Cengage Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Cengage Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Demasiados cambios."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Empresa en expansión con presencia internacional. Enfoque en la transición hacia lo digital.

    Cons

    Sucesivos cambios de estrategia y estructuras internas. Poco acompañamiento en planes de carrera en Latinoamérica.

    Cengage2019-09-24
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Learning Consultant in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, fun, and great people to work with

    Cons

    Need a lot of self motivation

    Cengage2019-09-24
  3. Helpful (7)

    "I work for Gale, a part of Cengage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Farmington Hills, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work at home one day a week.

    Cons

    I have never been at a company with such low morale. We have been so leaned out that it's impossible to keep up. Reoccurring layoffs, lack of transparency, and overall lack of support from management. There are way too many layers of middle management, and some egos are out of control. Pay is VERY low in comparison to the same jobs in other companies. Job titles do not correlate to workloads.

    Advice to Management

    Lean out middle management. We can't make money if we don't invest in our products.

    Cengage2019-09-22
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Rewarded for good work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Learning Consultant in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You are a part of a team whose success is tied to your success. This means that you have a built in support system of people working to make you better and working to help you find new customers. Even if you are not growing on your own, your team is there to help you build up your accounts. Our territory size is nice. I find myself home almost every night.

    Cons

    The work-life balance can tip the wrong way sometimes. Most days I spend working on campuses across the state and then have to work on my computer late into the night to keep up with emails and planning. I can say that this extra work has turned in to extra sales commissions for myself though.

    Cengage2019-09-19
  5. "Cengage review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer-II 

    I have been working at Cengage full-time

    Pros

    Wednesday Company sponsored lunches are great

    Cons

    Education sector, so salaries are not that high

    Cengage2019-09-16
  6. "Working At Cengage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software QA Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly work environment Varied and interesting projects

    Cons

    Lots of changes in the industry

    Cengage2019-09-13
  7. "No other culture and environment like it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning Consultant in Independence, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You won't find another company that makes you feel like family on your first day of work. The entire culture and environment is the number one pro about Cengage. The training and expectations are superb and the help that is all around is always willing to work together as a team to achieve goals. Cengage will motivate you to do your best for not only Cengage but yourself. They help you learn quick and you will never... be scared to ask questions.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are no cons working at Cengage in Independence!

    Cengage2019-09-11
  8. "Great working environment and even better work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Platform Engineer in Clifton Park, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management is transparent, encourages professional growth and will assist however they can. I have never worked at a company with a better work culture. Everyone is extremely helpful! Extremely positive team environment!

    Cons

    Feel as though there could be more training class

    Cengage2019-09-11
  9. "Great Company, Better People."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cengage is consistently rated one of the best places to work and it's clear to see why... Good benefits, a focus in employee well-being, and people who are invested in your professional and personal success.

    Cons

    None to report so far.

    Cengage2019-09-11
  10. Helpful (3)

    "It was an ok company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Cengage full-time

    Pros

    Schedule and free time that you have

    Cons

    Leadership and a lot of things

    Cengage2019-09-03
Found 1287 reviews