Cengage Project Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Cengage Project Manager Reviews

Updated Sep 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Great culture and Credo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the team and culture are engaging

    Cons

    The new hire orientation benefit slides are shown twice during the new hire path

    Cengage2018-02-01
  2. Helpful (7)

    "I work for Gale, a part of Cengage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Farmington Hills, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work at home one day a week.

    Cons

    I have never been at a company with such low morale. We have been so leaned out that it's impossible to keep up. Reoccurring layoffs, lack of transparency, and overall lack of support from management. There are way too many layers of middle management, and some egos are out of control. Pay is VERY low in comparison to the same jobs in other companies. Job titles do not correlate to workloads.

    Advice to Management

    Lean out middle management. We can't make money if we don't invest in our products.

    Cengage2019-09-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good work/life balance, not competitive in wages"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Offer reasonable work/life balance; nicest colleagues who really care; good benefits

    Cons

    Didn’t offer competitive wages for the Bay Area. Not much guidance for career growth.

    Cengage2019-04-05
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Project Manager in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible, nice workplace, good advancement opportunities

    Cons

    Through purchase re-orgs made job security always on the mind.

    Cengage2018-08-31
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Solid Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Allowed remote work, decent compensation & benefits, good atmosphere to work in.

    Cons

    Too many reorganizations while I worked there created an unstable culture that ultimately hurt employee morale.

    Cengage2017-09-14
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Great place to work, but...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    flexible schedule, competitive pay, culture is improving,

    Cons

    constant fear of layoffs, limited opportunity for growth, haven't seen a bonus in years due to poor company performance, off-site management doesn't care about morale

    Advice to Management

    Cut once, and cut deep. People are abandoning ship due to all of the layoffs. Stop dangling bonuses over us when you know we won't be getting them. Merit raises don't exist - the only raise anyone ever gets is a meager 1-2% cost of living.

    Cengage2017-07-06
  7. "WOW, what a difference"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cengage is the difference between night and day from the company that I left. The culture is amazing and the benefits are very nice as well. My team is remote so that helps as well. I truly enjoy my team and coworkers. A lot is expected but totally worth it.

    Cons

    None really, being a remote employee I tend to work more than 8 hours a day as I have a goal and purpose, but definitely not required.

    Advice to Management

    Keep making Cengage an amazing place to work!

    Cengage2017-06-26
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Good job but not very fulfilling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are great, workplace environment is friendly and fun. I'm able to keep a reasonable work-life balance. Atmosphere is supportive.

    Cons

    Not very fulfilling work. Textbooks are kind of a racket and everyone just ignores that fact. Doesn't feel like we're working to make the world a better place.

    Cengage2017-05-24
  9. Helpful (20)

    "Quantity over quality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Many years ago Cengage was thriving and the products were of great quality. The teams were dedicated, experienced and a pleasure to work with.

    Cons

    About two years ago, they started cutting corners and replacing experienced employees with young inexperienced help, as well as outsourced low end vendors. The message from above was, "Quantity over quality". After so many years of shipping high quality products, it was extremely disappointing to hear this from management.

    Advice to Management

    Shipping low quality product will catch up to you. You have lost many very good employees, contractors and freelancers.

    Cengage2016-12-06
  10. Helpful (26)

    "Manager, Digital Production"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good work from home opportunities

    Cons

    Deluded, penny-pinching management at a corporate level and mercenary, unsupportive management at a lower level. Anyone with half a brain is being laid off and reorgs are almost once a quarter. No institutional knowledge is retained and no one cares for doing anything but shifting blame, covering their posteriors and tending the bottom line. My direct manager would gaslight me when I brought them concerns, and... corporate management has its head so far up its buzzword they wouldn't know good business if it bit them on the bottom.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My thoughts have been said in other reviews here so often that I can only now assume that they are deliberately steering for the iceberg because they want ice for their drinks.

    Cengage2016-07-15
Found 28 reviews