Cedar Community Reviews | Glassdoor

Cedar Community Reviews

Updated June 29, 2017
17 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Lynn W. Olson
5 Ratings

17 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. Featured Review

    "CNA/med tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CNA in West Bend, WI
    Current Employee - CNA in West Bend, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cedar Community full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I really love my residents at CBE, CBW, Cottages, and The new one I worked with at Elkart Lake! They are like family to me which I think they have put in their years of hard work and giving up their independence to be spoiled and cared for like we would care for our parents! We work in their house not them bothering us in our work place! Respect , Trust and Love I do see most of the time but this is a area that can always improve! Cedar is a good company but all of us working together can make it a great company!

    Cons

    People need to leave their problems with workers and home at the door when they punch in. The residents their family's and others don't need to hear it. If you don't have anything nice to say about anybody or to anybody don't say anything at all. This is their home respect that. Try being positive, happy, give a hug make someone smile that can be catchy and goes a long way and makes for a better work place one you can be proud of!

    Advice to Management

    Change is good, but I think how you present them and say them to your staff will make a difference! Instead of saying ok this is what is going to happen there will be no doing this anymore if you have problems with that you will have to see me. I think if you would present ideas you want changed differently you might get a better response ! Maybe having a team meeting stating what the problem is and asking for ideas on how the problem can be solved working together to save money and time. They might have great ideas and will feel like they are part of the solution and team. Really take the Time and Listen and Hear them otherwise I believe you will lose good workers that really care about our wonderful Residents to other companies. Like I said before I think we are a good but I know we can be GREAT let's show the other family care facilities that we care to to be different because we are Family!

    Cedar Community Response

    Jun 29, 2017 – Cedar Community

    Thank you for your feedback - you have some great thoughts and ideas on communication and problem solving, and we have shared those with our management team members. Thank you for being such a... More


  2. "Empty promises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CNA
    Former Employee - CNA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cedar Community full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great patients, great nurses, on site pharmacy with medication discounts, many shift options, room for advancement if you know the right people

    Cons

    Poor staffing, always working short, eliminate positions with no warning at the drop of a hat, low pay, poor benifits, poor management, poor patient care due to poor staffing, very difficult to use vacation must pick 2 weeks of pto a year in advance and you are still not guaranteed those days off

    Advice to Management

    Work in all positions you are in charge of so you know why staff struggles, and listen to staff about problems dont ignore them and hire a company to tell you what is wrong

    Cedar Community Response

    Jul 12, 2017 – Cedar Community

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We strive to provide excellent benefits, such as our pharmacy and new urgent care clinic that is free of charge to team members, while also... More

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Management Neglects Residents"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CNA
    Current Employee - CNA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cedar Community full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Get to bond with great residents, nurses, and nursing assistant.

    Cons

    Cedar has been having all of these seminars on the types of abuse for nurses and CNA's and yet management think they are not able to abuse their residents... The third floor I know for sure is being heavily neglected by management. They would always understaff us to the point it was impossible to get to everyone in time. The third floor, because of this neglect from management has an incredible amount of Bedsores because it's hard to get to every resident every 2 hours minimum when a round takes 3-4 hours. Cedar dropped $40,000 on a breakroom not for the associates, but for management. Cedar cares more about filling their own pocket then giving the care the people are there for. This place absolutely disgusted me. I never thought I would see such disregard for the needs of our elderly. I would skip my lunches because I was not going to let pressure sores develop. Cedar changed the rules to where if you didn't take your lunch, they would deduct the half hour anyways. Very evil company ran by very greedy management members. Now doing mandatory 12 hour shifts or you lose your job.

    Advice to Management

    Stop lining your greedy pockets and actually follow your mission for your residents. (To model Christ's love) ... Your mission right now is anything but that.

    Cedar Community Response

    Jun 29, 2017 – Cedar Community

    Thank you for your service and care for our residents. While we have made adjustments to our households by consolidating units and shifting staff members in recent months, this has been done so to... More


  4. "A great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cedar Community full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great co-workers, love working with the residents. Good benefits and great opportunities for job advancement.

    Cons

    Job is challenging at times, it is a true calling to serve others.

    Advice to Management

    Really appreciate the transparency and the feedback. It continues to improve - keep it up!

    Cedar Community Response

    Jun 29, 2017 – Cedar Community

    Thank you for your feedback and your continued support of our mission at Cedar Community!


  5. "Financial Services Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Services Associate in West Bend, WI
    Former Employee - Financial Services Associate in West Bend, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cedar Community full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Small company with a big heart

    Cons

    PTO/Vacation/Sick time package leave a LOT to be desired.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. Stay involved with your employees and keep supporting them.

    Cedar Community Response

    Jun 29, 2017 – Cedar Community

    Thank you for your feedback. We have been making improvements to our employee benefits, including adding an on-site urgent care clinic that is free of charge to all of our team members. We are also... More


  6. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cedar Community full-time

    Pros

    Staff care about what and how they contribute in the quality of residents lives. Friendly atmosphere, treat each other like family.

    Cons

    Poor communication across business lines which makes more work and creates frustration. Hiring process is slow. Staff turnover is high.

    Advice to Management

    Communication is key, think about who might need to know whats going on. Follow through on commitments. Treat staff equally and fairly.

    Cedar Community Response

    Jul 21, 2016 – Director of Marketing & Communications

    Thank your for the feedback on communication, and "who needs to know." That is something that we strive for every day, and it is important to hear this feedback. Best wishes to you in your future.... More


  7. "nursing assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    I love how flexible cedar community is, especially when it comes to students.

    Cons

    I don't have anything negative to say.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Cedar Community Response

    Jan 14, 2016 – Director of Marketing & Communications

    Thank you so much for your comments and for your efforts on behalf of our residents!

  8. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cedar Community full-time

    Pros

    Fun friendly co-workers. Caring managers. Flexibility in schedule...they work with your school schedule. Room for growth. Lots of extras...exercise equipment, hiking trails, use of pool.

    Cons

    It's healthcare....no one said it would be easy!

    Cedar Community Response

    Jan 14, 2016 – Director of Marketing & Communications

    We so appreciate your sharing your comments - thanks for all you do for the men and women we serve.


  9. "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in West Bend, WI
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in West Bend, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cedar Community full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    There are a lot of growth opportunities at Cedar Community. In house training, tuition reimbursement and scholarships. In addition to the traditional benefits there is the use of the pool, exercise equipment, lake house, beach house, pontoon boat and hiking trails. I feel the management is very helpful in career direction.

    Cons

    The Insurance package can be a little tricky now that there's a spousal surcharge. However, they do have an additional insurance package to choose from now - an HSA.

    Advice to Management

    As the world of Health care changes, continue to make adjustments that reflect the mission statement.

    Cedar Community Response

    Jan 14, 2016 – Director of Marketing & Communications

    Thank you for your comments - keep the good ideas coming!


  10. "Healthcare Jobs stink"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff RN
    Former Employee - Staff RN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Cedar Community full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I still have many friends who work there. Caring staff. Beautiful grounds and facility.

    Cons

    Management is very cliquey. Many wonderful staff fired for no reason. Over worked and under paid. They begin new projects and decrease staff benefits in order to pay for them.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff.

    Cedar Community Response

    Jan 14, 2016 – Director of Marketing & Communications

    We appreciate your sharing your comments and will take them to heart. Best wishes in your new career.


Showing 17 of 17 reviews
Reset Filters