018-05-24
  8. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Staff RN in Ithaca, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cayuga Medical Center for more than a year

    Pros

    The coworkers are great. Self scheduling is awesome.

    Cons

    Management has no idea what it is to be a nurse, unrealistic expectations, no breaks or if you do get them you have to take the phone and be expected to answer it, no techs to help, pathetic pay (I started at $23/hr with something like $2 shift diff after 11 pm for nights- on 12 hour shifts). The nurses are expected to pick up all the slack from lack of help.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more help. Buy your own markers for the white boards.

    Cayuga Medical Center2018-05-26
  9. "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cayuga Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    Amazing coworkers, good benefits, community

    Cons

    Upper level management, unit level management, lack of support for new graduates

    Cayuga Medical Center2018-05-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Laboratory Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cayuga Medical Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great staff. Okay administration, but they could be better

    Cons

    Short Staffed, not enough money for the responsibility we carry

    Cayuga Medical Center2018-04-01
Found 35 reviews