Ceatus Media Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Ceatus Media Group Reviews

Updated Dec 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
55%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Ceatus Media Group CEO David Evans, PhD., MBA (no image)
David Evans, PhD., MBA
16 Ratings
  1. "Very Stable Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ceatus Media Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Competitive salary per experience - Hands off management style (no micromanagement) - No questions asked for time off - Never stayed overtime - Freedom to experiment with solutions - Users provide great feedback with potential solutions - Since users are internal employees, it's easy to have a face to face meeting to discuss any bugs/issues - Coworkers are very helpful/friendly - Manager does not micromanage - Parking available in private lot - Company provided macbook pro for programming - Very organized deployment workflow - Time cards are managed by HR and you don't need to clock in/out

    Cons

    - Vacation cap is small when compared to other companies - Sick time does not role over, so it feels like a waste ending a year without using any sick time - Meetings can run long, and often times people get stuck in the weeds - Sparse food choices in driving distance (I've eaten too much fast food there)

    Continue reading
    Ceatus Media Group2019-12-04
  2. Helpful (3)

    "A place to start not stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ceatus Media Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was given the opportunity to grow, learn, and network with quality coworkers. The health insurance/coverages were stellar.

    Cons

    There are not enough people on the teams. Not only does it seem gender specific in teams themselves, but I can personally attest to the fact that they expect the work of 3+ jobs to be completed through a single perso. If someone was hired on part-time to take on the more menial tasks, real headway could be made within the company. Currently, the way it seems, is that the company has peaked.

    Continue reading
    Ceatus Media Group2019-02-27

    Ceatus Media Group Response

    March 4, 2019Director of Operations

    Thank you for your review and feedback. We wish you all the best.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Work Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ceatus Media Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Family friendly company with an excellent work life balance! They even cover a portion of our family's benefits which is something I've never enjoyed with previous employers. Flexible with school schedules, paid holidays and time off as well. No waiting period for benefits. Nice offices, easy access and free parking. They seem to hire the best employees in their field. Co-workers have each others backs. They will take time to explain things and are very helpful and supportive to myself, each other and our clients. Everyone seems to work together for the success of the client and the company! CEO is very approachable and humorous. HR is very responsive and helpful. IT keeps everything running smoothly. It appears that the majority of employees stay and appreciate their jobs.

    Cons

    Well, it is a job.

    Continue reading
    Ceatus Media Group2019-02-06

    Ceatus Media Group Response

    March 4, 2019Director of Operations

    Thank you for your review and feedback. We really do try to make it an enjoyable place to work, that includes a healthy work life balance. We work hard for our clients and are happy to see that you feel the cohesive teamwork that permeates our company! We wish you continued success at Ceatus!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (5)

    "SEO Department Needs Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SEO Specialist in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ceatus Media Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I got a sense that some employees (those who had been with company 5+ years) had some degree of job satisfaction. Outside of that, lots of turnover and very little true camaraderie among colleagues. Ability to perform SEO work was extremely limited by outdated technology (for example, AWR for keyword tracking), a bloated workflow process (ask to see the flow charts), inefficient/bad UI project management software (CERP), and our inability to communicate directly or have any relations whatsoever with clients, which made understanding the needs of each client impossible. Together this all quickly dampens any motivation to deliver outstanding work, and makes it difficult to realize purpose and satisfaction within a position. Add to that unfathomly low pay, bare minimum benefits (no work from home days or unconventional benefits) and a location with absolutely no walkabilty aside from Costco, I can't recommend Ceatus to any prospective employees.

    Cons

    Micromanagement- we were expected to account for every minute while at work. i.e. "Checked email, 10am: .015 hours" which set a tone of total servitude and distrust while making performing our duties laughably inefficient. Complete lack of communication from managers. I could tell they were just completely checked out. A lot of tension between departments, such as web development and SEO department. SEO team was disrespected, harassed, and taunted by a specific employee in sales dept. on a regular basis with no repercussions to said employee despite frequent notification to management. The owners/CEO were vocal Trump supporters. For some people that may not be a con, but for me it was demonstrated in the overall vibe of the company culture.

    Continue reading
    Ceatus Media Group2018-06-04

    Ceatus Media Group Response

    June 6, 2018Director of Operations

    Thank you for your detailed comments. We are sorry that you were not compatible with Ceatus’ requirements. At Ceatus, we value team spirit, competence, tolerance and a respect for others, including diversity in all forms. As to the specific comments about SEO, we take exception to the disparagement of Ceatus staff. Ceatus is recognized worldwide for our expertise and skill in SEO. While of course we still track rankings as an important metric, our SEO energy continues to focus on what our clients really want and need; higher traffic, patient and client conversion and significant revenue increase. Your mischaracterization of our approach highlights what appears to be a fundamental misunderstanding of our strategy. It is somewhat perplexing that these key points were not understood. In addition, we believe a team spirit is important to both our clients and staff’s success. Working from home with unlimited PTO does not foster professional growth or create a team mindset; therefore we have always chosen not to offer such a work strategy. Our team performance is what has catapulted Ceatus into becoming the premiere digital marketing company in Elective Health Care. We do agree with the observation that our project and enterprise level resource system (CERP) is highly advanced. Ceatus is a prolific world leader in SEO, with more than 200 clients in 12 countries. CERP allows our web development, writing, SEO, client services and reputation management teams to track all aspects of our clients’ success and the projects performed for each client. CERP provides an accounting of the magnitude of work committed toward each client and project time tracking to provide feedback to the client concerning our efforts on their behalf. We can understand that it might be a challenge for some people to work with such a sophisticated system where multiple projects are being performed simultaneously for our clients, in some cases for the same client at the same time. While our 40+ employees use this system daily, without difficulty, we appreciate your struggle and are working to ensure that, moving forward, we better assess potential employees’ ability to integrate into this multi-faceted system. Concerning the comments about dress code and location, this is again, a bit puzzling. The business casual dress code is published in our employee manual which employees receive and are informed of before the first day of work. Regarding location, many restaurants and cafes are located within a five minute drive from our office, which hasn’t moved in 6 years and in fact, is in the same location where employees come to be interviewed. We wish you luck in finding employment elsewhere.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (5)

    "I’ll Miss Working at Ceatus!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ceatus Media Group

    Pros

    I worked at Ceatus Media Group full time for more than 3 years. I recommend the company highly. I got promoted quickly and received several pay increases during my time there. The company and my boss were very supportive and were focused on work-life balance as well as the work I was doing. All of my coworkers were/are great and everyone works as a team! It is a fun, friendly work environment and I only left Ceatus to move back to be closer to my family.

    Cons

    I enjoyed working at Ceatus and have no real cons. The company had great social activities like parking lot parties, picnics and off site meetings. So maybe a “con” would be that there should be even more so I could learn more about what the other departments are up to.

    Ceatus Media Group2018-04-05

    Ceatus Media Group Response

    April 6, 2018Director of Operations

    Thanks for your great comments. We strive for a team atmosphere and to make all employees feel valued, as we deliver exceptionally high quality services to our clients. We are glad you enjoyed the social gatherings--you're welcome to join us anytime you're in town!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Ownership, management and employees all create a family-like atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Creative Director in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ceatus Media Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have worked at Ceatus for more than 5 years as the Creative Director. I enjoy the many relationships I have cultivated with co-workers and clients alike. I enjoy the atmosphere and the personal approach from top to bottom. It’s great that I can talk to our CEO about future clients, company direction, or college football rankings and matchups. Ceatus maintains a great open-door culture where management focuses on the success of the employee and a good life-work balance. Its fulfilling to work for an industry leader, where pride in our work is contagious across all departments. My direct manager provides great communication and feedback. I have been able to expand my design skills and experiment with new ideas, which keeps it very interesting. The social events are fun. Ownership, management and employees all create a family-like atmosphere.

    Cons

    Construction noise and some motorcycle noise! Take your pick. We seem to be near a supply staging area for the trolley so there’s no shortage of dust and occasional equipment noise. We’re also right next door to a Harley Davidson shop so exhaust noise has become a familiar sound but they do have some nice bikes.

    Ceatus Media Group2018-04-03

    Ceatus Media Group Response

    April 23, 2018Director of Operations

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind comments about our company culture and personal communication channels. We strive to focus on the success of both our clients and staff, and are thrilled to hear it’s working for you! We have the best and brightest colleagues, and we have great clients. With regard to the noise, sorry about the San Diego trolley expansion construction work. Thankfully it is temporary and will give all of us more transport options to work!

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (4)

    "STAY AWAY HORRIBLE COMPANY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ceatus Media Group full-time

    Pros

    none really coworkers are nice

    Cons

    Low pay, work not to be proud of that won't help you grow at all, no review process, high turnover, management talks behind your back and is not direct with you.

    Continue reading
    Ceatus Media Group2018-05-10

    Ceatus Media Group Response

    February 5, 2019Director of Operations

    We're sorry you were not a good fit and wish you all the best!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Love the People, Company and Job!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ceatus Media Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've been at Ceatus for 5 years and I'm sad to leave due to me moving away. My boss always makes me feel appreciated and always challenges me to be better and to continue to grow in my career. She is more of a mentor than a boss. The culture is professional but also fun, all of my co-workers truly care and are like family to me. Also the work/life balance is great and they will work with you in regards to life events. I became very ill a couple of months ago and the support and care I received during that time was nothing short of amazing. Being the one who helps facilitate some of the corporate events, I know a lot of time, care and planning go into making them fun for the employees, as well as, a consideration that it's also important to have for team building. I don't do it alone and can always count on someone to help out. In regards to my job, I'm allowed to speak my opinions and bring new and innovative ideas to the table. I've also had the opportunity to wear many hats, which has helped me be well-rounded. I think management is able to tap into employees strengths and they utilize them well. Team work is also a wonderful aspect at the company, though we are separate departments I can always count on support and collaboration. I think the CEO, managers, and employees are great and I will truly miss working with them all.

    Cons

    Honestly I have no cons, I've been treated with respect, kindness and it's my favorite job so far! I would recommend anyone to work here!

    Ceatus Media Group2018-01-02

    Ceatus Media Group Response

    January 2, 2018Director of Operations

    Thanks so much for taking the time to review Ceatus! I’m not sure we can say it enough, our team is the best in the business and we are so fortunate to work with all of them! Our clients are among the most respected in their industry—the bar is set high and we are always striving to exceed their expectations.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Company Breeds Mediocrity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ceatus Media Group full-time

    Pros

    Never required to work overtime, easy work, ample parking, coffee machine in break room, office building is big, accessible by stairs and elevator.

    Cons

    Salaries below market rate for all departments, because the pay is low the talented people quickly leave & the people that stay are unambitious & settling, high turnover rate, doesn’t fully cover healthcare, selfish with paid holidays, company is big on appearance but doesn’t care about employee happiness, company events are for the sole purpose of taking a photo to post on social media to make it seem like the company cares about employees (everyone is forced to go to the events and if you don’t go or leave early you get punished).

    Continue reading
    Ceatus Media Group2017-12-18

    Ceatus Media Group Response

    December 18, 2017Director of Operations

    UPDATE: We see that your post from 12/17/17 "Former Employee" is today 12/20/17 changed to "Current Employee." Please speak to a senior team member or myself as soon as possible as we would like to address your concerns ASAP! Thanks in advance. Thank you for your review. We are sorry you weren’t a good fit for our outstanding organization and wish you well. We believe that all comments should be considered even though we understand that any review coming from a former employee (or competitor) may be negatively biased, bitter and perhaps even intentionally trying to harm. In the present case, we strongly disagree with your statements that our employees are mediocre! Your suggestion that your fellow co-workers are/were “unambitious & settling” is demeaning, offensive and, most importantly, totally untrue. We have the best and brightest employees and feel fortunate to be part of such an inspiring and accomplished team! As to your specific complaints: 1. The number of paid holidays provided by Ceatus Media Group is above industry standard. 2. While we truly enjoy celebrating with our employees, events outside of business hours are not (and have never been) mandatory. Further we often receive requests for more events, both during work hours and on weekends. And to clarify, the vast majority of our activities are NOT shared on social media. 3. Our healthcare offerings have been specifically labeled “very generous” by the largest US payroll providers; Paychex and ADP. 4. Salaries are within or above industry standards. In fact, the majority of our employees have been with us 5 years or more. 5. We have not been made aware of “backstabbing/talking behind coworkers’ backs.” However, we would encourage any of our team members who believe this is happening to contact me or any manager with his or her concerns. If you care to email me directly with any specifics you are willing to share, I would be happy to personally take your feedback to our executive team to address properly.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (5)

    "A Wonderful Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ceatus Media Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good hours, you are not chained to your desk. Days before holidays the CEO usually closes the office early so we can have a longer weekend. - Nice group of people to work with. Everyone is friendly and we work as a team. - We have fun events (company picnic, holiday party, bagel days, and more) - Management is supportive and is always there if you ever have any questions or need help with something.

    Cons

    No cons! The company is a great place to work and they value their employees. I would recommend working here.

    Ceatus Media Group2017-03-17

    Ceatus Media Group Response

    March 22, 2017Director of Operations

    Thank you for your thoughtful review. We work hard to ensure our team knows they are valued and their ideas heard. This is part of the reason we have Exceptional Achievement awards (with bagels & cream cheese) and spontaneous "Make it Easy" awards (with gift cards) for those team members providing outstanding service. We want to ensure our team has a good work/life balance as well as a great workplace. We appreciate you taking the time to give us a 5 star review!

    Continue reading
Found 27 reviews