Cengage Marketing Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Marketing

Cengage Marketing Reviews

Updated Sep 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (6)

    "Amazing Company Driving Positive Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Clifton Park, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - The culture is positive, motivating and very collaborative - Work brings great opportunities for professional development - The CEO and Executive Team are top leaders with great vision and corporate strategy - benefits are good - Everyone is so nice, it's very unusual to have such a large group of genuine, hard working individuals

    Cons

    The company is a leader in driving change in education, which is amazing and exciting to be a part of, but things move fast, so having an adaptable work style would be beneficial to employees.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the amazing job! I am super excited to be part of your team and under your direction. You've always made the right decisions and implemented strong strategies for business success. Lead and I will follow.

    Cengage2019-06-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "I enjoy every day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Specialist in Independence, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pros are pay, community, recognition, location.

    Cons

    Office space is the only con

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing.

    Cengage2019-05-02
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (3)

    "Student-Focused Company With a Strong Mission - Navigating Rapid Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    -Cengage culture is positive and strong. The mission to help students experience the joy of learning is something we can all get behind! -Upper-level management is very transparent about change and is developing a more flexible/agile workforce. -Company is trying to understand the learning preferences of the modern student to re-develop our content to meet their needs, while also empowering educators who have... increased demands. -Cengage has become more data-driven and sophisticated in its product development, marketing, technology implementation, and overall services provided to customers. This helping us experience revenue growth and digital growth (customers opting for online learning versus print textbooks).

    Show More

    Cons

    -Change is absolutely constant here, as it is everywhere. Recently the San Francisco office closed and some jobs were moved to other hubs. This decision made business sense but had many personnel implications. It was hard to say goodbye to some longtime employees. Yet other jobs were opened up and a number of new promotions/transfers occurred in the Higher Ed space. That was bittersweet. -In general, employees... are being asked to handle much more, often with less resources, so that we hit our bottom line. People are adjusting to new assignments and some will not be staying on their former pet projects in a predictable way. This causes some anxiety, but change is often good for the business long-term. Most people are trying to roll with it and be flexible.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Help us navigate change as people adjust to new roles and responsibilities. If roles and goals are not well defined, then people lack confidence.

    Cengage2019-04-17
  5. "Marketing Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cengage has great benefits for a recently graduated student such as a flexible schedule, travel, and benefits. I have been working at Cengage for 4 months and I am lucky to be working on an incredibly supportive team. I am lucky to call so many intelligent people my coworkers. I feel like I have learned so much about marketing and seen how passionate they are about the industry and the products we have. I also am... very appreciative of upper-level management always including me in different meetings for learning opportunities. It's great to be exposed to different departments to see if I want to explore different career paths. The office really tries to create a fun working environment for their employees. Since Cengage is such a big company with offices everywhere it's great to make connections from across the country.

    Show More

    Cons

    For a lower position, I feel like the workload often varies, slower days occur more than often. I think this is because upper-level positions are so buried in their own work they often don't have time to mentor. Sometimes the office can be really slow since people's work from home days vary.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the growth of employees within the department.

    Cengage2018-10-16
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Cengage Review from Marketing Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Mason, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cengage has a wonderful work environment. The people, culture, and benefits make the morning commute exciting. Though the role is challenging every single day, the pay-off is absolutely worth is as I've continued to grow as a professional and learn the ins and outs of the industry, marketing, and corporate structure.

    Cons

    This position and company in general hires people based on their drive, energy, and potential. Training is highly lacking at times but the expectation to succeed is a constant. If this is something that does not intimidate you and you have a problem-solving attitude then I have no doubt you will thrive here. Hand-holding is not a strong-suit at Cengage but for those looking to grow in their careers I see that as a... positive.

    Show More
    Cengage2018-08-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Nice Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Temecula, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cengage part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was a good experience.

    Cons

    I was only part time.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Cengage2018-08-20
  8. Helpful (14)

    "Fun place to work with very low job security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good management, great work life balance, flexible hours. Market disruptor

    Cons

    Bad communication from management, low job security. Most employees are worried about losing their jobs. Silo work place with no intermingling between departments. Very bad performance review system

    Advice to Management

    Create more job security and inter department communication. Create quarterly reviews and provide enough time for employee to learn before evaluating them

    Cengage2018-03-13
  9. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Market Research Analyst in Boston, MA

    I worked at Cengage part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and a really friendly environment

    Cons

    Work can get a little boring

    Cengage2018-03-12
  10. "Marketing Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Clifton Park, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It has been awesome working for Cengage. There are so many events that Cengage does for the employee to keep us engaged, especially during long stretches. I have enjoyed the people that I work with, everybody works together in a real group environment. Growth opportunities are endless, there are tons of jobs you can do within Cengage and you can move to many different offices across the world!

    Cons

    I cannot think of anything

    Cengage2017-12-15
  11. Helpful (17)

    "I didn't know what "corporate culture" meant until I worked at Cengage."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Director in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    *Truly a transparent work environment. From the CEO to the sales team, everyone has access to each other, is encouraged to provide honest feedback at all times, and is rewarded for having new ideas (even if... or especially if they are audacious and radical ones). *The mission is clear and is felt throughout the organization. We work to promote student success. Period. The products we make are the WHAT,... but our mission focuses on the WHY. We believe in education. *Although Cengage has been through some difficult times in the past 5 or so years (as has the entire publishing industry), our focus and strategy are solid. We have a plan, execute it daily, and adjust quickly and as necessary to ensure success. We are not stuck in the past, but are moving forward with strategic vision and bold ideas. We are not afraid of, but rather empowered by the changes in this market. *Employees are valued, supported, and rewarded for their hard work. I've never encountered a corporate "family" before Cengage... but this is just that. *Parental leave policy is industry-leading for both mothers & fathers. Stellar.

    Show More

    Cons

    The industry and the face of higher education are changing and with that comes a certain amount of uncertainty. Cengage has created a strong strategy for not only weathering the storm, but actually becoming stronger because of it. That said, there have been several re-orgs in the past 3-5 years in order to get the "right people in the right seats on the bus." But if you believe in the mission and work hard to be... a valuable member on your team, you can feel very secure that you will have a place at Cengage.

    Show More
    Cengage2017-09-06
Found 52 reviews