Cedar Community Reviews | Glassdoor

Cedar Community Reviews

Updated March 17, 2017
13 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.8
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Lynn W. Olson
1 Rating

13 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

  1. "Financial Services Associate"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Services Associate in West Bend, WI
    Former Employee - Financial Services Associate in West Bend, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cedar Community full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Small company with a big heart

    Cons

    PTO/Vacation/Sick time package leave a LOT to be desired.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. Stay involved with your employees and keep supporting them.


  2. "Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cedar Community full-time

    Pros

    Staff care about what and how they contribute in the quality of residents lives. Friendly atmosphere, treat each other like family.

    Cons

    Poor communication across business lines which makes more work and creates frustration. Hiring process is slow. Staff turnover is high.

    Advice to Management

    Communication is key, think about who might need to know whats going on. Follow through on commitments. Treat staff equally and fairly.

    Cedar Community Response

    Jul 21, 2016 – Director of Marketing & Communications

    Thank your for the feedback on communication, and "who needs to know." That is something that we strive for every day, and it is important to hear this feedback. Best wishes to you in your future. ... More


  3. "nursing assistant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    I love how flexible cedar community is, especially when it comes to students.

    Cons

    I don't have anything negative to say.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Cedar Community Response

    Jan 14, 2016 – Director of Marketing & Communications

    Thank you so much for your comments and for your efforts on behalf of our residents!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "RN"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cedar Community full-time

    Pros

    Fun friendly co-workers. Caring managers. Flexibility in schedule...they work with your school schedule. Room for growth. Lots of extras...exercise equipment, hiking trails, use of pool.

    Cons

    It's healthcare....no one said it would be easy!

    Cedar Community Response

    Jan 14, 2016 – Director of Marketing & Communications

    We so appreciate your sharing your comments - thanks for all you do for the men and women we serve.


  6. "Registered Nurse"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in West Bend, WI
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in West Bend, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cedar Community full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    There are a lot of growth opportunities at Cedar Community. In house training, tuition reimbursement and scholarships. In addition to the traditional benefits there is the use of the pool, exercise equipment, lake house, beach house, pontoon boat and hiking trails. I feel the management is very helpful in career direction.

    Cons

    The Insurance package can be a little tricky now that there's a spousal surcharge. However, they do have an additional insurance package to choose from now - an HSA.

    Advice to Management

    As the world of Health care changes, continue to make adjustments that reflect the mission statement.

    Cedar Community Response

    Jan 14, 2016 – Director of Marketing & Communications

    Thank you for your comments - keep the good ideas coming!


  7. "Healthcare Jobs stink"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff RN
    Former Employee - Staff RN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Cedar Community full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I still have many friends who work there. Caring staff. Beautiful grounds and facility.

    Cons

    Management is very cliquey. Many wonderful staff fired for no reason. Over worked and under paid. They begin new projects and decrease staff benefits in order to pay for them.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff.

    Cedar Community Response

    Jan 14, 2016 – Director of Marketing & Communications

    We appreciate your sharing your comments and will take them to heart. Best wishes in your new career.


  8. "Overall good place to work."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Residents and families are awesome
    Very nice campus with beautiful walking trails
    Friendly HR staff
    Nice cafe area on second floor

    Cons

    Short staffed
    Lots of call ins/ staff not always dependable
    More staff building activities to encourage staff to work as a team

    Advice to Management

    Better staff incentives

    Cedar Community Response

    Jan 14, 2016 – Director of Marketing & Communications

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're always looking for ways to improve and need your insight!


  9. "Cedar Community was the worst job of my life!!!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dining Assistant in West Bend, WI
    Former Employee - Dining Assistant in West Bend, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cedar Community part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I really enjoyed working with the residents who lived at the facility. My supervisor was really great when It came to my school schedule.

    Cons

    The place was always short staffed. You never had enough time to help everyone. You were always rushed. 2 our of my 3 supervisors were always crabby and hateful. You could tell they didn't want to be bothered. All of my co-workers didn't care about their job and I was sick of cleaning up after them. The hourly pay was very poor at only $8.00 per hour.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people and give us more time to get things done so we are not rushing!!!


  10. "Wonderful residents and staff, poor management."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in West Bend, WI
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in West Bend, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Cedar Community has many different divisions and opportunities for growth.
    Staff really care about each other and the residents.
    Residents are appreciative of the care.
    Beautiful campus surroundings.

    Cons

    Management pays lip service by asking for feedback from front line employees, but never makes the needed changes and instead tells staff why their ideas are wrong.
    Management will make you choose between what is in the best interest of the resident or your job.
    Limited resources and technology issues.
    Management will criticize, not thank you, for going above and beyond.
    High turnover.

    Advice to Management

    Try to incorporate staff feedback into decisions.
    Say thank you for a job well done.
    Look at why high turnover exists and realize no one is perfect - don't be afraid to apologize.

    Cedar Community Response

    Dec 4, 2015 – Director of Marketing & Communications

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We took it very seriously and we've been working on staff recognition and appreciation, remaining more open to ideas and making some management changes. We have ... More


  11. "Love the residents, like most of the supervisors, disagree with management"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CNA
    Current Employee - CNA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cedar Community part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Provide good care for the residents
    Flexible cna positions (student, reserve, etc.)
    Lots of activities for the residents
    Provide one on one care for some residents who really need it
    Some really caring staff work here

    Cons

    Staff turn over every 6 months or less
    High expectations and low appreciation for staff
    Hardly any wage increase
    Short staffed

    Advice to Management

    Show how you appreciate your staff in tangible ways regularly. Whether its through a raise, food, free tickets, etc. GET MORE STAFF!

    Cedar Community Response

    Dec 4, 2015 – Director of Marketing & Communications

    Thank you for reaching out! In the past two years, there have been some marked changes in leadership, pay and staff recognition efforts, and we hope you and your colleagues have noticed an ... More



Showing 13 of 13 reviews
Reset Filters