Cengage Learning Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

Cengage Learning Consultant Reviews

Updated Oct 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great First 3 Months"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning Consultant in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are genuinely happy working for Cengage. I feel trusted as a professional.

    Cons

    Uncertainty of how the merger will affect my day to day work.

    Cengage2019-10-02
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Rewarded for good work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Learning Consultant in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You are a part of a team whose success is tied to your success. This means that you have a built in support system of people working to make you better and working to help you find new customers. Even if you are not growing on your own, your team is there to help you build up your accounts. Our territory size is nice. I find myself home almost every night.

    Cons

    The work-life balance can tip the wrong way sometimes. Most days I spend working on campuses across the state and then have to work on my computer late into the night to keep up with emails and planning. I can say that this extra work has turned in to extra sales commissions for myself though.

    Cengage2019-09-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Learning Consultant in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, fun, and great people to work with

    Cons

    Need a lot of self motivation

    Cengage2019-09-24
  4. "No other culture and environment like it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning Consultant in Independence, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You won't find another company that makes you feel like family on your first day of work. The entire culture and environment is the number one pro about Cengage. The training and expectations are superb and the help that is all around is always willing to work together as a team to achieve goals. Cengage will motivate you to do your best for not only Cengage but yourself. They help you learn quick and you will never... be scared to ask questions.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are no cons working at Cengage in Independence!

    Cengage2019-09-11
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Soul sucking disguised as doing good in the world."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Learning Consultant in Providence, RI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free company car/gas for personal use. Independence of being a field sales rep. I liked the people I worked directly with.

    Cons

    Products were not dependable and overpriced. More students were harmed financially than helped educationally by the products. Little to no product training while getting started. Encouraged to learn on your own. Goalposts were constantly moved in regards to sales goals. Sales force seemed highly political.

    Advice to Management

    Invest less in sales force and more in product development. The future of educational materials is open source; free products are on par if not better than "premium" products.

    Cengage2019-08-02
  6. "Amazing people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the best people I’ve ever worked with and for.

    Cons

    Instability in this industry makes the job insecurity a real thing.

    Cengage2019-07-21
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great culture, increasing pay is an opportunity but they're working on that."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning Consultant in Independence, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture Atmosphere Ethos Great first step Benefits Work- life balance Family- like atmosphere Non- micro managing style If you buy- in and go to work with a passionate attitude you will succeed.

    Cons

    Salary Very senior individuals in higher positions

    Advice to Management

    Pay is increasing, that's all they need to focus on. They do a great job!

    Cengage2019-07-17

    Cengage Response

    July 30, 2019CEO

    Thanks for taking time to share your experience at Cengage. I'm particularly pleased to see you reference our culture and ethos, which you know is a priority for me. I also appreciate that, while you listed salary as a con, you noted in your advice to management that it is an area we "working on." It is indeed and with our pay for performance philosophy, we are making the right changes to recognize and reward our top performers. We will continue to make positive changes to our compensation philosophy, and in other areas of our employee experience, to ensure we're able to attract and retain great people. Thanks again for the feedback.

    Show Less
  8. "Love"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Support, people, and mission make this a great place to be.

    Cons

    None at this time.

    Cengage2019-07-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Such a good support system"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I feel seen, supported, and encouraged. When I got hired, Cengage provided me with a mentor right away who helped me navigate my first weeks. And now, even three months in, I've had a peer leader who is there to assist me with any questions I have. My direct manager, my team, and everyone in between are always around to provide support and encouragement. I am so happy to have found this company that provides a... culture that is in line with my values. I am full of gratitude and appreciation for the on-boarding process, but especially for my team and the strong connections I've already made.

    Show More

    Cons

    I don't have any just yet!

    Cengage2019-06-07
  10. Helpful (18)

    "RUN AWAY as fast as you can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Learning Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    casual work attire, the K-12 team is awesome

    Cons

    Too many to list but I'll try. For an ed-tech company their tech sucks. Nothing works right and none of the systems integrate. There are re-orgs every other minute. If you have a few years under your belt with them they'll find a way to manage you out because they don't want anyone around making a decent salary. By the way the purpose of Cengage Unlimited is to get market share and also get rid of their entire... sales force, it's just a matter of time.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Shame on you for treating your legacy employees the way that you do. Your young and fresh new talent are just shiny objects and they will assist you in running this company into the ground.

    Cengage2019-05-10
Found 68 reviews