Celadon Trucking Services Employee Reviews about "celadon"

Updated Dec 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 of over 316 reviews

3.0
30%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Celadon Trucking Services CEO and Director Paul Svindland (no image)
Paul Svindland
53 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Gain a ton of knowledge about the industry and you will work with great people that treat you like family.(in 19 reviews)
  • "The work environment is good.(in 6 reviews)
  • "Great coworkers on the floor.(in 5 reviews)
  • "Medical facility and cafeteria onsite.(in 4 reviews)
  • "Lots of good people who work there.(in 3 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "celadon"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Over the Road Team Truck Driver

    Sep 13, 2013 - Over the Road Team Driver in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As team drivers my husband and I usually had all the miles we wanted when we drove for Celadon. It was our experience that if you did your job and took care of business in an orderly and professional manner for Celadon, then Celadon took care of their drivers. Always had good reliable trucks.

    Cons

    Sometimes coming or going into and out of Canada was a challenge. If Celadon were to enroll in the Fast Trac Program the entry process might be easier. Waiting for maintainece can be a nightmare at some of the terminals.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Company went bust

    Dec 15, 2019 - Administrative in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Coworkers were a pro and con

    Cons

    Celadon had a poor benefit package and a poor 401k.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great pay and bonuses

    Nov 20, 2019 - Company Driver in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Up to 20000 miles a month for teams

    Cons

    Celadon doesn't have enough empty trailers

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Not a good place to work

    Nov 26, 2019 - Lease Purchase Driver in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    2020 Volvo’s are nice trucks

    Cons

    There are too many to name , from the way the treat the driver to the corrupt way they do business. The end would be a good thing for this place . The people at TEL knew celadon was lying and cheating the l/p drivers but as long as they got their money the were fine playing the enforcer to wrong that celadon was doing .

    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    In my entire life, I was never so disrespected, condescended to and openly screwed so often as I was at Celadon

    Jul 30, 2019 - Administrative in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    On site cafe (no need to ever leave for lunch - there's pretty good quality food served daily on site. Pay was competitive.

    Cons

    Nearly everything else other than the two factors above, that a person would value in the workplace, is sub-par at Celadon. The culture there is terrible (they blame it on finances and "challenging times" but the people in leadership roles there would be who they are regardless of the state of the business), there is no work/life balance as far as they're concerned (not for YOU, anyway - they're okay with doing whatever THEY need to do schedule-wise) - they don't give an ever-loving flip about you, your life, your plans, and they act resentful and get flat-out irate when you want to try to schedule vacation time, (they act like you shouldn't even want to take time off, or take care of your personal life, as if that's somehow "abnormal"), the insurance here is awful - way too expensive for REALLY bad coverage (the high deductible plan that they really push you towards has NO prescription drug allowance whatsoever), they will openly screw you in terms of your pay, your schedule and commitments they made to you and look you right in the eyes while they do it -- very arrogant, dismissive stance toward employees and HR seems sympathetic but is not overly reactive to it, management WILL straight LIE to HR when they're targeting someone, and HR will not question it, even when alerted (that was very alarming to experience).

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Pros

    People in orientation safety logs pay roll the shop permits every body is nice helpful except for the people who in the dispatch that's where it's the worst

    Cons

    Challenge of working at Celadon getting use to being lied to belittled put down bullied ripping off your pay it's worse than there terrible reputation drivers are just a rug or some one to play harmful hurtful in warranted games with almost like they hate drivers it's in the core of celadon

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Local Driver

    Jan 21, 2018 - Local Truck Driver in Louisville, KY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    401K, base pay, good equipment

    Cons

    Celadon is a very large company.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Watch out for Lease purchace

    Oct 14, 2017 - Lease Operator in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent Dispatch but all calls go through a single 800 number. Was or are building a new Headquarters just east of Indy and looks to be a nice facility when done

    Cons

    Try to sell you on leasing a 2012 Prostar with the Maxxforce engine and yes they push this deal hard. Sleep in a dorm room with another person. I did not meet Eye to Eye with my room mate till 3rd day luckily he was from Baltimore MD and was a great guy. To many sub companies in one company. Celadon Trucking and Osborne to name 2 and way to much animosity between companies. Yard in Indy and Waxahachie TX are stuffed with trucks and trailers to the point there useless to go into. Richmond VA and Kernsville NC are not bad pleanty of room to get aroung just watch for sharp Concrete in dirt drop lots for empties.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Definitely an "entry level" place

    Aug 4, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of young, fun people. Nice Christmas Party, nice Summer Events Easy to get hired

    Cons

    Celadon loves hiring Directors and VP's but pay the average employee terribly. Rarely promote from within, and lots of the managers are incompetent. My manager lucked into his position and at this point I think he's still around because its too hard to fire him. No organization, no professionalism. This is a place you work for as short of time as you can until you land a better job, which is why the turnover is so high. If you have a position here that interacts with the drivers, be prepared to have them in your face and yelling profanities at you. I cant count the number of times I had a driver yell at me, cuss at me, or get in my face. Since Celadon has an "open door" policy, drivers can come to your desk at any time. Since Celadon is "driver first," you will be the one who gets in trouble if you lose your cool with a driver who is screaming at you. Make sure you look into the insurance before accepting any offers. When you take into account the price and quality of the insurance, it's likely you can find a better opportunity somewhere else

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Intern, more than 1 year

    Good experience

    Jun 20, 2017 - Tax Analyst in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I got really good at using Microsoft excel. Ive gotten a lot of other job interest from my experience at Celadon.

    Cons

    Can be somewhat boring at times

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 29 Reviews

Popular Careers with Celadon Trucking Services Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Celadon Trucking Services? Share Your Experiences

Celadon Trucking Services logo
or