Celadon Trucking Services Employee Reviews about "drivers"

Updated Nov 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 of over 316 reviews

3.0
30%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Celadon Trucking Services CEO and Director Paul Svindland (no image)
Paul Svindland
53 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Gain a ton of knowledge about the industry and you will work with great people that treat you like family.(in 18 reviews)
  • "Good work environment.(in 8 reviews)
  • "Great coworkers on the floor.(in 5 reviews)
  • "Medical facility and cafeteria onsite.(in 4 reviews)
  • "Lots of good people who work there.(in 3 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "drivers"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Celadon

    Feb 16, 2016 - Truck Driver in Brooks, KY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Family oriented all about the driver excellent leadership great home time, good miles, competitive pay with per Diem, honest and trustworthy with drivers on site medical facility for drivers

    Cons

    i honestly don't have any cons for the company. I absolutely loved working for them. If it wasn't for my dad developing cancer I would still be with them to this day.

    3 people found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Poorly Run

    Nov 23, 2020 - President in Akron, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great People and great drivers

    Cons

    Bad CEO and corrupt previous upper management

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Fall off

    Jan 29, 2020 - AIP BFM Intern 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They had a Primary physician and clinic. Were keen on well being of drivers. They were keen on getting drivers decent amount of loads. They never forced loads either. It was a good company to work for

    Cons

    They filed a chapter 11 without warning. Alot of drivers were left stranded miles away from home. During the last paycheck they decided to charge drivers for tolls and work supplies. And travel expenses.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Stop Complaining

    Sep 23, 2016 - OTR Truck Driver in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Celadon is a good starter company and even for experienced drivers. I drove for Celadon for 5 months; first trucking company in my driving career. I now have 1 year experience. If you have any experience in driving with other companies, then you should all know that they are all the same. Some worst then others. Everyone says to go with a smaller company, and you will make money. Yes you do make more money, but they expect you to do more, slave even more for them because they do not have the man power to keep up with the freight, so they ask you to do more and more. Not only expect you to do more, most run on paper logs, so they expect you to only get 3-5 hours sleep and then keep rolling. Smaller companies are struggling as well to keep ahead of the game and they are gonna work you even harder to keep ahead. From what I am seeing, Celadon buying out all these companies, it looks to me like that eventually all or a better part of drivers out there will be working for Celadon in one form or another. I drove for them in the beginning of my driving career and I do not and did not have anything bad to say about them. I ventured out on my own away from Celadon to see what else was out there, and frankly, there's nothing better. They all have there pros and cons. The grass is not greener on the other side. So for those that complain alot about the pay, the home time, the sometimes disrespect from DM's, etc. etc., then do yourself a favor and get out of the trucking industry because it is not for the weak minded or kids at that. The pay is based upon the freight that is running for that day or week. They can't control that. If the DM's are disrespectful, well think about all the drivers they have to deal with on a daily bases that give them attitudes, drivers thinking they know more then the DM's. If you want full control, get a $100,000 loan, buy an old cheap truck, buy a dry van trailer, pay around $24,000 a year in insurance; Plates another $1600, IFTA, 2290, LLC or S Corp, DOT/MC # Registration fee and and any other fees and registrations, and let's not forget having some back up capital for break down costs, "Which I Have Experienced recently". So, if you cannot afford all of this, then STOP COMPLAINING. I currently am working on going back to Celadon. They are a good company to drive for. Sometimes I wish I never left them from the beginning.

    Cons

    I really do not have anything bad to say about them.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Lease Operator

    Jan 20, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    For solo drivers there is good miles and good pay. They will keep you fairly active

    Cons

    For Team drivers, they really don't have enough to keep you going. Its very easy to end up upside down on payments and go broke.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Recruiter

    Oct 22, 2015 - Recruiter in Fort Wayne, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    ability to help drivers better themselves

    Cons

    Company is ran by a group of kids. Seriously i am in my early 30's and feel really old compared to all the young people that are letting run this company into the group.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Job

    Sep 3, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Warner Robins, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    See the country from the drivers seat

    Cons

    Too many new employees nor fully trained

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee

    All they care about is money & not people

    Sep 24, 2015 - Formal Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people were the best part of the company. Management, both upper and regular have not a care for employees or drivers. It was all about money.

    Cons

    Upper management, politics, benefits and pay were the deciding factors.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    NO!

    Apr 1, 2015 - Driver in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very little, Other drivers but as far as anything else goes, get your CDL and leave

    Cons

    Everything is wrong with the company once they fired the old man. I spend 15 years with them and made good money up to the point the son took over, he is going to ruin that company.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee

    truckdriver

    Jan 6, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    i wouldnt recomend this company to my worst enemies yea good place to work for a dispatcher but as far as being a truck driver you are the bottom of there shoe they forget that the truck driver makes the company without the trucker there is no celadon and i hope one day they regret running off their drivers and i belive they will

    Cons

    this company needs to be woken up by their drivers or be crushed by a bigger company dispatchers try to drive the truck they tell drivers when to wake up and start driving which is dangerious and the federal department of transportation needs to be alerted they hold loads too long and expect the drivers to be ontime when load is late because of them holding it night dispatchers need a brain or to all get fired except for debie shes cool

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews

Popular Careers with Celadon Trucking Services Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Celadon Trucking Services? Share Your Experiences

Celadon Trucking Services logo
or