KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Celadon Trucking Services

Is this your company?

Celadon Trucking Services

Add a Review

Celadon Trucking Services Employee Reviews about "manager"

Updated Jun 17, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 of over 317 reviews

3.0
29%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Celadon Trucking Services CEO and Director Paul Svindland (no image)
Paul Svindland
50 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Gain a ton of knowledge about the industry and you will work with great people that treat you like family.(in 20 reviews)
  • "Good work environment.(in 7 reviews)
  • "Great coworkers on the floor.(in 5 reviews)
  • "Medical facility and cafeteria onsite.(in 4 reviews)
  • "Lots of good people who work there.(in 3 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "manager"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 1.0
    Former Contractor, more than 1 year

    Bad Company

    Mar 24, 2017 - Lease Purchase Operator in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I really cant think of any

    Cons

    I have been a Celadon lease purchase driver for about 10 months now; while there have been some decent times there have been some extremely bad ones as well, I will point out some of those in this post. Lately tings have been going continuously downhill with this company. The only reason I have been here this long is because of their mobile app Freightrover which allows a driver to have control over the lanes in which a driver wants to run without really having to deal with planners, who really don’t care about drivers at all. There are some good DMs who try to do what is best for the drivers assigned to them and some who are just as bad as the planners. To get to some of the bad stuff let’s start with management; if a driver has a problem with their DM or planners the driver has no access to upper management. Requests to speak to the operations Manager are ignored if ever relayed at all and any request to be transferred to the operations Manger are immediately denied. If you disagree with a decision one of the planners make you are just S.O.L. One very pressing problem is a lack of available road trailers. Many times a driver will deliver a load to be dropped at a customer and that customer does not have an empty to give you in return nor will they unload the one you brought in. Celadon’s solution to that is to do what they call an empty move meaning they will send you anywhere they feel like it to pick up an empty for which they were paying .94 cents a mile to do that; the pay for doing this may have been done away with in the new pay package being pushed, which if you really look at actually reduces your pay if you are on the 70% pay schedule. The planners do not care that as a lease purchase operator you have a truck payment to make all they care about is moving a load from one place to another even if the driver goes broke in the process. There are plenty drivers that have been forced into bankruptcy because of the way loads are planned, you will often go weeks without a paycheck unless you choose loads that meet your needs and not the needs of Celadon. Only you know what you need to make it as a lease driver. One other thing you should know, if you happen to disagree with a planner they will try to make you sit, sometimes for days if you happen to be caught without an empty trailer; their excuse being is “there are no empties in the area” know this is always a lie. Sometimes a load will be taken from you through no fault of your own, again the excuse is no empty available in the area (lie) another is the customer cancelled the load. Recently I was in California at a customer, unloading on one side of the building while picking up a load on the other side. I managed to get unloaded early and immediately went to the other side to be reloaded. I was on the dock, customer staging the very freight to put on my trailer when the qualcomm beeped informing me the load had been unassigned from my truck, no reason given, when I called the DM the excuse I was given was “the customer cancelled the load” this was another lie as I was standing on the dock with the customer when this lie was being told to me, I immediately checked with the shipping office, the load had not been cancelled. So you see, they have absolutely no problem lying to drivers. Another problem, if you are not preplanned on a load when you deliver one your fuel card is immediately turned off and will not be turned back on until you are dispatched on your next load. If you are trying to manage your fuel costs on a particular load this can make controlling your costs a bit unnerving; Their excuse, they are trying to control fuel costs, bogus excuse because as a lease operator your fuel is taken immediately out of what you have earned; you buy fuel, you reduce your profit. The real motivation behind this is to keep you in one spot should you disagree with a planner, without fuel you cant go anywhere until you get dispatched on another load which could be anywhere from hrs. to days away. There is much more you should know before signing on here but I think you get the bottom line. To put things in simpler terms know Celadon does not care about you as a driver, you are easily replaceable as they have their own driving school. They want drivers they can control not drivers who know what they are doing. One other thing, when the time comes for you to leave this company, and it will come. know where you are and have the money to get you and your stuff back to your home. Celadon has fired drivers unexpectedly hundreds of miles from their homes with only a bus ticket to get them and their stuff back which isn't always possible as most over the road drivers have a lot of stuff in their trucks. If I knew ten months ago what I know now, I would not have signed a lease here. I have been here long enough to move my lease truck to another company. I will be doing that immediately. This is not the place for good drivers. Don’t find out the hard way!!!!

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Job Satisfaction depends on Management

    Sep 28, 2021 - Truckload Planner in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The schedule was extremely flexible, if your manager allowed shift swaps. The on site cafe was a great option for food. Vendors would deliver free goods to be shared across the company.

    Cons

    You had to have the right manager. Too many of them micromanaged operations. It is trucking, and part of that means dealing with upset drivers and customers.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Billing

    May 21, 2017 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The hours are flexible and the manager is nice

    Cons

    The people you speak to on the phone sometimes are rude

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Only as a plan B

    Mar 27, 2015 - AR Specialist in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Business trips to Canada, coworkers are good people

    Cons

    My department's management was too 'old school.' They did not offer the three minority employees eligibility for the bonus program. Predjudice.... Manager and director didnt even know how to use Excel effectively and discouraged technology use as a whole. Difficult to work with on a day to day basis.Acquisitions are done backwards- makes receivables almost impossible. Bad decisions are not corrected, just bandaided.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    If they reach out, Don't respond

    Mar 23, 2017 - HRIS Specialist in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Medical facility and cafeteria onsite. Weekends off lol

    Cons

    First and foremost I'd like to say I was quite excited to start working at Celadon when I got the offer. I was looking forward to being out of a call center environment but I quickly regretted leaving my previous place of employment. There was absolutely no formal training over the system I am supposed to be learning whatsoever. For the first 12 weeks working there, I did not have my own cubicle/desk, I was sitting at a desk that belonged to someone on maternity leave. Anyone who wants to be a manager can be a manager.. The company is supposedly a billion dollar organization but from the looks of the technology hardware you would not be able to tell. The monitors, keyboards, laptops, and docking stations are antiquated, you're disqualified for a wireless headset if you're not walking around talking all day. I think its really unfair to tell employees they cannot get a wireless headset unless they are walking and talking due to the budget when CEOs are taking home biweekly paychecks over 8K and Directors and VPs make over 100K a year, but that's the 1% for ya! Maybe the salaries of these individuals need to read readjusted so the company can at least get some new tech hardware. Lastly, the lack of diversity is alarming, about 80% of this organization is white, Go figure.The benefits suck, you're better off applying for Obamacare.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee

    It's a job ...

    Feb 12, 2015 - OTR Driver 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My experience wasn't too bad. My other previous trucking job was swift so anything after working for swift was heaven! I didn't make much per mile but they kept me rolling and I usually got home on time most of the time. My driver manager was a laid back dude that kept me with pre-plans for most weekends so that's always a plus. They had pretty good equipment when I worked there most of my orientation class got new trucks. Orientation was ok pretty standard trucking orientation. They flew me from Houston to Indy I stayed in the dorms and ate the free meals provided in the mini cafeteria. Food was ... well it was free I couldn't complain to much you can order food it's a few places that delivered or you can ask the van driver to give you a ride to a nearby store.

    Cons

    Low pay could offer more

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Mediocraty

    Jan 30, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    On site gym. Management laid back.

    Cons

    The business model involves hiring college educated employees, giving them a job they are over qualified for, paying them what a the job is worth but compensating with a fancy job title. ie dispatch is referred to as driver manager. Non professional atmosphere where employees will invade your privacy by getting on your computer if you did not lock it and send emails out to the whole department. Software used is AS400 which is DOS based and extremely obsolete.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Horrible

    May 9, 2019 - Customer Service Representative in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pay and laid back atmosphere....cafe

    Cons

    Manager do not care about their co-workers.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Does not give a DAMN about their drivers

    Dec 13, 2016 - Company Driver OTR in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Miles, I was new to truck driving and always was able to drive my legal clock every day.

    Cons

    Pay, it would not be a surprise to find if they are actually were the lowest for company drivers in the entire industry. Overall for the hours I actually clocked for driving plus on duty I only made about $10 per hour. Specifically they started me out at .25cpm for my training month then never raised me much above that. To make that worse I clocked nearly 30K miles on their truck but was only paid for 20K of them, and I stuck to their planned fuel stops and never went home. Finally, company communication is very poor overall and not just between me and my driver manager. I often found myself lost in abbreviated Qualcomm messages and when I sent messages or made a phone call I did not get a reply, on hold too long, or even hung up on.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Independent contractor

    Aug 16, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Recruiting Manager Terri was great!!!!!

    Cons

    Sense Joe Stevens has left this company is longer what it was eight months ago. Not one person in management bows what it mean to be a truck driver! All they care about is the money in their pockets and going home at night and weekends. Absolutely, do not care about any lease purchase drivers. They would rather run company trucks, instead of both lease and company. Be careful, taking home time. You go into dept, when taking just two days!!!!! Worthless company!

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews

Popular Careers with Celadon Trucking Services Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Celadon Trucking Services? Share Your Experiences

Celadon Trucking Services logo
or

Celadon Trucking Services Photos

+ Add Photo
Celadon Trucking Services photo of: Corporate Challenge participants
Celadon Trucking Services photo of: We are hiring drivers!
Celadon Trucking Services photo of: Employee Video Testimonials
Celadon Trucking Services photo of: Colt Game
Celadon Trucking Services photo of: Corporate Challenge
Celadon Trucking Services photo of: 2014 Interns
Celadon Trucking Services photo of: work hard
See All Photos