Cover image for Cengage Group
Logo
See All Photos

Cengage Group

Engaged Employer

Cengage Group

Add a Review

Cengage Group Reviews

Updated Nov 26, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,977 of over 2K reviews
4.2
85% Recommend to a Friend
Cengage Group CEO Michael Hansen
91% Approve of CEO

Found 1,953 of over 2K reviews

4.2
85%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Cengage Group CEO Michael Hansen
Michael Hansen
1,091 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "There are some great people at Cengage and the open work environment is collaborative and fast paced.(in 229 reviews)
  • "Good benefits and culture.(in 148 reviews)
  • "The culture is great and they truly root for you to build a collaborative team(in 120 reviews)
  • "Work life balance is great(in 86 reviews)
  • "Immediate colleagues are great(in 60 reviews)
Cons
  • "Too much of middle management.(in 88 reviews)
  • "Increasingly low pay for sales..little chance for advancement unless you are part of the 'in crowd'(in 67 reviews)
  • "Upper management is arrogant, dismissive, and unprofessional.(in 62 reviews)
  • "low salaries compared to industry standard(in 57 reviews)
  • "Many of the managers have been here a long time so many of the people they manage are their friends.(in 57 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Cengage Group and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years
    Featured Review

    Working for Cengage Group is AMAZING!

    May 5, 2022 - Systems Analyst in Independence, KY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. Hard work is recognized - Those who put in the work to be the best in their roles are recognized and rewarded via promotions/raises. 2. Honest, open, and inclusive culture - I work with people from all walks of life frequently. On the honest & open front, Cengage leadership fields questions from employees every week and will give straight answers directly to you. No beating around the bush or providing some cop-out to avoid answering tough questions. 3. The pay is great - I started at an entry level technical support position and was offered way more than similar roles, and merit increases happen annually. Even those who don't receive a direct promotion in a given year will still see performance-based pay increases which help combat cost of living increases. 4. Opportunities everywhere - Particularly since many roles have gone remote/digital, you are less bound by the need to live close to an office or distribution center when being considered for promotions from within the company. Cengage seems to prefer promotions from within over bringing in outside talent when possible, which gives more opportunity to those who get the job done. Nothing is more rewarding than receiving recognition and promotions for a job well done. 5. Benefits packages - Cengage offers great benefits to their employees. Using myself for reference, when I came to Cengage, I was offered MUCH better medical/dental/vision insurance overall. I am 100% completely satisfied with the cost-to-benefit of their medical & other packages like 401k match, HSA contributions, etc. etc. 6. Last but not least, the culture - Cengage was the first employer I worked for where I didn't wake up on Monday morning like "Crap, I've gotta go to work." Part of this is certainly the regular promotions and recognition, but the rest is all about the people you work with. Cengage Group's management teams (high and low) do a phenomenal job of picking the right person for the right role, and seeing everyone smile in every meeting is just a further testament to the fact that those who work here are happy. I love working here so much that I've referred family and friends to work here (who still do to this day!). Monthly emails are sent to recognize employee tenure, and I regularly see employees celebrating 10, 15, or 20+ year anniversaries with the company.

    Cons

    I truly can't find one thing about Cengage Group to complain about.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    Cengage Group Response

    CEO

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review about your experience. I am happy to hear that you are satisfied with your pay and benefits as well as our professional development and flexible work opportunities. I appreciate the positive candor about our culture, we have a deep commitment to transparency, and we work hard to create a culture where employees feel valued and can achieve a work-life balance. I’m glad you are so passionate about working here, don’t hesitate to reach out to me directly with ways we can better support our employees in the future. Best, Michael Hansen, CEO

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Pretty Good

    Nov 23, 2022 - Account Executive in Independence, KY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cengage is family oriented, very flexible

    Cons

    Pay could better. Cengage pays less than competitors in publishing

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Cengage Group team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Healthy Work-Life Balance and Extraordinary Culture

    Sep 22, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I believe that time is one of our most valuable assets, so work-life balance is important to me. It is clear that Cengage respects and values employees’ time by providing ample PTO, extra days off to prioritize mental and physical wellness, and volunteer days that can be used to support your local community. The people who work at Cengage are mission driven, I feel fulfilled knowing that the work we do is making a real difference for learners. Managers and team members encourage professional development and provide many learning opportunities. I particularly enjoy the Talent Live webinars where colleagues share their career journeys and offer advice for those looking to follow a similar path of advancement. I also appreciate the culture here, it’s nothing like I have ever experienced before. Leadership is honest and transparent. In fact, the CEO hosts a company-wide webinar each week and invites individuals from across the company to join him in an open discussion, sharing company updates or new initiatives. I find them to be very informative, it’s a great way to keep everyone in the loop.

    Cons

    Compensation is low, this is something that I have experienced myself and heard from many other employees in various departments. I think it’s worth reevaluating salaries across the board as inflation continues to rise. Wages we were paid two years ago no longer cover basic living costs and necessities.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Cengage Group Response

    CEO

    I appreciate you taking the time to leave a review about your work experience. I agree that time is valuable; our employees are a top priority and we strive to create an environment where employees feel they can achieve work-life balance. Employee wellbeing is a priority and our annual wellness week is a great example of this; this year we will host a keynote speaker, post challenges in Slack, provide reflection exercises, and more. Regarding compensation, I recognize that more and more people are facing the impact of inflation. Our HR teams closely monitor the market to ensure we are staying competitive in our industry. If you have specific questions on your salary or salary range I encourage you to talk to your manager. Thank you for your feedback as we continue to improve. Best, Michael Hansen, CEO

  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Special Place

    Sep 29, 2022 - Operations 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cengage is truly a special place. I can't imagine being anywhere else. There's a commitment at all levels of the organization to impact learners with a focus on "education for employment". The culture values transparency and bringing your authentic self to work. Cengage is positioned to be a leader in their space, especially as we lead the way in terms of the digital learning experience. Lots of amazing people doing great work here. Benefits are top-notch.

    Cons

    The organization is extremely dynamic. In order to fluorish here, you really have to be someone who embraces change and can pivot easily. If you like more consistency and stability, this isn't the place for you. Some employees take the "bring your authentic self to work" a bit too far and use company tools (slack) and large forums to express their personal views on topics that have no direct relationship to our business (ie. political views). A very small population of employees have very loud voices and it can be pretty distracting at times. Management has recently set a new tone on what's acceptable and it has improved a little bit. Thank you, your "silent majority".

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Cengage Group Response

    CEO

    Thank you for reflecting on your experience at Cengage Group. I am pleased to hear that you enjoy working here and that you are passionate about our mission that puts learner’s needs first. As you are aware, the education industry is constantly changing, and I am proud that we have been at the forefront of that change by establishing ourselves as an education technology company. Embracing change can be challenging, but I appreciate your flexibility and willingness to adapt. Don’t hesitate to reach out to me directly with ways we can better support our employees in the future. Thank you for your more than 10 years of service. Best, Michael Hansen, CEO

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Rated BEST PLACE TO WORK for a Reason!!

    Oct 5, 2022 - Senior Talent Acquisition Partner 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cengage is such a positive place to work. Employees are driven by the mission and values of the company, so you really get to work with some great people. The company also actively shows its appreciation to employees, with Wellness weeks and days off, a lot of paid company holidays on top of generous PTO and many ways to make employees feel included through different ERGs and support Slack channels. The CEO and Csuite in general is very transparent, and interactive with employees so they don't come off untouchable. There's a lot of flexibility with working here to ensure work/life balance. Honestly, I have been here almost a year and the list goes on when it comes to positive things to say!

    Cons

    You better really like change if you want to work here! A lot changes on a dime, but that's to help create the best workplace/product possible.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Cengage Group Response

    CEO

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It is great to hear that you have had such a positive experience and I appreciate the remarks about our mission, transparent culture, and efforts to prioritize our employees and their wellbeing. I recognize that, over the years, Cengage Group has undergone a significant amount of change, but our mission has always remained that same: to provide quality, digital learning experiences that help students lead choice-filled lives. I am happy to hear that you understand our need to evolve to keep up with the needs of today’s learners and remain a market leader. Regarding opportunities for advancement, this is an area that we have dedicated a significant amount of time and resources to, including the launch of internal mobility and talent marketing programming to help foster opportunities for employees to connect, learn and gain general career insight. While I am proud of these strides, we recognize there is still work to be done and I encourage you to reach out to me directly with more ways that we can support our employees. Best, Michael Hansen, CEO

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company culture, strong leadership, great work-life balance

    Nov 15, 2022 - Regional Sales Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - positive company culture - great work-life balance -strong leadership - great to work in a company where you feel valued and make a difference

    Cons

    - uncertaintly looms in education sector in general - not the right industry for anyone that doesn't want change

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Cengage Group Response

    CEO

    Thank you for writing a review. I appreciate your positive remarks about our company culture, as I believe transparency, trust and inclusivity is what differentiates Cengage Group. I am also happy to hear that you have been able to achieve a healthy work-life balance, as employee wellbeing is a top priority. Regarding the education industry, it is ever changing. I recognize that it can be hard to embrace change and therefore this industry is not for everyone. Being flexible and adaptable is key and we will continue to provide opportunities for customer listening and reflection so that we can evolve with their needs. Best, Michael Hansen, CEO

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Really Great Company to Work For

    Nov 10, 2022 - Content Acquisition Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Value Mental Health 37.5 work week Training on the job 15 days Vacation time and 6 days sick time used as needed with 2 floating holidays and 13 federal paid holidays. Really great onboarding and people who treat their employees like people and passionate about education. The company values people and wellness and does not seek to micromanage which in turn eliminates burnout while encouraging employee motivation.

    Cons

    So far can’t think of any.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Cengage Group Response

    It is great to hear that you are so passionate about working here and that you appreciate many of the benefits that we offer including wellness days off, sick time, floating holidays, and on the job training. We truly value our employees and are continuing to make advancements to ensure people feel heard, seen, and valued. My team and I work diligently to devise and implement initiatives that not only help employees find balance and fulfillment but keep them engaged. I appreciate your feedback as we continue to improve. Best, Jeri Herman, SVP of HR

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Incredibly Transparent Company

    Sep 30, 2022 - Senior Talent Acquisition Partner in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - The company is very transparent on how things are going and current as well as future state of affairs - The people are amazing and you can reach out to anyone without judgement - It's a very employee-centric culture, with strong attention to work/life balance

    Cons

    - There are a lot of constant changes being made, so if you like learning new things and are adaptable it can be fun, if not it can be stressful

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Cengage Group Response

    CEO

    I am happy to hear that our transparent culture has resonated with you in the short time that you have been with the company. Working in an environment free of judgement and discrimination is key to success and I am pleased that you feel comfortable reaching out to your colleagues and managers. Regarding change, that is the nature of the education industry. We started as a traditional publishing company that is now over 70% digital. I encourage you to embrace change, as it is part of our strategic vision to lead transformation and evolve our strategy based on changing needs of learners. Thank you for your feedback as we continue to improve. Best, Michael Hansen, CEO

  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great People, poor work balance

    Aug 28, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Covington, KY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People culture is great. The company is attempting to take strides at approving.

    Cons

    While you have a lot of time off, and are even given extra days such as volunteer, floating holidays, and wellness days. Its extremely stressful to take time off. The work load is so overwhelming its too stressful to take time off, as it takes days to catchup. There is no good "backup" structure if someone has to take extended time off work or decides to leave the company, or even accepts a promotion. The workload often falls on other roles (on top of their own job responsibilities.). This creates a lot of stress on managers, and leaders. It also prevents them from being able to do their job. This overall hurts the company, as the job is to maintain and grow business. Also the pay is sickening. They do not offer fair pay for the job responsibilities expected of their employees. Also - politics were often brought up in a networking channel, which often caused animosity between employees, and no corrective action was taken on those who brought insults into the conversation, instead of accepting all sides of political views. They did create the "speak up line", but not much came of it when you did speak up.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Cengage Group Response

    CEO

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I appreciate the positive candor about your co-workers and our culture, as I believe trust and inclusivity is what differentiates Cengage Group. Work-life balance is a priority, and we work hard to support our employees in both their personal and professional lives. I am concerned that you feel like you can’t take time off and disconnect without feeling overwhelmed when you return. I suggest having a conversation with your manager or HR partner to discuss creating a backup structure that allows you to enjoy your time off. Regarding compensation, we strive to ensure our employees are compensated fairly for their role and contribution. In terms of politics, we are living in heightened, and often stressful times, and I think it is important to have an open dialogue, as long as we remain respectful and focused on our mission to serve millions of learners around the world. I believe in transparency and inclusivity of all ideas. I appreciate your feedback as we continue to evolve. Best, Michael Hansen, CEO

Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,953 Reviews
</>Embed

Cengage Group Reviews FAQs

Cengage Group has an overall rating of 4.2 out of 5, based on over 2,104 reviews left anonymously by employees. 85% of employees would recommend working at Cengage Group to a friend and 73% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Cengage Group employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.7 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Cengage Group. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

85% of Cengage Group employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Cengage Group 4.3 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.4 for culture and values and 3.9 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Cengage Group to be culture, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be senior leadership, career development, management.

Popular Careers with Cengage Group Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Cengage Group? Share Your Experiences

or

Cengage Group Careers

Cover image for Cengage Group

We are proud of our deep heritage, which dates back to the early 1900s. During the last one hundred years, Cengage Group has evolved into...More

  • Employee Experience
  • Cengage Group ERGs
  • What We Do
  • Benefits
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Cengage Group

2 days ago

Culture
We recently had the opportunity to have a photoshoot at our office in Boston, MA to showcase new employees and highlight even more stories of impact on our website. At Cengage Group, we believe our culture is truly one of our differentiators and our incredibly talented employees believe strongly in our mission and the power of education to impact the lives of learners. That is why our website doesn’t use stock imagery or models, it features real employees and their stories. We are excited to share more in the months to come.
Shared image
Logo

Cengage Group

2 days ago

Company News
We recently celebrated National Apprenticeship Week, a nationwide celebration to showcase the successes and value of Apprenticeship for re-building our economy, advancing racial and gender equity, and supporting underserved communities. At Cengage Group we are committed to advocating for more workforce training and alternative education models to help close critical skills gaps across technology, cybersecurity and other industries. We are proud to share that our efforts were recently recognized with the Apprenti Champion Award, for supporting technology apprenticeships both internally and externally. Click the link to learn more about the award and how Cengage Group is celebrating and recognizing National Apprenticeship Week, including a visit to the White House by our CTO Jim Chilton: bit.ly/3Ec6rsW
Shared image
See all

Cengage Group Photos

+ Add Photo
Cengage Group photo of: the Boston office lobby with a white and dark yellow marble wall
Cengage Group photo of: open air roof top deck at the Boston office with a view of the ocean
Cengage Group photo of: open air roof top deck at the Boston office
Cengage Group photo of: young woman at her desk smiling at her laptop
Cengage Group photo of: CEO, Michael Hansen standing in a bored room talking to a group of employees
Cengage Group photo of: two young women sitting at a table smiling and having a conversation
Cengage Group photo of: CEO, Michael Hansen in the Boston office kitchen talking to three employees
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Cengage Group Job Seekers Also Viewed

McGraw Hill Logo
McGraw Hill

3.6

1,410 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 2,104 Cengage Group reviews submitted anonymously by Cengage Group employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Cengage Group is right for you.