KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Celadon Trucking Services

Is this your company?

Celadon Trucking Services

Add a Review

Celadon Trucking Services Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Nov 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 of over 317 reviews

3.0
30%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Celadon Trucking Services CEO and Director Paul Svindland (no image)
Paul Svindland
53 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Gain a ton of knowledge about the industry and you will work with great people that treat you like family.(in 20 reviews)
  • "Good work environment.(in 7 reviews)
  • "Great coworkers on the floor.(in 5 reviews)
  • "Medical facility and cafeteria onsite.(in 4 reviews)
  • "Lots of good people who work there.(in 3 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Resume Builder

    Sep 9, 2014 - Customer Service Representative in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great for entry level positions - Great Culture, Employees don't take themselves too seriously - High level of responsibility with little micro management - Advancement opportunities for those who qualify

    Cons

    Celadon is great for recent college graduates who want experience. New hires are given a workload that usually causes moderate work/life balance issues. Generally speaking, if you haven't advanced in your role at Celadon within in 2 years, it is time to look elsewhere. The experience you will have gained at Celadon from working those 2 years will look great on your resume and usually land you a salary that would take you 3 - 5 years at Celadon to acquire. Celadon does pride itself on internal advancement, however you will need to know the right people. If you are in good with upper management you will see advancement. I wouldn't say it is necessarily nepotism as this involves hiring family, they hire friends and pay them more (much more) than they would any other employee. I would prefer my work to speak for itself. The management team at Celadon generally has no management experience, they are usually given the position because a manager leaves the company, which creates many unintended consequences. Upper management provides all the ideas to the managers. If the managers don't blindfully follow Upper Management they are let go because, "They did not fit in with the company culture." Customer Service turns over employees at an astonishing rate. If a Customer Service employee submits their 2 weeks notice, they are instantly walked off the floor. Be careful who you share ideas with as that idea might be presented by a higher up at their next meeting.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Poorly Run

    Nov 23, 2020 - President in Akron, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great People and great drivers

    Cons

    Bad CEO and corrupt previous upper management

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Sad to see company go down

    Jan 2, 2020 - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    the schedule was a good fit for me

    Cons

    upper management was very a big micro-manager

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    I would not work there now

    Aug 3, 2019 - Customer Service Representative in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    nice people to work with decent salary

    Cons

    benefits are pricey but offered, upper management has no clue what happens on the floor

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Management is unaware

    Apr 16, 2019 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Mid level managers are great. Coworkers try to be friendly.

    Cons

    Upper management claims to be trying to “go back to basics” but they are forgetting rule 1: know your employees. Steve Russell recognized many people, even if he didn’t remember their name. Employees were not just a means to an ends for him.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Anonymous

    May 17, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Worked with some very good people.

    Cons

    It's about who you know and who you are related to. Some of the upper management are outright dishonest and force the department to adhere to their line of thinking or they are disposed of. They treat employees like they are easily replaceable and could lose their job at any given time.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Celadon Trucking Services Response

    Social Media Coordinator

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback. We regret you’ve had a negative experience, but we’ll take this feedback and use it to become a better company in the future. We’re working hard to put drivers first and to treat every driver with the respect they deserve.

  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Assistant Customer Service Manager

    Sep 12, 2017 - Assistant Branch Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I learned to not trust management.

    Cons

    Untrustworthy management. They are not honest with their drivers or with the people trying to support them. If there was a negative star I would give them I would. Pay is sub par and overall the upper management is as well.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Contractor, more than 1 year

    Bad Company

    Mar 24, 2017 - Lease Purchase Operator in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I really cant think of any

    Cons

    I have been a Celadon lease purchase driver for about 10 months now; while there have been some decent times there have been some extremely bad ones as well, I will point out some of those in this post. Lately tings have been going continuously downhill with this company. The only reason I have been here this long is because of their mobile app Freightrover which allows a driver to have control over the lanes in which a driver wants to run without really having to deal with planners, who really don’t care about drivers at all. There are some good DMs who try to do what is best for the drivers assigned to them and some who are just as bad as the planners. To get to some of the bad stuff let’s start with management; if a driver has a problem with their DM or planners the driver has no access to upper management. Requests to speak to the operations Manager are ignored if ever relayed at all and any request to be transferred to the operations Manger are immediately denied. If you disagree with a decision one of the planners make you are just S.O.L. One very pressing problem is a lack of available road trailers. Many times a driver will deliver a load to be dropped at a customer and that customer does not have an empty to give you in return nor will they unload the one you brought in. Celadon’s solution to that is to do what they call an empty move meaning they will send you anywhere they feel like it to pick up an empty for which they were paying .94 cents a mile to do that; the pay for doing this may have been done away with in the new pay package being pushed, which if you really look at actually reduces your pay if you are on the 70% pay schedule. The planners do not care that as a lease purchase operator you have a truck payment to make all they care about is moving a load from one place to another even if the driver goes broke in the process. There are plenty drivers that have been forced into bankruptcy because of the way loads are planned, you will often go weeks without a paycheck unless you choose loads that meet your needs and not the needs of Celadon. Only you know what you need to make it as a lease driver. One other thing you should know, if you happen to disagree with a planner they will try to make you sit, sometimes for days if you happen to be caught without an empty trailer; their excuse being is “there are no empties in the area” know this is always a lie. Sometimes a load will be taken from you through no fault of your own, again the excuse is no empty available in the area (lie) another is the customer cancelled the load. Recently I was in California at a customer, unloading on one side of the building while picking up a load on the other side. I managed to get unloaded early and immediately went to the other side to be reloaded. I was on the dock, customer staging the very freight to put on my trailer when the qualcomm beeped informing me the load had been unassigned from my truck, no reason given, when I called the DM the excuse I was given was “the customer cancelled the load” this was another lie as I was standing on the dock with the customer when this lie was being told to me, I immediately checked with the shipping office, the load had not been cancelled. So you see, they have absolutely no problem lying to drivers. Another problem, if you are not preplanned on a load when you deliver one your fuel card is immediately turned off and will not be turned back on until you are dispatched on your next load. If you are trying to manage your fuel costs on a particular load this can make controlling your costs a bit unnerving; Their excuse, they are trying to control fuel costs, bogus excuse because as a lease operator your fuel is taken immediately out of what you have earned; you buy fuel, you reduce your profit. The real motivation behind this is to keep you in one spot should you disagree with a planner, without fuel you cant go anywhere until you get dispatched on another load which could be anywhere from hrs. to days away. There is much more you should know before signing on here but I think you get the bottom line. To put things in simpler terms know Celadon does not care about you as a driver, you are easily replaceable as they have their own driving school. They want drivers they can control not drivers who know what they are doing. One other thing, when the time comes for you to leave this company, and it will come. know where you are and have the money to get you and your stuff back to your home. Celadon has fired drivers unexpectedly hundreds of miles from their homes with only a bus ticket to get them and their stuff back which isn't always possible as most over the road drivers have a lot of stuff in their trucks. If I knew ten months ago what I know now, I would not have signed a lease here. I have been here long enough to move my lease truck to another company. I will be doing that immediately. This is not the place for good drivers. Don’t find out the hard way!!!!

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    False Promises Made to Get You in the Door at Low Pay...

    Oct 23, 2015 - Marketing & Human Resources in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some of the people you work with are nice and fun to work with! I did learn a lot about the industry and about my position. There is a cafe and a gym. Employees are encouraged to walk around the building.

    Cons

    I had a recruiter tell me she was looking for mid level employees who will take entry level pay... ouch. They tried to lowball me but I negotiated and they came up a little bit. No vacation time for the first YEAR you work there... really? I have never heard of such a thing! They avoid telling you this at all cost. When given an offer I wanted to see the paper work/ benefits and HR thought that was weird... Very strict 8am - 5pm or else which is really annoying especially since I was salaried. I went to college so that I could be salaried with flexibility. Not being allowed to come in at 7am and leave at 4pm or come in at 9am and leave at 6pm or skip lunch to go to a 2pm doctors appointment... They mine as well give all of their salaried employees a time card to punch in and out. Not a great company culture in that respect. They claim to be one of the best places to work in Indianapolis... My question is in comparison to who? That status is just an award you can apply for with proper documentation. Celadon helped me discover that when I see that message on a company's website it doesn't really mean much. The CEO is against working from home... he doesn't seem to understand mothers with children at home might need to work from home here and there or even fathers for that matter. This is a VERY male dominated industry... so keep that in mind when you are considering working here. Turnover rate is very high a this company. All upper management is related to each other in some way shape or form, keep that in mind if you want to work your way up.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee

    All they care about is money & not people

    Sep 24, 2015 - Formal Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people were the best part of the company. Management, both upper and regular have not a care for employees or drivers. It was all about money.

    Cons

    Upper management, politics, benefits and pay were the deciding factors.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

Popular Careers with Celadon Trucking Services Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Celadon Trucking Services? Share Your Experiences

Celadon Trucking Services logo
or

Celadon Trucking Services Photos

+ Add Photo
Celadon Trucking Services photo of: Corporate Challenge participants
Celadon Trucking Services photo of: We are hiring drivers!
Celadon Trucking Services photo of: Employee Video Testimonials
Celadon Trucking Services photo of: Colt Game
Celadon Trucking Services photo of: Corporate Challenge
Celadon Trucking Services photo of: 2014 Interns
Celadon Trucking Services photo of: work hard
See All Photos