KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Celadon Trucking Services

Is this your company?

Celadon Trucking Services

Add a Review

Celadon Trucking Services Employee Reviews about "home time"

Updated Jan 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 of over 317 reviews

2.9
30%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Celadon Trucking Services CEO and Director Paul Svindland (no image)
Paul Svindland
53 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Gain a ton of knowledge about the industry and you will work with great people that treat you like family.(in 17 reviews)
  • "The work environment is good.(in 8 reviews)
  • "Great coworkers on the floor.(in 5 reviews)
  • "Medical facility and cafeteria onsite.(in 4 reviews)
  • "Lots of good people who work there.(in 3 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "home time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Went bankrupt

    Jan 21, 2021 - Driver in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay and home time

    Cons

    Company went bankrupt our of nowhere

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Operations Analyst

    Jan 14, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great hours, decent pay. Lots of good people who work there.

    Cons

    Expect way too much out of employees, massive layoffs, Operations Managers are in a 'fraternity' if you aren't in it you have no chance to advance. Expected to work from home a great deal of time.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Decent

    Oct 1, 2020 - Truck Driver in Rainbow City, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great home time and good people

    Cons

    Management wasn’t ideal for growth

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Living tired, broke and hungry

    Jun 30, 2015 - OTR Truck Driver in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Only pros I have at this point are my DM's...nice guys...professional.....

    Cons

    NO MILES! I repeat NO MILES! You get punished for taking home time, sit for two or three days at a time, before and after your home time. If you go through the training, in any aspect, then good luck finding a trainer to get your 10,000 miles! I sat for about a month WITHOUT pay after being hired waiting for my trainer. Few other guys waited longer. This apparently was a great company at one time. But in my opinion it's not now. Take my words how you want. If you choose this company you'll be sorry....today is the day I clean out my truck....I've been hired since March, only seen 3 paychecks ABOVE $500.00! A far cry from the 800-1200 they promise....they also pay zip code miles, so plan on getting ripped off about 10% of your miles EVERY trip!

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Ok

    May 12, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Money travel meet new people

    Cons

    Little home time low pay

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee

    It's a job ...

    Feb 12, 2015 - OTR Driver 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My experience wasn't too bad. My other previous trucking job was swift so anything after working for swift was heaven! I didn't make much per mile but they kept me rolling and I usually got home on time most of the time. My driver manager was a laid back dude that kept me with pre-plans for most weekends so that's always a plus. They had pretty good equipment when I worked there most of my orientation class got new trucks. Orientation was ok pretty standard trucking orientation. They flew me from Houston to Indy I stayed in the dorms and ate the free meals provided in the mini cafeteria. Food was ... well it was free I couldn't complain to much you can order food it's a few places that delivered or you can ask the van driver to give you a ride to a nearby store.

    Cons

    Low pay could offer more

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Indentured servant. New to industry 10,000 miles with trainer. 120,000 at 26 cpm.

    Feb 22, 2016 - Class A Truck Driver in Laredo, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you just got out of prison, have no bills, family, or a place to go home to this is a great place to start.

    Cons

    No home time. No pay for 5 day refresher course. Training pay with trainer 18 cpm. Driver advocate for trainees does nothing to solve problems. If you have a problem with a trainer they tell you 'we don't have another trainer' i guess they want you to choke them with a power cord while they are sleeping.

    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Bad

    Apr 8, 2016 - Truck Driver 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can drive a truck

    Cons

    Little pay Bad dispatcher No home time Fighting Bad training

    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Stop Complaining

    Sep 23, 2016 - OTR Truck Driver in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Celadon is a good starter company and even for experienced drivers. I drove for Celadon for 5 months; first trucking company in my driving career. I now have 1 year experience. If you have any experience in driving with other companies, then you should all know that they are all the same. Some worst then others. Everyone says to go with a smaller company, and you will make money. Yes you do make more money, but they expect you to do more, slave even more for them because they do not have the man power to keep up with the freight, so they ask you to do more and more. Not only expect you to do more, most run on paper logs, so they expect you to only get 3-5 hours sleep and then keep rolling. Smaller companies are struggling as well to keep ahead of the game and they are gonna work you even harder to keep ahead. From what I am seeing, Celadon buying out all these companies, it looks to me like that eventually all or a better part of drivers out there will be working for Celadon in one form or another. I drove for them in the beginning of my driving career and I do not and did not have anything bad to say about them. I ventured out on my own away from Celadon to see what else was out there, and frankly, there's nothing better. They all have there pros and cons. The grass is not greener on the other side. So for those that complain alot about the pay, the home time, the sometimes disrespect from DM's, etc. etc., then do yourself a favor and get out of the trucking industry because it is not for the weak minded or kids at that. The pay is based upon the freight that is running for that day or week. They can't control that. If the DM's are disrespectful, well think about all the drivers they have to deal with on a daily bases that give them attitudes, drivers thinking they know more then the DM's. If you want full control, get a $100,000 loan, buy an old cheap truck, buy a dry van trailer, pay around $24,000 a year in insurance; Plates another $1600, IFTA, 2290, LLC or S Corp, DOT/MC # Registration fee and and any other fees and registrations, and let's not forget having some back up capital for break down costs, 'Which I Have Experienced recently'. So, if you cannot afford all of this, then STOP COMPLAINING. I currently am working on going back to Celadon. They are a good company to drive for. Sometimes I wish I never left them from the beginning.

    Cons

    I really do not have anything bad to say about them.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Started off as a good company

    Oct 11, 2016 - Dedicated Regional Driver in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent dedicated routes that could possibly get somebody home a reasonable amount of the time without going out of route.

    Cons

    Made me pay for my own pre pass/ez pass! Can't trust a word some of the dispatchers say, even when on a dedicated route, don't hold your breath because easy come, easy go.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews

Popular Careers with Celadon Trucking Services Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Celadon Trucking Services? Share Your Experiences

Celadon Trucking Services logo
or

Celadon Trucking Services Photos

+ Add Photo
Celadon Trucking Services photo of: Corporate Challenge participants
Celadon Trucking Services photo of: We are hiring drivers!
Celadon Trucking Services photo of: Employee Video Testimonials
Celadon Trucking Services photo of: Colt Game
Celadon Trucking Services photo of: Corporate Challenge
Celadon Trucking Services photo of: 2014 Interns
Celadon Trucking Services photo of: work hard
See All Photos