Cementos Argos Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Cementos Argos Reviews

Updated May 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Cementos Argos CEO Juan Esteban Calle
Juan Esteban Calle
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and pretty good pay if loads are distributed fairly(in 5 reviews)

  • "Great benefits including an annual allowance for safety boots and a cheap uniform program; Large company with a huge focus on safety and sustainability(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours and the pay by load system is a big joke if you are constantly getting crappy loads(in 4 reviews)

  • "Dispatch does nothing to even out loads or cares to do something(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cementos Argos full-time

    Pros

    Argos is a great company to work for! They offer a very fair, comprehensive benefits package and 401k plan. The company is very innovative and really focuses on sustainability, which is very important in the building materials industry. Argos management is innovative and is continuously working to keep positive working conditions and work/life balance for it's employees. In the regional office, management is open to... flexible work hours to alleviate driving time. Argos also does a lot of internal hiring, which speaks volumes about the culture.

    Show More

    Cons

    Communication from top management down was previously an issue but with the new US President, this has been addressed and communication is very open and transparent.

    Advice to Management

    Continue being open to options that allow employees work/life balance.

    Cementos Argos2019-02-19

    Cementos Argos Response

    July 31, 2019HR

    Thank you so much for your thoughtful review!

  2. "It's a simple job hauling concrete."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Delivery Driver in Frisco, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cementos Argos full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, benefits benefits benefits benefits

    Cons

    The administration is unorganized and selfish.

    Advice to Management

    see the world through the driver's eyes

    Cementos Argos2019-05-10

    Cementos Argos Response

    July 31, 2019HR

    Thank you for your review. We do agree Argos offers great benefits to our employees.

  3. "Open workspace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cementos Argos full-time

    Pros

    Open workspace, benefits, bonus incentives

    Cons

    Not much follow up on KPIs

    Cementos Argos2018-11-04

    Cementos Argos Response

    November 7, 2018HR Generalist

    Thank you very much for your comment! With our former Performance Management process, we realize KPI and goal followup throughout the year was not always a focus. We have recently implemented a new Performance Management process through SuccessFactors that will encourage followup throughout the year as opposed to just the beginning and end of the year.

    Show Less
  4. "Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Cementos Argos full-time

    Pros

    SAP, Manufacturing, People, Good benefits, long time employees

    Cons

    Office Layout, long drive, lack of conference rooms

    Cementos Argos2018-10-20

    Cementos Argos Response

    November 7, 2018HR

    We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for Argos! We do agree that the open office layout may not be ideal for every employee, but we hope that it does encourage communication in many instances. We agree it would great to have a few more meeting rooms than we currently have, but at the moment the best way to secure a room is in advance.

    Show Less
  5. "Good Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cementos Argos full-time

    Pros

    Good pay & benefits. People are friendly

    Cons

    No work/life balance. They pay good because they expect a lot in return.

    Advice to Management

    Understand not everyone has the same priorities as work over family.

    Cementos Argos2018-10-16

    Cementos Argos Response

    November 7, 2018HR

    Thank you so much for your review! Argos does pride itself on the Great People we have working as our colleagues, as well as offering competitive pay and benefits. We do understand that in some roles and departments more time in the office is required depending on different factors, but we do encourage open communication your manager and with HR to see if more of a balance can be achieved.

    Show Less
  6. "Plant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Plant Manager in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cementos Argos full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers, decent pay for drivers.

    Cons

    Drivers make more money than plant managers and have less responsibilities and work less hours since it went to pay by the load. They pile more work on you and don't compensate with more money.

    Advice to Management

    Follow through with promises you make by emails to your employees and other promise that you make. When you don't follow through you get very unhappy employees and then they don't believe in what you have to say. HR needs to do a better job on helping employees by returning phone calls and emails.

    Cementos Argos2018-10-29

    Cementos Argos Response

    November 9, 2018HR

    Thank you so much for your feedback! All feedback, both positive and negative, is an opportunity to help shape and develop Argos' growth.

  7. "Forgiving but not rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician in Dallas, TX
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cementos Argos full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not easily fired. Laid back at times balls to the wall at times. Guaranteed 40

    Cons

    Drivers earn more than anyone else here which leaves you feeling unappreciated. A lot of hurry up and wait. No room to grow. If you do grow the 1 dollar difference is not worth it.

    Advice to Management

    Be open to others opinions and thought. Don't just focus on production and bottom numbers

    Cementos Argos2018-10-05
  8. "Mixer Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mixer Driver in Katy, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cementos Argos full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay , benefits and vacation

    Cons

    short hours,started to early every day

    Cementos Argos2018-09-18
  9. "Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Cementos Argos full-time

    Pros

    Good to work for at times.

    Cons

    Slow means slow and busy means busy.

    Advice to Management

    Keep tying to make it better

    Cementos Argos2018-06-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cementos Argos full-time

    Pros

    Ok benefits and perks available to staff

    Cons

    Unclear and at same time ever changing job expectations.

    Advice to Management

    Establish clear expectations to staff.

    Cementos Argos2018-02-02
Found 54 reviews