Celadon Trucking Services "dispatch" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Celadon Trucking Services Employee Reviews about "dispatch"

Updated Feb 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
43%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Celadon Trucking Services CEO Paul Svindland (no image)
Paul Svindland
29 Ratings
Pros
  • "Decent Dispatch but all calls go through a single 800 number(in 10 reviews)

  • "Laid back type atmosphere at work(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "As usual, the "dispatchers" are all totally clueless teenage girls and not ex drivers(in 12 reviews)

  • "Low pay and almost no vacation time(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "dispatch"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Decent Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Celadon Trucking Services full-time

    Pros

    Plum Tree dispatchers are usually on top of things and keep you busy.

    Cons

    Corporate keeps dumping drivers on Plum Tree which reduces amount of available work. Too much turnover in the office.

    Advice to Management

    Keep your hourly drivers moving - then they won't leave.

    Celadon Trucking Services2017-11-12
  2. "A totally wasted time in 26yrs of trucking the DMS r liers in a buddie system in dispatch they injoy lieng threating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Celadon Trucking Services

    Pros

    People in orientation safety logs pay roll the shop permits every body is nice helpful except for the people who in the dispatch that's where it's the worst

    Cons

    Challenge of working at Celadon getting use to being lied to belittled put down bullied ripping off your pay it's worse than there terrible reputation drivers are just a rug or some one to play harmful hurtful in warranted games with almost like they hate drivers it's in the core of celadon

    Advice to Management

    If u want to quit loosen drivers loose the liers and abusers in dispatch hold them accountable for drivers leaveing

    Celadon Trucking Services2019-02-11
  3. "Watch out for Lease purchace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Lease Operator in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Celadon Trucking Services for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent Dispatch but all calls go through a single 800 number. Was or are building a new Headquarters just east of Indy and looks to be a nice facility when done

    Cons

    Try to sell you on leasing a 2012 Prostar with the Maxxforce engine and yes they push this deal hard. Sleep in a dorm room with another person. I did not meet Eye to Eye with my room mate till 3rd day luckily he was from Baltimore MD and was a great guy. To many sub companies in one company. Celadon Trucking and Osborne to name 2 and way to much animosity between companies. Yard in Indy and Waxahachie TX are... stuffed with trucks and trailers to the point there useless to go into. Richmond VA and Kernsville NC are not bad pleanty of room to get aroung just watch for sharp Concrete in dirt drop lots for empties.

    Show More
    Celadon Trucking Services2017-10-14
  4. Helpful (1)

    "No checks 69% of time at this place they lie cheat and steel from u"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Truck Driver in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Celadon Trucking Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Had great dispatcher and ops mngr for while then they can't leave well enough alone

    Cons

    Lie cheat steal any way they can they will broaker a load out then buy it back in the log side then buy it back to trucking side to keep all money then over charge u for everything and lie this is all we got and then give u late loads and get mad because it late even after it was late picking up and the freight they have is junk rates and u try to fix it and they don't want u to get ahead

    Advice to Management

    Drivers should be first priority owner ops should get real rates from original bill not after and give the owner ops good freight not just company trucks stop lieing to drivers and stop stealing from thouse that build the company and be loyal to thouse that r loyal but that don't matter I guess

    Celadon Trucking Services2017-10-19
  5. "The grass is greener on the other side trust me!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Independent in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Celadon Trucking Services for more than a year

    Pros

    The app was the best thing that happened to this company Dispatch for the most part was reliable Decent loads from the app Nice equipment

    Cons

    Weekend dispatch needs more training Even though ICs use the app, planners tends to attach you to a load you didn't accept off the board Planners are VERY VINDICTIVE Lack of empty trailers No direct access to management NO ACCESS TO PAYROLL! and my checks have been short at least 3 times Gas cards miraculously get turned off even under a load

    Advice to Management

    Management, drivers are your best asset! We break our backs on these roads to make this company money. Respect your drivers and understand that we do eat everyday and we are not out here enjoying the sunshine, this is how I feed my wife! Many of my fellow drivers have families that solely rely on their paycheck. YOU get to go home every night while we sleep in rows eating out of cans.

    Celadon Trucking Services2017-03-29
  6. "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Local Driver in Romulus, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Celadon Trucking Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Being home everynight good equipment. Pay was OK Clean trucks orientation too long. Some friendly people. Dispatch crappy. Very disappointed

    Cons

    Didn't pay for week worked. All paperwork in. Try to get pay just gotten run around. Took money from my pay for BS. Scamadeon

    Advice to Management

    Pay your drivers on time

    Celadon Trucking Services2015-09-21
  7. "truckdriver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Celadon Trucking Services

    Pros

    i wouldnt recomend this company to my worst enemies yea good place to work for a dispatcher but as far as being a truck driver you are the bottom of there shoe they forget that the truck driver makes the company without the trucker there is no celadon and i hope one day they regret running off their drivers and i belive they will

    Cons

    this company needs to be woken up by their drivers or be crushed by a bigger company dispatchers try to drive the truck they tell drivers when to wake up and start driving which is dangerious and the federal department of transportation needs to be alerted they hold loads too long and expect the drivers to be ontime when load is late because of them holding it night dispatchers need a brain or to all get fired... except for debie shes cool

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    stop running your drivers before its too late remember drivers are the heart and blood of this company not the bottom of your shoe keep in mind when we quit we go work for your competitors yall deserve to have your DOT numbers pulled and your doors shut the way you treat your drivers or a verry harsh lawsuit to wake yall up an i hope for it

    Celadon Trucking Services2015-01-06
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Not a good company at all, please do go to this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Truck Driver in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Celadon Trucking Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    some dispatcher are good, some are not.

    Cons

    They are cheap, even went outside to hire a some one to do a drug test, that did not go well at all. they had to pay me for a whole year unemployment. They will cheat, steal and lie to you about anything.

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to keep the truck rolling for the driver.

    Celadon Trucking Services2013-05-10
  9. "As a driver first worked for Celadon Canada which later was renamed to Hyndman Transport"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Truck Driver 

    I worked at Celadon Trucking Services full-time

    Pros

    Travelling all over North America, good holiday pay (depends on your previous payrolls), good earnings in team (if they give you miles), payday twice a week (almost instant pay for the job done), new equipment (they make renewal of trucks and trailers quite often), easy paperwork, some dispatchers really good.

    Cons

    Frequent layovers with low compensation (50$ for 24 hours), constant cheating on miles (for 2 years had to check mileage all the time and fight for adjustments - from 10 to 50 miles every other assignment), no care about the drivers - if something happens no interest in "how are you?", they keep your mistakes for 3 years so that you'll never get safety bonuses, even if you're good for a long time and then something... happens on the road and you do your best to save the load and equipment - you can be fired without notice (it happened to me), they never paid back the deposit for the equipment I returned in due time, did not pay for last assignment, no termination pay, no vacation pay for the time worked. Now federal labor authorities are helping me to get all that paid off. All my fellow drivers that worked for Celadon/Hyndman on work permit quit the moment they get permanent resident status.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't cheat on miles (change your software), pay for layovers by hours if you're unable to find loads - it's not driver's fault.

    Celadon Trucking Services2016-06-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "generally a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Celadon Trucking Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    can get good miles an dispatchers generally are good at working with drivers.

    Cons

    sometimes with the size of the company there aint enough peeple to handle the phone calls so vendors an employess ect have a long hold time on phone at times.

    Advice to Management

    better layover an detion pay for drivers,should not have to ask for it should be automatic.

    Celadon Trucking Services2012-09-20
Found 10 reviews